We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent end to Hadrian's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Chapel

The Old Chapel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness on Solway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Chapel
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent end to Hadrian's”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at this excellent B & B at the end of my walking tour of Hadrian's Wall. There was a welcoming cup of tea with some outstanding cheesecake, always a good sign at a B & B. The owners told me that the property was a listed historic building and that they had upgraded it with the help of a big win on the lottery!!! They did a really good job - the kitchen is large with a gas stove, fridge, microwave cutlery etc so you could cook for the kids if you wanted. The breakfast was served there and was excellent - lots of fruits and cereals and the 'full' English. The toilets and showers are immaculately clean and one is handicapped adapted. The rooms are furnished in the modern 'Ikea' style and quite large. Its located only a few yards from the trail end. Good place to finish.

Room Tip: I didn't see any bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had warm welcome and a lovely chat with the lady who runs this place. Great breakfast too. Room was a bit small , but had everything we needed after finishing Hadrian's Wall path.
We had warm welcome and a lovely chat with the lady who runs this place. Great breakfast too. Room was a bit small , but had everything we needed after finishing Hadrian's Wall path.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent our final night of our hadrians way walking holiday at the old Chapel b+b. We received a very warm welcome and had our every need anticipated by Maureen. Would recommend this place to anyone starting or finishing the hadrians way walk :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonpendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wonderful place to end or begin your hike of Hadrian's Wall. Our Hostess was a delight and made us feel comfortable as soon as we arrived; serving tea and cakes! Bathroom was absolutely the best with hot water and good tub for soaking. We learned a lot about the history of the chapel and her family. We enjoyed breakfast and the company so much we were late getting started the next morning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
278 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

For us this was the end of our Hadrians Way walk, and this B & B could not have been better placed- literally on the route 50 metres from the finish (or start)
This is a unique B & B with a great atmosphere. It doubles as a 3 bedroom self catering apartment so rather than have tea and coffee making in your room, instead each room has access to a very well stocked communal kitchen with extra goodies (peanut butter and bread to make toast for example)- this is a real plus. Our room, the family room, also had an en suite with bath... bliss!
The landlady is really friendly, and lives next door. She brought breakfast cooked in her own kitchen and it was very good.
The only tiny drawback, but not enough to detract from an outstanding rating, is that wi-fi is only available in the single room nearest to the owners house.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked in here to begin our Hadrian's Wall walk, the beginning of the trail is just over the road. The landlady, Maureen made us very welcome and gave us an excellent breakfast to set off. We were given two rooms which were very clean at no extra cost as we had originally booked a twin. Highly recommend this accommodation to begin or end the Hadrian's Wall trek.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on the start of the Hadrian's wall path. We arrived mid afternoon and was welcomed by Maureen, the owner. She was helpful, jolly and friendly from the off which was great after our long day travelling to get there!

We were given the Family room, located on the first floor. A lovely comfy double bed, (with bunk beds) and a great en-suit bathroom. We were lucky enough to haberdasher the place to ourselves and the kitchen area was open to use as and when we needed, for tea, coffee and biscuits, along with a well stocked fridge, Reading materials and some board games. It was a real treat staying here and although it's rated as a 3*, it is by far one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed at.

Maureen had recommended the Kings Arms for somewhere to eat, but we weren't hungry, however we did take the short stroll to the pub to sample their alcohol! We were lucky to catch the local mobile grocery van and got some snacks from there and ate back at the B&B.

Maureen lives next door so we had total privacy and the breakfast in the morning was superb. It set us up for the day...A great, hearty full English!


Certainly recommended. We really couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks again Maureen, if you read the reviews!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel

Property: The Old Chapel
Address: Bowness on Solway CA7 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Chapel Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing