We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another comfy stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our second stay here visiting old friends in the area. Room was large and comfy and Lyn had provided a lovely bed for our little dog not to mention a 'doggie bag' with treats and poo bags!! Delicious breakfast - like the fact that we can make our own toast from a choice of bread. Also like the honesty fridge and the fact that the milk is provided fresh in a flask as opposed to irritating little pots. We will definitely be back later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldiva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
84
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crediton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

A superb end to a stunning walk. Lyn was so welcoming and helpful, the house is large and the rooms comfortable. Typical Cumbrian (big) breakfast! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of walking Hadrian's Wall and didn't find another place to match it. The welcome in this lovely old house is warm and friendly and it was the only B & B that offered us tea and home made cake on arrival. There is everything you need including the days newspapers, a lovely real fire in the sitting room, a good selection of toiletries in the clean, well furnished and comfortable rooms, fresh milk for your tea tray, extensive local information and bars and essentials to purchase for your hike. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. You can even leave your car there for a small fee. All in all excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordshireMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed whilst walking Hadrian's Wall and this was the very best of a fantastic bunch of B&B that we stayed in. It was truly welcoming, cosy and comfortable. It's a very beautiful house and a pleasure to stay there. I felt completely at home and was sad to leave such a wonderful place. Breakfast was great and there's a pub just round the corner for evening meals or a drink. If you are in Bowness of Solway you MUST stay here - I loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mittmitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Welcomed in a very comfortable lounge (cosier than the pic suggests) with home made tea bread & tiffin,tea & by a wood burning stove.Loved the toy deer's head above the fire...Lyn has a terrific sense of humour.Immediately felt at home.A spacious comfy room & our every need catered for.Great breakfast & packed lunch.One of us was ill & nothing was too much trouble.Don't be put off by it being under relatively new ownership...they are superb.A wonderful stay & wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThamesPathwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Beautiful big old house in Bowness on Solway. Large, warm ensuite bedrooms. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts at this our final B&B of our trip. Bowness is a small place so the pub was just round the corner. (The King's arms!) Nice big breakfast on our departure day

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morristwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness on Solway
3.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
123 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
257 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hillside Farm B&B
Hillside Farm B&B
#24 of 61 in Carlisle
31 reviews
8.4 mi away
Solway Holiday Village
Solway Holiday Village
#3 of 3 in Silloth
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room

Property: Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
Address: The Old Rectory | Church Lane, Bowness on Solway CA7 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the village on the Solway Firth coastal estuary, at the end of Hadrian's Wall Path, and within a Government designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (A.O.N.B.). Four star Silver rated bed and breakfast accommodation in en-suite rooms. Wigwams are luxury ensuite camping cabins sleeping up to four people. Licensed Tea Room open daily Easter to October. Camp site accommodates up to 8 tents with electric hook ups available, shower block, laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams And Tea Room Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing