We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply unique,welcoming ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hogs Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ab Fab,right from the welcoming arrival everything thing exceeded our expectations,room 12 was very modern and very comfortable and more,breakfast included in price and you can have whatever you want,if it's not on the menu then just ask and they will try to accommodate .Andy,Annette and the team have got it just right,hence why they so successful and the roast dinners are to die for....resident or not you can feel the atmosphere of dedication to service and quality,by all staff.would defiantly stay here again....simply the best in good food and accommodation... ...

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank baronessbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for The Hogs Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I came up here with my best friend at the end of February as I have friends who live up here so we went out over the weekend! Although this is based about a 20 minute drive from the city centre we didn't mind! The people at this hotel and pub are so lovely! They made us feel at home constantly and were always checking up on us. It had such a wonderful family feel to it which is just what we needed! It took us 4 hours to drive up here and was worth it for the weekend we had and the wonderful service we got from this hotel. When we next come here, we will booking this hotel without hesitation! We already cant wait :) x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Well located for motorway, Nottingham, Ilkeston and Derby, just down the road to Matlock. Good atmosphere in the reception and bar areas, great beer in comfortable surroundings
Great facilities and very friendly staff,comforatble room, I will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed a few times and will be back there again. I like the dated bar gives it character. The menu has good selection of reasonably priced tasty food. My room was comfortably and with good furnishings. It's in a nice quiet area with easy access to the motorway.

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs rooms as the ground floor rooms there is no space between the building and cars pa...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeb7671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at the Hogs Head prior to a meeting in Heanor so very handy location. The hotel is in a quiet location close to the motorway so handy for travellers. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and big enough. It was a little chilly to start with but warmed up by bed time. The bar area is somewhat dated unlike the modern rooms. dinner was average pub food but acceptable, breakfast being better and freshly cooked. The best part was the young lady who served me with drinks, dinner and breakfast again the next morning, very cheerful and efficient at all times. Worst thing...the wifi keeps dropping out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My boyfriend and I were recommended this lovely place by a friend and were certainly not disappointed. It is located down a country road and looks really cosy and warm from the outside. The food is fresh and home cooked and a very reasonable price. We were surprised by the huge portions you receive. It does get pretty busy, with good reason. I have visited a couple of times and took various people with me who have all been very impressed. The only downside, is that that on one occasion they had ran out of chicken and on another occasion they'd ran out of garlic bread (which just happens to be absolutely amazing!). Aside from that the food is delicious and i definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times..so I thought time for a few chosen words. This place is a gem. I have never met such wonderful staff whom absolutely nothing is a problem..bending over backwards is an understatement. The hotel itself is simply charming..the rooms are excellent and the food is just..awesome. i would whole heartedly recommend The Hogs...you will never be dissapointed. Thanks to Andy, Annette, John and Christine for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marktimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,273 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
2,370 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Address: Main Street, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hogs Head Hotel Awsworth, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing