We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Host Went Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Host Went Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here the last day of my Hadrian's Wall hike, and arrived drenched, hurting all over, and pretty broken. Lyn let me go get cleaned up, and already had a fire going for me, even though I was the only guest staying there that night. She brought me tea and scones, and chatted for a while. She was kind enough to help me arrange transport to Carlisle station for the next day. At some point during the evening, I realised that my phone had gotten soaked during the downpour that I had walked through, and I had no way to reach my sister (who was supposed to pick me up). Lyn very kindly offered to let me use the landline, and ended up letting me use the computer to send a message. I was and am so very grateful for her true hospitality.

Her border collies are wonderful. (Ruby is my favourite, and will steal your heart with her gentle eyes and disposition.)

The breakfast in the morning was really nice and relaxed, and was a great was to put a bookend on the long hike.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
73
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed here for one night after cycling up from Workington and prior to my cycle across Hadrians Wall. A warm welcome, a place to store my bike, friendly dogs in you like that sort of thing, coffee on arrival. The room was functional, comfortable bed and a powerful shower to work the kinks out. There is everything you need in the bathroom so no need to carry a lot of toiletries.
The eggs benedict for breakfast was one of the best I have had, and plenty of breakfast choices. No faults at all and good value for money in a pleasant area and interesting property.
If you are cycling up Route 72 you can't miss this place and only a couple of minutes walk to the nearby pub and the Wall start/end and views across the Solway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wallsend is an amazing place to stay in, with a great owner. Totally enjoyed the stay and would gladly return! Breakfasts were very good, and house is very pretty. Oh, must not forget the great dogs!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the start of our walking holiday and found it to be wonderful. The owner was very professional yet friendly and the house was gorgeous. Beautiful gardens and wonderful location. The room was clean and had everything you'd need. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor12345678901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Everything was perfect! Best breakfast ever, beautiful rooms. Out favourite B and B along the wall. The children were overjoyed by the quantities if hot chocolate and biscuits in the room and the lavish collection of bath luxuries were a lovely surprise and much appreciated after a long day of walking. Our host was very friendly and we all fell in love with her lovely cats and dogs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesFallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

What was there not to love about this place? We stayed here for our last night during our walk along Hadrian's Wall. The welcome was lovely - we thoroughly enjoyed our tea and home-made cakes; our room which overlooked the back garden was fabulous - large, clean and very comfortable; lovely ensuite too. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. It was interesting to watch the bird cctv in the dining room and I loved seeing all the animals too. This place is both relaxing and delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for our last night on the hadrians wall walk. A very welcoming guest house, tastefully decorated, rooms were lovely and comfy . Breakfast was delicious with lots of options to choose from, we also enjoyed the bird cctv in the breakfast room. Wish we could have stayed a bit longer

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness on Solway
3.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
7.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room

Property: Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room
Address: The Old Rectory | Church Lane, Bowness on Solway CA7 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the village on the Solway Firth coastal estuary, at the end of Hadrian's Wall Path, and within a Government designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (A.O.N.B.). Four star Silver rated bed and breakfast accommodation in en-suite rooms. Wigwams are luxury ensuite camping cabins sleeping up to four people. Licensed Tea Room open daily Easter to October. Camp site accommodates up to 8 tents with electric hook ups available, shower block, laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallsend Guest House, Wigwams And Tea Room Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing