We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country pub experience”

Wheatacre White Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldeby
Price range: £5 - £20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT Country Pub & Dining - Bed & Breakfast - Camping and Caravaning Pub open 7 Days a week Restaurant Service: Monday - Friday 12pm - 3pm (Lunch) 6pm-9pm (Dinner) Saturday 12pm - 9pm Sunday 12pm - 7pm
Reviewed 12 June 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at the White Lion, which is a great base for exploring Norfolk and Suffolk.
We received a friendly welcome and our spacious en suite bedrooms were very comfortable and clean.
The food is of high quality and is complemented by a good selection of wines and local beverages.
The pub also enjoys a peaceful location with a spacious garden and courtyard.

Well done to all at the White Lion!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 417jerryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2021

Dined with a small group of friends in this lovely pub just short distance from where we were staying. Pleasantly surprised with how the pub presented itself both in style and food choice.
Staff were very polite, friendly and efficient. Food was well presented and cooked beautifully. Couldn't fault anything and portions were more than adequate.
This place is a real find in what is a fairly remote location and not at all like you might find elsewhere.
We would all return without question when next staying in the area.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2021

The Wheatacre White Lion is a cracking local pub. It is consistantly good regarding food, from fish and chips to steaks. The service is great, the beer , cider ,gin, wine are all good.
But the great thing is that it is a genuine local. Tonight for example I met people i havent seen for ages.
Quite simply great. And it is dog friendly!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alanrJ8521WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We booked to come here just before the covid restrictions inside were lifted.
We sat in the marquee outside under a gas heater. It wasn't too bad.
Service was quick, we both went for the sirloin steak. Both were cooked just how we asked.
We both went for a dessert, sticky toffee pudding and chocolate brownie.
Staff were friendly. Another good visit here

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank TSox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

An amazing place to eat as the food is amazing or just to have a couple of drinks. So well organised as could only eat outside due to Covid Restrictions and the Owner and staff were so attentive. Really made our holiday that bit more special. Also handy as walking distance from our Holiday accommodation. Enjoyed our visits and will
definitely return sometime. Highly recommend 😊

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank kimbolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Wheatacre White Lion also viewed

 

Been to Wheatacre White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.