We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Beaches Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uoleva Island
Kona, Hawaii
1 review
“Beautiful Serenity”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Patti and her crew provided us with excellent service and food along with the Friendly Tongan hospitality of the people. Be prepared to be picked up by an island taxi where you will be taken to the little yet main town of Pangai where you can get any last supplies (liquor, snacks, etc.). You will then get on an island boat and shuttled to the island of Uoleva a 50 minute boat ride with wonderful views. My only suggestion would be that they have their own boat for shuttle and activities.
Malo Patti, Semi, Mote and Noa for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lee side have more of a breeze but are larger. The food is excellent. Fish and fresh ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPulotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What really stands out at Serenity is the staff. They are truly amazing - everyone who helped us during our stay was friendly, polite and genuine. We chose a fale (Dolofini) with an 'en-suite'. This was situated on the other side of the island from the main fale, and was secluded and peaceful, with great sea views. The fale itself is a beautiful building as the other reviews have said. In terms of comfort, it was convenient having the toilet and shower attached to the bedroom. It's worth reiterating what has been said by other guests: the water supply comes from a well, is slightly salty, and is cold. There is a bag of solar-heated water delivered to your room each afternoon for a warm(ish) shower - it depends how sunny it was during the day - but once it's gone, you are only left with cold water again! We knew this but it was still a bit difficult to live with for 5 nights. The bed was pretty hard and we both had backaches each morning. We were also quite shocked by how dark it got at night. The solar lights they deliver are good but they don't provide oodles of light. Don't expect to be able to choose from your suitcases what clothes to wear for dinner after the sun has set! A final note on the fales: take care in the shower as we had a hefty tree branch fall on it while we were staying. Luckily none of us were in the shower at the time!

Our stay was marred by one of us falling sick on the first night. We attributed this to the rainwater which is used for drinking. While nobody else fell ill when we were there, we did ask to switch to drinking boiled water. Having now been to another resort nearby where boiled water is always served, this would be our strongest recommendation to Serenity and its future guests: please boil the water before you drink it! The illness was quite bad and lasted for 3 days. We even took a trip to the local hospital on Ha-apai to get some antibiotics for a related infection! However, through all this, Semi, Moti, Noa and Aki really deserve our thanks for their amazing kindness and attention, making sure our food and drinks afterwards were what we needed to recover.

For whale watching, Shelly and Selessi (the boat pilot who will most likely transfer you to Serenity) are our recommendation. They have a great passion for the whales and approach them very sensitively. We recommend taking tours with them if you have the opportunity.

The food was good while we were there. A little heavy on the garlic and fried bread but generally tasty.

Overall we enjoyed our experience at Serenity. The island is truly amazing and we did the full 10km round trip of the coast. It's stunning! Patti has created a good resort and has employed some outstanding Tongan people who really lift the whole experience to a new level. It is tough place to be sick though, especially as it feels so remote, so please take precautions. Otherwise, don't go there with too many expectations and enjoy whatever experience you end up having - that's what we did, and we have some fond memories that will stay with us for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoniSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the moment we stepped off the boat onto Uoleva Island, we felt the serenity and warmth of Serenity Beaches resort. Patti and Semi welcomed us with open arms to the haven that they have created. The beautiful fales assembled from Balinese timber create the perfect setting for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. The pristine waters and beautiful beaches of Uoleva Island provided the perfect place to swim, snorkel and stroll. Patti and Semi were extremely hospitable and their meals were always amazingly delicious and fresh. I still dream about Semi's lobster and Patti - I hope one day we can experiment together again! Our daily yoga and meditation sessions in such a peaceful setting will remain fond memories until we next return to paradise.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lpicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just returned from Tonga, having stayed in 5 different locations/resorts over 9 nights. Serenity Beaches stands out as a very, very special place!! - not just for this trip but from our past travels. The hospitality and welcome from Patti, Semi, Moti and Noa were the warmest we have ever received - from the moment we stepped ashore at Uoleva Island until our departure we were cared for as family in the most sincerest way. Patti's energy is incredible, and the story of how she created the resort at Serenity Beach is 'spine tingling' inspiring! Semi worried that they might not feed us enough, so he kept cooking delicious fresh food - and we kept eating!!

The location is stunning - with amazing water clairty, snorkelling from right off the beach on either side of the resort at low or high tides, and white sand beaches all the way around the island. Moti took us to see the archaelogical site, and showed us some of the traditional foods and medicines in the bush. We enjoyed moon-lit (and sun-lit) swims, dozed away the entire afternoon on our first day, walked and talked, and had the most relaxing time. Despite being the only guests we were treated to traditional dance, and fire dancing on our last night.

The rooms, dining and recreation areas are perfect for the location - attractive, inviting, authetic and eco friendly, but without sacrificing comfort (in many ways the paring back of some of the usual home comforts enhanced the experience - eg, natural airflow through the fales rather than aircon or ceiling fans, and candles and solar lanterns lighted the dining area, paths to the fales, and the fales themselves).

We were genuinley very sad to leave Serenity Beaches, but hope to return with our children in the not too distant future.

Thank you all so much!!! xx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived by a small boat after a 15 hour night ferry trip (which is as close to hell you can get) . I'm tired and grumpy, then get greeted on the beach by Patti & Semi, they were great from the moment we arrived, it took about 20 minutes for me to snap out of my grumpy state!

The place is just fantastic! The room while no power, was lit up with candles, very authentic decor, cold showers (no problem when its that hot) and the best beach you can imagine, same on both sides of the island and swimable at high and low tide (low tides a problem for swimming close to Tongataupu). The main building is very cool, overlooking the pacific ocean and another white as beach! The food, including the lobster was outstanding, Semi likes to keep feeding you and doesn't hold back, desert every night (they even made me a birthday cake and put up some birthday signs!) The cost is about $50 NZ for cooked breakfast and dinner. Out of all the resorts we stayed at in Tonga, this is simply the best, and I think what makes it the best is the hosts, they are welcoming and sincere, its not about the money (but their prices are spot on). We will be back with the family next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were only able to stay 3 nights in one of the most beautiful places in the South Pacific. If you want to get away from it all without roughing it for a reasonable price, Serenity is the spot. Uoleva had a population of 9 when we were there, and yet Patti and Semmi made sure that we did not want for anything.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have spent 2 weeks of February 2013 and it was our best holiday ever. Considering, we are in our mid sixties and love to travel it is pretty important statement. It was exactly we have been looking for, for many years. We always want to be as close to the nature as possible with minimum other people, have a nice accommodation and something to eat. Accommodation was very good and clean, food - fresh fish and lobsters from the ocean and magnificent sandy beaches with no footprints. Air temperature 27 - 29C, water 29 - 31C (always 2C higher than air). We had thermometer with us, so I can write that accurately. Despite cyclone (or hurricane) season, we travel to South Pacific mostly in February, because water is warm and there are not many people. So far so good. We never had cyclone and beaches are empty. So we will highly recommend this place in so called "low season". In our opinion it is the best time.The island in this location is about 200m wide, so if your accommodation is on one side and you want to go to the other side, that's how far you have to walk.
We admired Patti for her enormous energy and Sami for his great talent to prepare fish and lobsters. We will be back again as soon as we can, to recharge our batteries.
thank you Patti and Sami
Barbara and Jerzy

Room Tip: 3 Bigger huts on Southern side of the Island are with private toilets and showers. 2 small huts on N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerzy3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uoleva Island
13.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
46 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Foa Island
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Keleti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Beaches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Beaches Resort

Property: Serenity Beaches Resort
Address: Ha'apai Island Group | Kingdom of Tonga, Uoleva Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Region: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands > Uoleva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uoleva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a deserted Island in the South Pacific Kingdom of Tonga, this resort is totally surrounded by beautiful sandy beaches and many exquisite coral reefs. Rooms are all beachfront and far from each other so they offer ultimate privacy. Use of kayaks and snorkel equipment is FREE. Meals are made from fresh local ingredients, and accommodation is made for special needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Beaches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Beaches Resort Tonga/Uoleva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing