We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent barman, shame about the room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness on Solway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent barman, shame about the room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The accommodation is not the greatest (we booked a double ensuite and were given a twin with a shared bathroom) however the barman saved the day. Unlike the older couple he was naturally friendly, witty and went out of his way to help. He even gave us a lift to continue our second day of walking the wall and would not take anything towards his petrol. Don't stay here if you want spotless accommodation. For the cost though it is an 'interesting' experience!

Room Tip: There are no double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
355 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

After spending 5 days walking Hadrian's wall with a group of colleagues we had a 2 hour wait in Bowness on Solway whilst our minibus driver shuttled some of our friends who joined us for day 5 back to Carlisle,
We trooped into The Kings Arms for food and drinks before our journey home.
We were told that they only serve food to local people on Wednesday because otherwise the staff wouldn't get a day off. If they'd not done food at all that might have made sense, but people began ordering and eating whilst we sat with just a drink. Even if they'd offered to do us a few bowls of chips or something to tide us over it would have been a nice gesture.
The staff weren't particularly friendly either, 2 of our party ordered pots of tea and the woman grumbled when they asked her to put it on their table, not someone elses! (Strange)
We had one drink each and went to Carlisle for food. They missed out on an easy £200.
Shame really as reaching the end of the wall was a bit of an anti-climax

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We expected so much, having dined at some excellent places along Hadrian's Wall. This was the end of our walk and we felt really good about ourselves. "Shall we order champagne?", said my friend. He was serious and so was I. We were to be disappointed.
We asked for the wine list. "No point", said the owner. "We're out of wine" but he did find a bottle behind the bar. And so the Fawlty Tower-esque evening rolled-on; never unpleasant or discourteous, but all of the fun was the banter amongst fellow walkers. The food was decent 1970's pub grub (not to be confused with trendy "retro") but we'd hoped for something more special to mark the occasion.
Look, this place is not bad and the charges are reasonable for what you get. Remember too that you don't seem to have any other choice in Bowness, so if you want to pay more for a really memorable slap-up meal towards the end of your Hadrian triumph, have it the day before in Carlisle.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bin-raider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,705 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 882 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We also did not stay here overnight, but popped in for a quick pint at the end of the walk and returned later for a few more pints and dinner (we all opted for steak). The food was fine, with the service improving as we relaxed.
The beer was not quite as good as I hoped, so I had to 'make do' with Pedigree - but perhaps I was expecting too much after lunchtime.
All in all, they are geared up for their privileged position at the end of the Wall - or the start if you opt for the easier West to East direction!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We have just had two nights at the King's Arms and had a great time. We used it as a base to cycle from and our bikes were well looked after at night. The food was good and plentiful (thank goodness we were cycling), the room was comfortable and warm, everyone was very friendly and the craic in the pub was great. Excellent value for money and we will be coming back.

Room Tip: Try to get the room opposite the bathroom, there are no ensuite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionherbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We didn't stay here, but ate heartily the night before setting out to walk the Wall. The beer was good and well kept, the food simple and excellent value for money.

The pub is family run with at least 2 generations involved in all aspects of the service. One of our group was celebrating a birthday, but there was no 'fizz' among the limited choice of wine. However, locally caught wild salmon went down very well indeed as did locally sourced Cumberland sausage. The landlord's daughter served us with friendly, chatty efficiency; her mother was the cook.

While the choice of places to eat in Bowness on Solway is very limited you won't be disappointed with the King's Arms: a warm, welcoming pub in an historic village at the end of Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Completed Hadrian's Wall was looking forward to some good food, good beer and good accommodation. At The Kings you get the first two in abundance but unfortunately the accommodation leaves an awful lot to be desired. Our room had not been hoovered, dusted or the bathroom cleaned in a long time . It was damp and musty even the air fresheners could not hide the smell. A bit of a let down after six days of walking so our advice to any other walkers thinking of staying there dont!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Bowness on Solway CA7 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Bowness on Solway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness on Solway
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Bowness On Solway, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing