We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

this hotel though a little shabby was exelent very clean, staff very friendly and helpful wih lots of little touches that make the difference.Full jugs of coffee on your table at breakfast being offered
glasses of fresh fruit juice and cava also at breakfast .being brought jugs of water and wine to
your table at dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 3,169 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner, myself and our 6 month old daughter came to this resort in May 2014.

Below is our opinion on how we rated our stay.

As soon as we pulled up to the resort and entered into the building the first thing I noticed was how clean the place was, stunning marble flooring throughout the whole hotel, and a nice temperature, not too cold and not hot.
Approaching the check in desk the staff were extremely friendly and spoke very well English which was fantastic because my Spanish is non existent.

Our room was as requested, we asked for a microwave and we received it within 10 minutes, the room was spotless, very well maintained and beautifully prepared for our arrival. We had a stunning view from our balcony which overlooked the pool and sea which was lovely. Very spacious balcony,
Table plus two chairs and a sun lounger, plenty of room for our daughter to crawl about on. I've found with previous hotels the balcony is very small so it was a very nice surprise that it was big.

The dining area is very big and laid out well, inside and outside seating. All the staff are incredibly helpful, some days/evenings we found our own table and other times we were led, always greeted with smiles and offering drinks and a baby chair, as soon as you have finished your meal the plate is taken away.
The food was very nice, a good variety and food to cater for everyone, although I did find it quite repetitive so I was finding I was eating the same things at every sitting. But overall I was really happy.
The foods were things like; breakfast, cooked breakfasts, breads, cheeses, cereals and fruits
Lunch, soups, bread, salads, fruits, pizza, pork, paella, pasta, bolognese sauce, chips, rice dishes
Evening meal, soups, breads, salads, fruits, puddings, pastas, rices, paella, pizzas, sauces, pork, fish, vegetables, cooked joints of meat, meats in sauces, chips etc.
I found myself going up for extra helpings as the plates aren't too big. I always left full.

I was a bit disappointed there was no vending machines or little shacks by the pool with burgers and chips and fruits or other places for food if you were hungry inbetween meals.
They had drinks available 24/7 like vending machines with hot drinks and cold juices and fizz, alcohol is only available at the outside bar from 10.30am-12.00pm and inside from 6.00pm-12.00pm. They had a good range of alcohol, always a bonus being free.

The pools were massive! They had two main pools and a small baby pool off the top pool.
Unfortunately we found the water in ALL the pools to be
freezing! The weather was overcast most of the week we were there so that was probably why. I was expecting the baby pool to be warm but it wasn't, so my daughter could only handle being in the pools for 10 minutes or so because it was too cold. Once in the pool it was okay but the initial getting in was hard work. They had pool activities like volleyball and aqua gym which was good fun.

Other entertainment I thought was lacking. They had bingo everyday at 3 which I did once, and won, and got a bottle of champagne.
Evening entertainment in the main lobby was singing, most evenings it was more or less the same music mainly aimed for the older generations, there was one evening which had a really good variety of classics and new music. The football and formula 1 was on the TV so that kept the men happy. There was a gym but we didn't go in there, They did have children's entertainment in the evenings both outside and inside but we didn't attend those as our daughter is to young. They also had entertainment for the adults in the evenings with shows and things but again, we didn't attend as would be back in the room so unable to comment on those.

We found walking around the hotel grounds was quite up and down, pushing a buggy became quite hard work at times. Lovely views though. Leaving the hotel from the bottom of the grounds leads you to the private beach which is very pretty, we didn't go on there though, following the path leads you to other hotels and small shops, pubs and pharmacies. You can do a full circle and walk back around to the front of the hotel but again it is on inclines and declines and some quite steep so it can catch you unawares.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, without a doubt the best resort I have stayed in, 100% will go there again and will definitely recommend to others. Hopefully the weather will be better next time which would be nice. Couldn't thank all the staff enough for how helpful and friendly they were, everyone we saw would stop and say hello to our daughter and always make sure we were happy which we really noticed and it made us extremely really welcome.

I've never stayed in RIU before but I'm already searching for others around the world to stay in next!
If you are thinking about staying in this resort I wouldn't even give it a second thought in recommending it to you.




  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FairyDust1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Happy that we gave it a go, Of course I had read tripadvisor of which the reviews where not that bad!! else we would not have stayed there.
The staff where lovely,polite and eager to make the holiday a good one. The hotel was spotlessly clean(I am slightly OCD and cannot settle if my accommadation is dirty, couldnt fault it) Bedding and towelschanged everyday if you wished , Clean towels given out for sunbathing everyday(just hand in the used 1's and get a warm fresh replacement(FAB).
The food wasnt bad at all, plenty of choice, some cooked freshly in front of you, unless you are really fussy you wont go hungry.(They do an Itailian night, its nothing special, stick to the food in the main hotel, we wish we had) Plenty of different beverages!! and no restrictions on how many you can order at any one time, they provide trays to carry them!! I have never had that on any AI before/
Yes it is a large busy hotel and the noise levels can be high in the dininhg room and around the pool, but eating outside the main room is nicer and there are other quiet areas to sunbathe(Just explore and you will find them.
You will struggle a little to spend your Euro's in the local shops, so take advantage of the free bus to playa las americas(streets and streets of shops).
Could write lots more but going to let you guys try it, you really wont be disappointed/

Room Tip: South side is peaceful and the outlook is very plesant, the sun shines from about 3 -9, the sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NettyM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had concerns after reading some of the previous reviews but overall enjoyed our holiday.
Pros:
Hotel is very clean with good daily house keeping, towels and sheets are changed as often as you require.
Toiletries although basic,( sachets of shower gel, soap and shampoo) are replenished on a daily basis.
We had a family room which was very spacious, extra cloakroom and sitting area with two sets of patio doors leading to a spacious balcony with a lovely sea view. Nice to sit in the evening with a glass of wine. Basic furnishings but reasonably comfortable. We felt well worth paying the extra supplement. Excellent air con, extremely quiet and efficient. room safe is provided for free.
All staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
Good all inclusive with very drinkable wines and beers, cocktails etc.
Two lovely pools with plenty of sun loungers, reserve before 8 am and your towels will be removed by security. Plenty of parasols and tables also available.
Buffets offered a good selection, we were always able to find something to enjoy. The speciality restaurant alternated between Italian and Canarian foods. Still buffet service but the restaurant was quieter with a lovely sea view. Easy to book and no restrictions on how often you can go.
And the not so good:
This hotel is looking tired and could do with some general maintenance, for example cracked tiles around the pool, our shower leaked quite badly, some water features around the hotel were not working.
Main problem for us was the crowded feeling, hotel was only half full when we stayed during the week and the terrace area was already comfortably full. At the weekends the locals arrived and the terraces were packed out and the dining room had queues at the buffets and people struggled to find tables .We preferred to eat in the speciality restaurant when so busy.
The hotel is set on the cliffs, no hotel beach but there is a small black sandy cove just outside the hotel gates which has no facilities but is quite dramatic to view.
Good facilities for families with children but if you are seeking peace and quiet you may be disappointed. As a mature couple who like space and peaceful surroundings it did not tick all our boxes, however for what we paid we felt it was excellent value.

Room Tip: Pay the small supplement and have a family room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianab55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Five of us spent 7 days here from 11 May - 18 May and we had a fantastic time. We arrived late to the hotel (around 11pm at night) and we were able to leave our suitcases and go and get some food which was put on for all late arrivals which was fantastic as we were so hungry.

The rooms were very spacious and comfy, the double bed was too singles put together but we slept fine each night and took advantage of the spare pillows in the wardrobe. The balcony had ample space and the rooms were cleaned and tidied to a very high standard every day. A lot of people have moaned about the outdated furniture but it really isnt anything you cant live with and you only sleep in those rooms so it didn't matter to us!

There was no problem at all getting 5 sun loungers together and a couple of parasoles. We even had the same spot every day of our holiday.

The Riu staff work tirelessly all day providing games such as aqua gym, football, water polo, shooting, bingo and much more. You were never pressured into playing and they were always very friendly. All staff say hello to you as you wander around the hotel. These same staff we're often doing the Riu Land kids party in the evening outside and then continued on to doing the adult entertainment at night which starts at 21:45 each day. Very cheesy but very entertaining! Check the notice board outside the main restaurant for whats on each day.

Excellent selection of food everyday, even the most fussy of eaters can find something to eat here. The food does get repetitive but because there is such a varied selection you can make different meals. The pizza and chips were very nice and the themed restaurant usually displayed much of the same food that they have in the main restaurant with a few differences. There is a great selection of drinks from soft, hot and alcohol. Even Cava which I found to be very nice, you can even take a bottle up to your room. All the bar staff are very fast, efficient and extremely polite.

There are a couple of gift shops, a newsagents a beauty shop which we had a look around on various occassions. I paid 2 euros for 1 hour of wifi which I think is ample to check emails and social media. This can be done on their computers, your phones or tablets. The venue for us was no problem as you never have to leave the hotel. We did take advantage of the free bus service to Playa de las Americas which was timely and efficient which enabled us to have a great day out.

Overall an excellent holiday with lovely views of the sea, excellent service and great food!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gennaguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay was 16th May- 23rd May 2014
We are a couple in our early 30's
The holiday we wanted was..
*All inclusive
*Quite but entertainment available
*Decent hotel
* Nice pool and sunbathing area
* Excursions

This hotel ticked every box

The bus journey took 20mins from the airport. We were first drop off.
The hotel is located away from the main tourist destinations. Which we liked.
There are no large building about to block the sun, no planes flying over all day/night, no night club or any other noises.
Perfect.

If you did want to join the other tourist you can do so on the free shuttle bus available ( book on night before after 6pm )
They left at approx 10am,11am and 12pm.
The free bus drops you off at playas de las americas.

With return times available.
At night you would have to get a taxi into town if you wanted to venture.


Playa paraiso is a small, one road place. Defo worth a walk too see.
We booked our excursions here too.
Got them cheaper than through Thompson.
Twin ticket to Loro Park and Siam Parm with transfer 68€ each.
From a company just down from the pub called Slug and Lettuce.

The hotel gave us a warm welcome on arrival.
This lasted throughout our stay.
Every single member of staff was amazing.
Not one bad thing can be said about them.
The work damm hard. Very impressed :)

When booking we asked for a quite room.
This request was met and the room given was outstanding.
A family room just for us two!
A living space with a sofa and TV. Tho the tv was older than me. It worked but we was wasn't there to watch tv.
Two single beds pushed together. With a single pillow
( more in wardrobe )
Nice thin sheets so your not too hot. Ooh and air con when you have your room key in the slot.
We found the beds comfy. Tho the beds did part at times. Would if been nice to have the beds "sheeted " together so they didn't part.
The balcony over looked the back of the hotel. The view was terrific. The sea and we could also see another island.
And a large amount of banana trees.
Two toilets, a bath, shower and a large mirror.
All very good size.

Tho ladies the hair dryer is good but not great and took awhile to dry my long hair . I wish I had taken my own.
But it worked and was available.

The room had a fridge and a safe , free to use.
Cleaners did a great job when you requested to clean your room.

Food.....

Some people were moaning about the food on other reviews.
"This bacon doesn't taste the same"
"These Sausages aren't like they should be"

News flash! They are not going too,we are not in England it's Spanish meat / Spanish cooking.

Some things we tried we didn't like. Some things we ate we loved and had seconds.
They have to cater for so many different people . You can't please everyone on every dish.

The one bad thing we found regarding the food,
was the Italian theme night.
Which we was booked in the first night we was there..
Bland and tasteless. Again others looked as tho they were enjoying the food. We stuck to the main restaurants the rest of our stay.
Most days a spacial extra was put on for the evening sitting.
Chocolate fountain , apple pancakes, omelette making etc.

We feed well.

The pool area is great. The sun is on it for the day and evening.
We never had a problem getting a bed each and a brolly.

One bad point for us was the gym.
My partner body builds and it was a very poor effort for his needs.
Mine was to burn off some calories. Again poor effort.

There are classes to go too if you wish.
We wanted to go to the gym in the morning and then enjoy our day.
This was a big let down :(

Entertainment is the main room was ok. Not great but not rubbish and there were plenty of dancing and singing going on with other guests.
There is another bar in which we watched a few shows the staff put on.
Rock station! We sang, danced and laughed along to this.
Fantastic! 10/10 the staff really did show off their talents.

Over all. We loved our stay at this hotel.
Some say it looks dated?
It's clean and looks good so why make it modern?
Who wants fancy taps and fancy seats.. Would this if improved our stay ??? Nope!

I do agree with the Wifi complaints. It's expensive, in one place and slow... Very slow.
10€ for 3 days or 20€ for 7 days.

We can't wait to return.
:)

Hope this helps x






  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hudwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent 10 nights with my husband here for a very much needed break. Hotel is large and comfortable. All lounge areas were spacious and very clean. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Pool areas were exceptionally clean, sunbeds do get taken quite quickly but there is plenty to go around. Would of been nice to have the same ones everyday but not many hotels offer that service. All rooms are big, with their own lounge and second wc. Terrace has a table and chairs as well as a sunbed. Decor is a little dated but all furnishings were in good condition. A double bed is 2 singles pushed together, mattresses were fine, pillows are quite flat but I understand reception can arrange for more. Being such a large resort food was as varied as it can be. There are 2 live cooking stations as wells as pasta, pizza, cooked meals, live grills, soup, bread, dessert and fruit and salad stations. You won't starve, and inevitably it does get busy but didn't have a huge wait in queues. Pool bar was very well equipped and again no more then 2 deep in the queue. We celebrated our anniversary whilst there and Lucas on reception arranged a restaurant reservation and taxis. Resort is very quiet, if you want night life don't book in playa parasio, only a few bars and shops with a pharmacy and doctor. A cab to playa Americas will be around 18/20 euros each way, hotel has a free shuttle service but limited places, need to book night before and only go during the day. No more then 30mins from airport, took us nearer 50 mins as we took a coach transfer. All in all a good hotel for what we wanted it for, a relaxed couples break.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms on 5th floor , you'll get uninterrupted sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LouizaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
24.6 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
397 reviews
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
7.9 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
40.1 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Address: Horno 35 , Urb. Playa Paraiso, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dunas Paraiso)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £129 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Paraiso * 9-storey main building and villas * On the seafront * 10 km from Costa Adeje * Complimentary hotel bus to Playa de las Americas * 500 m from various shops * 30 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Adeje
Dunas Paraiso Tenerife
Dunas Paraiso Hotel Tenerife
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Hotel
Hotel Dunas Paraiso
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista Tenerife/Playa Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing