We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness on Solway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shore Gate House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best B & B ever”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you don't go to this B & B you will be missing one of the best B & B's in England (I should know as I judge horses all over the UK and spend lots of time in them!) We arrived late Friday evening due to traffic hold ups from Cornwall and were greeted by the best hosts ever, Alan & Theresa, they could not do enough for us and the breakfasts were just fab! Will book again and can't wait to visit again. Bowness in a very special place and if you don't want to walk or cycle just bring the car and visit the North Lakes area, so beautiful and have an ice cream at Allonby on the way back. Many many thanks for a wonderful stay.Sue, Brian & Lorna

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Solway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nayrillastud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
80
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here on our final night of walking Hadrians Wall - and were very warmly welcomed by Theresa upon our arrival. The room was warm and comfortable and had a nice view of the beach/sea. The bathroom shower was a little temperamental but we eventually figured it out!

Would recommend this B&B to anyone ending or starting the Hadrians Wall walk... Or just staying in Bowness!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank The_jagis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A nap on the bed with the window open listening to the waves—exactly what we needed. The owners were friendly and accommodating, everything was clean and great. A great little inn. Best end to a hike ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Theresa and Alan could not be more friendly. The welcome very warm, and the breakfast great! There B&B is delightfully situated and if you want to overlook the Solway and like cats you will be in seventh heaven. The Room I stayed in was very clean, modern and functional and, for a very cold night in March, fairly warm. The compactness of the ensuite was slightly challenging with very narrow spacesaver basin and rather tight toilet but it was immaculate with very nice modern shower. The lack of heating in the bathroom, single glazing and condensation, although apparent in very cold weather would be of absolutely no consequence in the main visitor season. The house has a lovely character as has the nearby Kings Arms with its welcoming landlord, log fire and excellent food. Theresa recommended that I ring them in advance in order to book a meal which was really helpful.
For couples wanting to stay in this delightful old village right on the shore of the Solway I am sure this place is ideal. For the single traveller, however, the 2014 single occupancy bed & breakfast rate of £58 does not in my opinion equate to the standard of accommodation and is possibly designed to deter singles in preference to the couples bookings which they obviously prefer.
Theresa and Alan are a delightful couple, and I fully understand that if you can fill with couples why not.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Roj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Theresa and Alan were fantastic, friendly hosts. Breakfasts were epic! Room was great with stunning views across the Solway Firth in beautiful pink morning light. As it was out of season the Kings Arms weren't serving food, but Theresa very kindly arranged for them to provide me with evening meal anyway!

Room Tip: As mentioned by others North-facing rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D4vidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My daughter and I could not have wished for a better finish to an exhausting holiday walking Hadrian's Wall. Theresa and Alan made us feel so welcome and it was almost like being part of the family. Room was immaculate and breakfast superb. We also very much enjoyed the atmosphere at the local pub, The King's Arms, where once again the atmosphere was so welcoming. All in all, a lovely community.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from north-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

after walking Hadrian's Wall Path we couldn't have wanted anything less. A very warm and friendly welcome, a scrupulously clean room (we had the attic room which isn't technically en-suite so a bit of an issue if one's consumed too much Landlord in the pub...). The owners clearly love their job and their guests! Breakfast was spot on. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness on Solway
3.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
989 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
891 reviews
6.8 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
13.0 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Gate House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Gate House B&B

Property: Shore Gate House B&B
Address: Shore Gate House, Bowness on Solway CA7 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Gate House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Shore Gate House B&B Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing