We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Retreat we ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serenity Beaches Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Uoleva Island
Reviewed 23 May 2010

For anyone who is looking at accommodation in the Ha’apais, drop all the names and forget about them... Serenity Beach is where you need to be. You will not be disappointed. Me and my partner Fili stayed at Serenity for 7 nights. The beach the weather, was divine, Patti is one of those people that you don’t come across often, She has such an ore about her, and it shows in her resort. Pati is such a hard working woman, friendly and a great companion and a host. We enjoyed the most our talks after sunset over delicious dinner that has been Cooked up by Sami (he is the best cook in Tonga)! Playing cards till we couldn’t keep our eyes open anymore, is something that me and Fili always look back at and laugh about. The service that was given to us on our stay cannot compare to any 5 star hotel... It Was BETTER! a service that came from the heart and love, no request was too small and was always acknowledged! Rooms are very clean and comfortable, The location is the best part... Its away From EVERYTHING! We were the only guests in the resort and we had the beach all to ourselves! Absolutely the best resort we have ever stayed in!

Patti and Sami
Thank you sooo much for hosting us and helping us with our flights, your hospitality and personality we will never forget and your friendship that we made we will always cherish.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashaKolodeznaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

Serenity Beaches provides just that; Serenity, both above and below the water. We went to Haapi specifically to dive (Fins and Flukes) and the resort was the icing on the cake. Patti and her partner Semi have built a remarkable recluse on an island far off the beaten path. The fales are peaceful, beatiful massages are recommended, the food was tasty and, considering the difficulty of getting fresh fruit/vegi's we had to rough it on fresh lobster and fish every day. Yep, we roughed it.
What do you need to bring? Books if you don't want to use the fairly well stocked library, the wish to fully relax, snorkel gear (Patti does offer hers, we happened to have our own) so that you can spend hours exploring 10 metres off shore, your own booze, plenty of bug dope, We hadn't planned on booking all meals but decided upon arrival to add lunch to our breakfast/dinner package and it made life even easier. Getting to the main island is not an easy task, so if you want snacks or to prepare your own meals you need to plan ahead.
Leave the party clothes at home, this is one laid back place. Its swimwear and shorts, with a dress up being throwing on a pair of shorts. The fales don't have electricity, dinner is by candelight (a generator runs the absolute essentials)
If you have the opportunity to dive, swim with the whales or snorkel from a boat we recommend Fins and Flukes. They are well qualified as an instructor and dive master and also share the strong education and knowledge as marine biologists.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrayankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We spent 7 nights at Serenity Beaches ... I had not seen a place like this since the 70's. A chick campsite... where life is slow and it feels like time stands still.
If you do not like insects this is not a place for you, there are spiders, flying cockroaches, mosquitos... but if that does not really bother you, this place has so much to give... Snorkeling is absolutely out of this world with an abundance of coral formations and marine life, turquoise beach, long walks in every direction of the island, amazing views of volcanoes at a distance, boat trips and a completely undisturbed night sky.
Food is good but you have very little choice since the owner, has to bring absolutely everything from the other islands.
People here are nice and will do everything to make your stay pleasant...
Bring loads of mosquito repellent and coil...
If you are looking for something beyond resorts, swimming pools, cafes and shopping I would dare say this place is a must see .

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lichenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We are 'Nuts' we left voluntarily. We started in Tongatapu then went to Vava'u and on to Ha'apai. We stayed in town for a few days and we experienced real Tongan culture and that was a great experience in itself. We then travel with Fin's N Flukes out to Serenity Beach Resort. Well let's just say the pictures of Ueoleva and Serenity DO NOT do them justice! Patti and her boyfriend have done an incredible job in the middle of nowhere. The people in Ha'apai were awesome and Patti just adds to that. The Fale's we stayed in were just beautiful, the water and island were what the South Pacific are all about and I can only pray that this area never becomes developed. Serenity beats all the other resorts in the area, the rates are worth it and the food was great too. Do Not go there except to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings! Patti has done an awesome job with what she has available, She has a little further to go with some finishing touches but it was an excellent experience and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigWillieUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My girlfriend and I had the most amazing holiday at Serenity Beaches in Tonga. We flew from Melbourne via Sydney. A cyclone delayed our flight from mainland Tonga to Ha'Apai. But when we arrived we weren't disappointed. The Island is uninhabited apart from guests of the 3 "hotels" that were there although they aren't hotels, just small clusters of fales, with Serenity Beaches the most appealing. Our hosts were amazing - they made us feel totally at home from the start. We had our own fale and our own private beach. The fale we stayed in was really cool as was the main eating area. We went snorkelling in beautiful coral reefs everyday - even saw a 2 m reef shark one day! There is also a beautiful clean swimming beach with no reef at all. We ate lobster most days and played guitar around the campfire at night. This place has to be the closest thing to paradise on earth - and very affordable if flying from Australia / NZ. Remember to BYO booze though as it is pretty remote (ie no shops once you get there). Probably the best tip is to buy some at the airport or if you have a day in Nuko Alofa buy some there. This place is very quiet and relaxing so don't go expecting nightclubs and loud music!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This place is amazing. We stayed for only 4 days which wasn't long enough in my opinion. You get to Serenity by boat which is a fun way to see the surrounding Islands. It's a really nice place to relax and unwind as it is so remote and beautiful. You could walk for 1/2 an hour down the beach and not see a single person! The coral and sea life is a lot more pristine than other parts of Tonga so it's great for snorkeling.
The Balinese style rooms are really well designed and open up to let the breeze through on a hot day. The people at Serenity are super friendly and will cook amazing food to suit your dietary requirements.
They have lots of places to hang out and read etc.. and snorkeling gear and kayaks if you feel like exploring.
Patti, Semi & Yoda are great hosts and made us feel very welcome.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank BradOnHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I recently spent 4 nights at Serenity in between Christmas and New Years.
We flew into Ha'apai and Patti the owner was there to pick us up and take us to the island of Uoleva, which was a stunning boat trip from ha'apai mainland.

I've never relaxed so fast in a place before. This was just what I was after.
The remoteness and beauty combine to create an oasis of bliss.
It is a beautiful spot to unwind; swim, snorkel, practise yoga, kayak, walk, sleep, hammock time, eat, talk, read and re-group with your soul!
The snorkeling is awesome, with some beautiful coral patches & so much life.

The fales are very spacious, light & comfortable, very clean and the beds are great. We slept really well each night. Too much infact!
The owners looked after us wonderfully, we were treated to breakfast, lunch, dinner & baking! It is such bliss to be cooked for, for each meal.
A way to my heart was the awesome range of herbal teas that were available to help yourself at no cost.
I found the cost of the meals very reasonable and inline with what we expected.
There are many small touches that Serenity have implemented that you only appreciate once you leave and go somewhere else. Such as filling up your water bottles with drinking water, rather then charging you to buy another bottle.
All of what they have achieved on such a remote island is certainly a great feat.

My only consideration about going back to Serenity would be how to stay as long as possible next time.
Fabulous, highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nspenny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uoleva Island
13.0 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#7 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
#13 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Foa Island
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sands Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Keleti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Beaches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Beaches Resort

Address: Ha'apai Island Group | Kingdom of Tonga, Uoleva Island, Tonga
Phone Number:
Region: Tonga > Ha'apai Islands > Uoleva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Uoleva Island
Price Range: £122 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a deserted Island in the South Pacific Kingdom of Tonga, this resort is totally surrounded by beautiful sandy beaches and many exquisite coral reefs. Rooms are all beachfront and far from each other so they offer ultimate privacy. Use of kayaks and snorkel equipment is FREE. Meals are made from fresh local ingredients, and accommodation is made for special needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serenity Beaches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Beaches Resort Tonga/Uoleva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing