We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with everything you could want.”
Review of The Old Chapel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness on Solway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Chapel
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent our final night of our hadrians way walking holiday at the old Chapel b+b. We received a very warm welcome and had our every need anticipated by Maureen. Would recommend this place to anyone starting or finishing the hadrians way walk :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonpendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wonderful place to end or begin your hike of Hadrian's Wall. Our Hostess was a delight and made us feel comfortable as soon as we arrived; serving tea and cakes! Bathroom was absolutely the best with hot water and good tub for soaking. We learned a lot about the history of the chapel and her family. We enjoyed breakfast and the company so much we were late getting started the next morning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

For us this was the end of our Hadrians Way walk, and this B & B could not have been better placed- literally on the route 50 metres from the finish (or start)
This is a unique B & B with a great atmosphere. It doubles as a 3 bedroom self catering apartment so rather than have tea and coffee making in your room, instead each room has access to a very well stocked communal kitchen with extra goodies (peanut butter and bread to make toast for example)- this is a real plus. Our room, the family room, also had an en suite with bath... bliss!
The landlady is really friendly, and lives next door. She brought breakfast cooked in her own kitchen and it was very good.
The only tiny drawback, but not enough to detract from an outstanding rating, is that wi-fi is only available in the single room nearest to the owners house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked in here to begin our Hadrian's Wall walk, the beginning of the trail is just over the road. The landlady, Maureen made us very welcome and gave us an excellent breakfast to set off. We were given two rooms which were very clean at no extra cost as we had originally booked a twin. Highly recommend this accommodation to begin or end the Hadrian's Wall trek.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on the start of the Hadrian's wall path. We arrived mid afternoon and was welcomed by Maureen, the owner. She was helpful, jolly and friendly from the off which was great after our long day travelling to get there!

We were given the Family room, located on the first floor. A lovely comfy double bed, (with bunk beds) and a great en-suit bathroom. We were lucky enough to haberdasher the place to ourselves and the kitchen area was open to use as and when we needed, for tea, coffee and biscuits, along with a well stocked fridge, Reading materials and some board games. It was a real treat staying here and although it's rated as a 3*, it is by far one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed at.

Maureen had recommended the Kings Arms for somewhere to eat, but we weren't hungry, however we did take the short stroll to the pub to sample their alcohol! We were lucky to catch the local mobile grocery van and got some snacks from there and ate back at the B&B.

Maureen lives next door so we had total privacy and the breakfast in the morning was superb. It set us up for the day...A great, hearty full English!


Certainly recommended. We really couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks again Maureen, if you read the reviews!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A lovely place to stay at the end of the long walk along Hadrian's Wall. Maureen was very welcoming.

The room was very nice and had a very comfortable bed. That and the wet room ensured a much needed bit of relaxation. Breakfast was also great as was wi-fi access. Couldn't wish for anything more really.

Maureen had booked me into The Kings Arms which is a little haven for walkers to meet up in and swap stories of the trek. The locals there were very friendly too.

I would definitely recommend The Old Chapel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groucho58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

After a long day walking the final stage of the Hadrian’s Wall Path, we were very pleased to get to this delightful bed and breakfast. We stayed in the family room which is situated on the first floor. The room was very clean and spacious. The owner Maureen was very friendly and kindly booked us a table for dinner at the nearby King’s Arms which we enjoyed. Maureen and her family live next door which means that you are given your own space in the chapel but know that if any help is required, you only have to knock next door. The breakfast is continental (cereals, bread, ham, cheese, tomatoes etc.) which made a much welcome change from the usual full English. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at The Old Chapel and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHols1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel

Address: Bowness on Solway CA7 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Price Range: £19 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Chapel Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing