We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”

The Usk and Railway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

The food in the Usk is exactly what you need after a day of walking in the Brecon Beacons. Big portions of proper pub grub cooked to perfection. I always come to eat dinner here when I am in Sennybridge.

The service is good but I was accused on one occasion of trying to short change the owner as I handed him a twenty and he thought it was a ten. He promptly checked the CCTV and gave me the rest of my change and a free drink after about 10 minutes. The accusation sullied my experience on that one occasion, but I suppose they have all sorts of clientele. The locals gathered round the bar can be a bit intimidating as well. Can't be too bad though because I keep coming back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Called in on way home from New quay without booking,ordered 2 beef dinners very quick service off the freindly staff and perfect food and drinks ,Thanks very much will call in again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top local choice”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We live locally to this establishment and have to say this is out top choice for any occasion. The food is delicious and plentiful, the garlic chicken is especially tasty and the pudding are divine. Would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhianapritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We visit this place every sunday even though we live 20 miles away, always a pleasure, staff are friendly, food is amazing! You will not find a better place to eat than here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Croberts1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful sunday lunch”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our sunday lunch there this week, it was very friendly, quick service, and a beautifully cooked dinner with plenty to eat, will certain be going there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Usk and Railway Inn also viewed

Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Usk and Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing