We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taiana's Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uoleva Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taiana's Resort
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Wow, what a beach. I’d read reviews and they were not wrong. As I approached by boat, I was already won over. I stayed in a fale right on the beach. It was comfortable enough, with a mattress with mosquito net, a little table and a light inside (an unexpected bonus!). There was a shared shower and toilet facilities. The shower is cold and uses rainwater but is perfectly fine for when you’re on an island. There is a hammock outside your fale under the awning, and there are also hammocks in front along the beach. You can cook yourself, or they can provide breakfast and dinner for you, at very reasonable rates and is authentic Tongan cuisine. No wifi here though so if you’re looking to go “off the grid”, I would definitely recommend it! Loved my stay there and would definitely return. Thank you Finau!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our best stay in Tonga (spent 4 weeks here) it is a Hide away from the rest of the world. We spent 11 Nights with Taiana, Finau, Anna and Noa. This place is just awesome. The beach is the best we have ever been to. The fales are right at the beach, you live at the beach, there is always a cool breeze and the fales are big, clean and comfortable. There is electricity at each fale but no plug. We did See breeching wales just sitting in Front of our fale.
The family prepares breakfast and dinner for you, you should take some snacks for lunch from Pangai. Anna is a very good chef and you can even have a Vegetarian Option or other Special diet food. Rainwater is provided for drinking, we did that over the 11 days without any harm. The cold shower and toilets are basic but sufficient.
The hosts are the most wonderful people of tonga and always there for assistance and advice.
Just down the beach you can have an ice cold beer at the happy beaver bar, at the time we were there Finau organized a chill box and to cool beer in it.
We absolutely recommend to go whale swim with Selesi (just go down the beach to Serenity beach resort and ask the owner Patty, she will help to arrange it). He is a local and he knows all about them. We wenn out with him 3 Times. It was only him and the 2 of us, much better than the crowded boats on the main island. Sometimes Noa Takes out people too. Check with them.
Taianas place is right for you if you are looking for Peace and quiet and a real beach life experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Tiana's Resort is located on the most beautiful beach in the world. That is not an exaggeration. There is nothing that any beach could possess that could make it any more beautiful than the beach at Tiana's. The water is crystal clear. The sand slopes gently to the water. Palm trees sway gently, providing some shade should you desire. The sand is clean and doesn't even stick to your feet! During August and September you can see humpback whales beyond the reef. There are hammocks for lounging, should you just want to relax.

The family who own and operate Tiana's make you feel welcome and at home. I asked them to provide breakfast and dinner during my 4 night stay, and I had authentic Tongan cuisine.

The accommodations called fales are very comfortable. The inside has nice mat floors, and hand painted cloth interior walls. They have even upgraded to provide an overhead light inside. No, these are not five-star accommodations, but I was very comfortable. As one who often pitches a tent in a campground or on a trail, the fales were a definite step up from from tent camping. I remained completely dry in an evening downpour. .

The shower is cold, but not THAT cold. The water flows from a large tank that gets warmed by the sun. The toilet and shower facilities could stand to be improved, but again, they appeared to be clean and maintained. Again, thinking of camping and campground facilities is the more appropriate comparison for the facilities.

It can be a challenge to get in touch through traditional means to make a reservation. I had good luck sending text messages which usually received a quick reply when sent during daytime hours in Tonga.

Getting back to that beach . . . That is enough of a reason to stay at Tiana's. It is magnificent. Stay at Tiana's and experience the world's most beautiful beach.

Room Tip: All the fales face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phonebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

When we first arrived in Pangai we were overwhelmed with how little facilities there were. There is no fruit and veg market like in Vava'u which made shopping for our trip to Uoleva Island challenging. Mariners Cafe was super helpful with good food.
From the moment we set eyes on Taiana's Beach we knew we wouldn't want to leave. This is one of the most beautiful spots the entire island is surrounded by white sand and crystal clear water. The tapa lined fales are big and comfortable with a shady deck equipped with our very own hammock. We cooked our meals in the communal kitchen except for sunday when Kalafe and his wife made a traditional Tongan feast in a umu. There is nothing to do but read, swim and wander the beach. Serenity Beach Resort is a 10 min stroll down the beach and has a stocked bar. My husband and I spent the last week of our vacation here are it was the prefect way to end our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KandA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Budget accommodation but not budget situation! The most delightful couple, they feel like family! Perfectly adequate accommodation with satisfactory beds, bedding, pillows and mosquito nets (a coil was useful for the evenings unless you want to go to bed early!) Electric lights were an unexpected bonus but no sockets so you need battery driven accessories. Kitchen is reasonably equipped with crockery and gas stove, or opt for Taiana's generous Tongan cooking very reasonably priced (bear in mind there is limited foodstuffs in Pangai to bring with you). A generous sized awning to the fales with outside table, chairs and hammock make them a great place to relax from the sun or odd tropical downpour - as your right on the beach anyway its only a hop, skip and jump to the sea. The shallow water snorkelling 100 yards down the beach was a perfect place to start with a huge variety of fish and corals right on the doorstep. Thank you Taiana and Kalafi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

If your idea of luxury is a livery-clad waiter, stay clear of Uoleva, but if you think that a tiny wild island in the pacific with enormous amount of time for walking, snorkelling, and timewasting sound like a great idea, you can't miss this place.
My wife and I were in this little place made of palm hutts for a few days, but days i will never forget.

Oh, and the owners are absolutely lovely people. Very helpful, if you're the kind of person who can organise himself

Room Tip: Bring your own groceries and whatever you may need, the island is barren!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quisazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

You haven't been to Tonga if you haven't visited Uoleva. The Tiana's hosts are absolutely great. You forget how nice and genuine people could be. I recommend you take some fruits and vegetables with you and think of some snak for lunch. Let the hosts to cook breakfast and dinner, you won't regret as Finau is a great cook. Ask to show you how to husk/crack the coconut (as there are plenty around) if you don't know already. I absolutely insist you book the swimming with whales tour with these guys until you want to feel yourself on a tourist meat conveyor (other providers we've tried). I would take my mask, snorkel and fins to the island as you swim a lot. Ask to show you the walkways through the island and see big spiders and wild pigs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uoleva Island
0.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Beaches Resort
Serenity Beaches Resort
#1 of 1 in Uoleva Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Foa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taiana's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taiana's Resort

Property: Taiana's Resort
Address: | Uoleva Island, Uoleva Island, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands > Uoleva Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Uoleva Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Taiana's Resort Tonga/Uoleva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing