We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub poor accommodation”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness on Solway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub poor accommodation”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Completed Hadrian's Wall was looking forward to some good food, good beer and good accommodation. At The Kings you get the first two in abundance but unfortunately the accommodation leaves an awful lot to be desired. Our room had not been hoovered, dusted or the bathroom cleaned in a long time . It was damp and musty even the air fresheners could not hide the smell. A bit of a let down after six days of walking so our advice to any other walkers thinking of staying there dont!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque, nm
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

At the end of our walk along Hadrian's Wall, we decided to do it right by staying at the Kings Arms. It's a great pub, don't get me wrong, and I love local color, but the inn's accommodation? I think that the best description is grubby. The floors are grubby, the carpets are greasy, and the mattresses are springy, lumpy, saggy, and ancient. But, it's fundamentally safe and clean. If you have a tolerance for grub, by all means, stay here. You can at least say that you stayed at the end of the trail. If you have more delicate tastes, it is wise to book somewhere else in Bowness on Solway. A word to the wise: there is nowhere else to eat in town, so you will be eating here, and after days and days of walking, any pub grub will be ok with you. The service is surly but have a beer and relax.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. At least get one where you have your own bath. You'll be happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The end of the road, or Hadrian's Wall Path, for walkers from the east, and the Kings Arms' bar is where they choose to celebrate. It's a welcoming pub with accommodation that is comfortable and more than adequate. Meals are substantial and washed down by local beer and ale, much appreciated after days on the path, as is the good fellowship in the bar with walkers who've got to know each other after days on the path.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here on one of our regular visits to friends in this area. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Dinner was delicious and v. good value for money and our cooked breakfast was the best one we have had for a long time. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldiva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Bowness on Solway CA7 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing