We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Wonderful service and great stay, even got the added bonus of the Connecting Light event. Lyn really went the extra mile by ensuring that an item we had forgotten was forwarded on to our next stop. Many many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
73
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co Down
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Such a long, straight and slow walk into Bowness at the end of Hadrian's Way, I was not in good mood as I arrived. But Bowness has a charm of it's own and is most surprising. It really is very pretty and a positive hive of activity -- well certainly in the pub which is a people watcher's paradise. Wallsend is perfect at the end of the 84 or so mile walk. If I was running a guest house I would want it to be like Lyn's. The attention to detail and anticipation of guest's needs is so professional she should be running the Hilton group!! Bowness will certainly be on the map for a future (driving!) trip and there will be no deliberation regarding where to stay. Wallsend certainly turned around my grumpiness and as I stood for the 7.30am bus the next day I felt very positive, relaxed and not even slightly hung-over after my excessive Guinness celebration (maybe that was helped by the extra early well cooked breakfast, thanks to Lyn's flexibility).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelluverCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was such a great way to finish the walk along Hadrian's Wall. A wonderful welcome, beautiful house, excellent room and bed, We were walking with friends some of whom had booked in at another accommodation in Bowness. One of our friends was celebrating his birthday and we had champagne and a cake for him. We asked our hosts if they would mind us all (10 of us) coming back for the celebration which I thought was a bit cheeky to be honest! The idea could not have been welcome more positively. We rolled in from the local at 0930. The hosts had decorated the gate with a Happy Birthday banner, put out champagne glasses in their lovely spacious and comfortable hallway, chilled the chambers which was waiting in a beautifully presented ice bucket and let us celebrate really happily.

THANKYOU!!! you made the birthday special.
This is a lovely guest house. Stay here you wont be disappointed. What a lovely way to finish walking the 84 miles of Hadrian's Wall.

p.s sorry about taking the key with me.. It should be back with you by return

Room Tip: Stay here for an excellent end to your walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a lovely estate with first class accommodations and service, it could not have been nicer or more elegant! Terrific stay for bikers on Hadrian's Cycleway trek, coast to coast!
The friendly pets were an added bonus.

Room Tip: The view from our room was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franceyburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Wonderfull and welcomming accomodation. Ecxellent rooms and service!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

At the end of our Hadrian's Wall Walk this was such a great place to find ourselves booked into! The room was very spacious with a double and single bed, and space left over for seating as well. Lyn and Andy were great hosts and even gave my friend a lift to pick up his car which was a few miles away. Breakfast was excellent and all done in lovely surroundings.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LizGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Could not have been friendlier or more comfortable. Lovely food too (and lovely cats).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness on Solway
3.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.1 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rowanbank Guesthouse
Rowanbank Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Annan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room

Property: Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
Address: The Old Rectory | Church Lane, Bowness on Solway CA7 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the village on the Solway Firth coastal estuary, at the end of Hadrian's Wall Path, and within a Government designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (A.O.N.B.). Four star Silver rated bed and breakfast accommodation in en-suite rooms. Wigwams are luxury ensuite camping cabins sleeping up to four people. Licensed Tea Room open daily Easter to October. Camp site accommodates up to 8 tents with electric hook ups available, shower block, laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams And Tea Room Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing