We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money hotel with one big let down!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel with one big let down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Returned from Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista last night and after seeing the review from Jack H on here i do have to question whether or not he was staying at the same hotel as me?! To put it simply you cant expect the 'Dorchester' for 'Butlins' prices and this is a fairly priced family hotel so if you've booked it please dont be put off. I have only 2 complaints - 1) the all inclusive ends at 11 am when you check out of your room - we were told that it's Riu policy however it has never happened in any other Riu we've we've stayed in and we've been to a few. It is then supposed to be 20 euros for lunch or 30 euros for lunch and dinner - there were a lot of complaints so not sure if they will continue to enforce this or not and 2) we were told to enquire at 8 am on the day of departure about a late / courtesy room however after queueing at reception by 8.10 the 1 room that was available was fully booked! Other Riu's have queue and use shower blocks which work a lot better so this area does need to be addressed. Other than that we had no problems. On arrival we were told that we were in a villa down on the sea front - im not sure if this was an upgrade from the family room with sea view we booked through Thomson but it was fabulous and suited our needs (couple with one 15 year old son) very well - 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms and a kitchen / lounge area with a large balcony overlooking a small rocky cove (2 sunbeds and a table and chairs) so if you've booked one of these villas dont worry as they are fine. Some of the furniture is a little dated but it's all definitely fit for purpose and i slept perfectly well all week (extra pillows / mattress toppers are available if required ). Cleaning was also done to a high standard by friendly and happy maids - we always leave them a small tip on the beds which may or may not help . Sunbeds cannot be reserved before 8 am and this rule IS enforced by the security guy - my husband can guarantee this as at 8 am every morning he sat and watched him - there was no exception to the rule - if towels / books etc were on unoccupied beds they were simply removed and thrown in the towel room and because of this despite the hotel being busy we never had a problem. We sat down at the lower pool everyday and made friends with some fabulous english people who made our holiday. There were plenty of english speaking guests when we were there but again you do need to make an effort to chat to people. The pools are very very clean - not too deep and you can see the bottom with no problem - certainly no floating tiles etc. This is also where aqua gym and games are everyday but there's no pressure to join in - you didnt need a partner for most of the activity - think it happened once while we were there and there's only music round the pool when the activities are on. The animation team do work extremely hard as in all Riu's and despite entertaining guests in the day they do put on a show every night - it's not west end but they do put a lot of effort in and try to make them fun - again there's never been any professional entertainment in any Riu ive stayed in so it was as expected for us. There was also a singer in the main bar area on an evening - maybe not world class but certainly not terrible. Food in the main restaurant was of a high standard - always hot and plentiful and i guess it's only repetitive if you pile a bit of everything on your plate every night as there was always 2 soups, a large salad choice, pasta / pizza, plus live cooking of fish / chicken / pork etc every day along with a carved roast and veg etc - what more could you ask for? As for flies I never saw one in the restaurant and all the food is covered anyway. Along with the hand sanitisers it was all kept extremely clean and hygienic. The lunch time snack bar was also fine and although a little more choice would be good the available food was fine (hot dogs and burgers) it is an open air restaurant so the odd bird does wander in but again the food is all in covered containers and i never saw them near the serving area. The hotel is in a quiet area so if you do want activities or shops away from the hotel you need to go to the neighbouring resorts by hotel bus or taxi - we just wanted a quiet week away so didnt bother, but along with the trips offered by Thomson you could simply do as much or as little as you wanted - all in all we had a fabulous week and didnt want to come home. Feel free to let me know if you have any specific questions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    1,164
    482
    119
    56
See reviews for
1,167
1,158
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here in end of June for one week!
The hotel has everything you need! And is always clean! I cannot comment on the entertainment as we were out most nights on excursions and so on. Nice quiet area, only cost €18 to get taxi to las Americas or you can book the free bus from the hotel which we did a Number of times
Staff were friendly and welcoming, a lot of them would have a laugh and joke with you.
Overall an amazing holiday at this amazing hotel and destination, will highly recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jharvey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

just come back from ClubHotel Riu in Tenerife, the hotel and staff were very good as we expected from a Riu hotel, rooms were clean, the food was good quality, but there are a few not so good things that need to be pointed out. The night entertainment was rubbish, we actually walked out 15mins in, and we wern't the first to do so, the singers in the main bar were out of tune. The food was good quality but after three days of the same dishes we did get a bit sick of it. The one thing that really annoyed us was that even though we didnt get there until 9.30pm we had to pay extra for dinner as we didnt get collected until 5.50pm. We have been to other Riu hotels before and this one i would only rate as a 3 star and not 4star, we will not be going back to this particular hotel. if you want a more indepth review read Jack H.

Room Tip: we stopped in block A, ask for a seafront/pool room - level 5 - reception is on level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YOYOTANZI161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POOLE UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is the second Riu Clubhotel we have been to. All the staff have the same welcoming happy outlook, they try very hard to please & the animations team were great. The Hotel rooms are large & comfortable with good views ours was to the side overlooking a small beach. It is on an incline so there are a lot of stairs or slopes every where. Inside the main blocks are fountains & Palm trees & are lovely to walk through . The pools are lovely & clean but the sun beds get 'reserved from 8 am' however there are plenty of them. There are two restaurants we only tried the main buffet one the food was well cooked & plenty of it, however the choice was very limited roast or baked or fried Pork, Veal, Chicken & Fish every night .Salad choice although good was again repetitive & we were only there 4 nights. It was good for a short break but Im not sure I would have wanted to stay much longer.
I still love Riu Hotels & will try a few more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grocklePooleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel, we being 2 couples in our late 50's and early 60's. We arrived around 8pm, and we were checked in very quickly, and encouraged to go down for the evening meal. This was very welcome after several hours travelling! Once the check in had been completed we were given our keys, and room numbers, by then it was dark, and we did not get the full benefit of the view from our room, but it looked good. We then of course had to sample the alcohol, now I can not tell a lie, some of the local brands were not brilliant, but you get that everywhere, but what was impressive was that the post mix soft drinks were actually coke and coke zero , and tasted like them, it's not often that happens!!!!
As previous reviews have stated the staff are extremely friendly, and extremely cheerful, they work long hours in sometimes what you can only say is excruciating heat, with some cranky clients, but they are also so polite. The food was good, my friends husband is a chef, and he was impressed with the food, and we all enjoyed what we chose to eat each night. Personally I have to say that the pizza's were excellent, I have never had so much pizza in a week!!!
The rooms are huge, and were very clean, I must admit that I found the beds very hard, and it caused a back problem, but when my Husband informed reception, a mattress topper was immediately taken to the room, and put in place, and I must say was very comfortable. Reception phoned late afternoon the next day to enquire how I was, which was very nice.
Now come the niggles, firstly the pillows are rubbish, they only supply one per person, I did find a spare one in the wardrobe, but when asked, some further ones were supplied very quickly.
Next one was that on one particular evening, it was noticeable that the hotel was getting busier, we had returned to our rooms a little earlier, as my husband was not well, I was sat on the balcony reading, and suddenly the noise of some children screaming and shouting sounded, they were playing!! now I know they are on holiday just like my friends and I, but you can only wonder what the parents were doing to allow the children to be as loud at MIDNIGHT. I will say that this did not happen again, so I don't know whether the hotel staff intervened or whether the parents dealt with it, but it was pleasant to sit on the balcony in the late evening for the rest of the holidays.
I'm sorry to say that the next problem again involved children (please do not think I hate children, as I do not, and I actually have children of my own), but when you are bombarded by balls in the pool, whilst trying to swim, it can get annoying, as a) they actually hurt, but b) it was clear from signs that balls in the pool were not allowed, other than the organised games.
I have to agree with previous reviews, that the views and the sunsets were truly amazing, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as to whether we would return or not is debateable, as what truly let this hotel down was that on our last day, we had to vacate our rooms by 11am, no late check out rooms were available as the hotel was up to full capacity. We were not offered the use of the courtesy room, but that was ok, what made us angry was that the all inclusive package stopped at 11am, and they tried to charge 20 euros each extra, to have food an drink until we were transferred to the airport. Now we were not due to be collected until 5.45pm!, the reception staff were firm but polite, and asked if we had not been informed at our welcome meeting, my friend and I had actually attended this one, and could assure the staff that we had not been told, they agreed that they would waive the charge on this occasion. I have stayed in many all inclusive hotels, some with late pick ups, and we have always been entitled to food and drink until we leave. We certainly did not expect that.
Despite all these issues, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday, in beautiful surroundings, with friendly staff. I must mention the animation staff, they did a fantastic job encouraging people to join in the sports games, and I have never seen as many people join in the Aqua gym before!! They all had boundless energy, especially when it came to the shows in the evening!! As for the Grease show, it wasn't West End quality, but it was very entertaining. Well done to them!

Room Tip: Personally I would always request a pool or sea view. I don't think it made a difference as to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dorset2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two weeks 24th June- 8th July, all inclusive board.
-Short transfer time from Tenerife South Airport (roughly 25 mins)
-Swift check in - were told to go to dinner whilst paperwork was arranged and leave our cases in luggage room, when we returned to reception we filled out some paperwork and were given a map indicating where our room was, restaurants, pools and times for meals and activities.
-Our room- Collected cases from luggage room and went to our accommodation which was a 'family room', two bathrooms (one with just a toilet and sink), a lounge area with shabby furniture, pull out bed which was falling apart good job we didn't need to use it! Bedroom had two single beds pushed together on wheels, not a great combination with tiled flooring and a wobbly headboard and light fittings,the beds were uncomfortable - on the first night we cushioned them with the blankets from the wardrobes - two wardrobes but not many hangers, free safe which was useful for belongings, we asked for more pillows as only 1 per bed is provided, large balcony with one sun lounger (we asked for a second lounger but it wasn't provided even though we could see some balconies with two) and a table and two chairs. The view from our room (B824) was of the mountains and front of hotel (which mirrors a bus station practically 24 hours a day). Before unpacking we rang down to reception to ask for a room with a pool or sea view as when we booked the holiday (online) it said there were pool and sea view room available on request - which we had requested via email to the hotel. They told us it would be an extra 20 euros a night, which we declined because we didn't want to pay and made it clear. A couple of days later we received a letter under the door saying how we were able to receive a room change and that we should go to reception after breakfast for this to be sorted- no mention of money, when we did we were told to return to the desk around 12 as the customers hadn't yet checked out and the room needed cleaning- no mention of money for the room change. At 12 we were given the the key to room A330, beautiful views of the pool, sea and villas - more than we were expecting, we told the reception staff we liked the room, they asked if we would like any help with our packing and to return our 'old' room keys to them- still no mention of money. Once we had packed our cases only had the safe left to empty we were phoned from reception to be asked 'did anyone tell you the room change is an extra 180 euros?' by the only person we had spoken to about the room change. So after wasting half a day waiting to view a room, viewing the room, packing and then unpacking again our holiday had got off to a terrible start. After speaking to our rep (Babs) she had a word with the manager (Melissa) and she said she would do everything she could to find us a new room free of charge because of the mess around. She gave us the keys to room B501 which was shadowed by the whole of Block A and had the smallest sea view possible that wasn't visible from sitting down on the balcony chairs. After declining the room we were assured she would continue looking for rooms each day - we were never offered another room during the remaining 10 days of the holiday.
The restaurants were clean but lots of flies in the main restaurant and pigeons in the seafront restaurant. Food was very repetitive - always chips, pizzas and pastas, three live cooking stations at dinner one of which always served fish, a lot of the time it was pork, veal or chicken. The seafront restaurant is where we went for snack and pastries - not a lot of food all the same everyday but it is only snacks as specified. This is where the themed nights take place - we only attended the italian nights twice - same as the main restaurant -pizza, pasta, chips just with the addition of lasagne and a chicken dish.
-The poolside - two pools, both large sizes (one infinity), both had lots of missing tiles and were often dirty where the grout from in-between the tiles would float up - very off-putting. There is a rule that towels to reserve sun beds will be removed before 8am however this is rarely enforced of a morning - security guard hardly seen. Lots of people go down to the pool at 7am and after and stay with their beds until 8am, even when we reserved beds and parasols our parasol was taken by a Russian group of older adults who didn't even use it. The aqua gym at 12-12.30 was on daily and good fun but awkward when you had to partner up!
-Activities - aqua gym as mentioned above, bingo at 3pm most days was also a laugh, other than that entertainment was poor, the evening entertainment was awful - ended up in our room before 11pm most nights after playing numerous games of blackjack! We attended three shows in the hope they would be better - this was not the case, the staff couldn't even be bothered to learn the words to the songs they were miming, even though they sing the same songs every week. One show turned into a children's disco within minutes even though the staff were shouting 'show time' to adult groups and were sometimes dressed inappropriately for children. They aimed to please adults and children in one go which is not possible. The live singing was awful -you couldn't hear him singing and when you did it was cringeworthy.
-Guests - not very many english people, not many people with manners either! At weekends Spanish locals can use the hotel pool and bars - this made everything twice as busy, twice as loud and twice as rude - lots of children running riot with no regards for people in the pool - might be a good idea to book weekend excursions!
Excursions and rep - our Thomson/First Choice rep (Babs) was lovely, always helpful, friendly and chatty. We went on the freebird premium catamaran, the enjoyment was cut short with sea sickness (something we hadn't suffered with before) so it might be useful to take anti-sickness tablets before hand! The staff dealt with the situation brilliantly and we were able to enjoy some of the trip as we saw some bottle-nose whales. We also went to Los Cristianos market - was a good trip but we didn't need so much time there, luckily the coach was early for us to get on and everyone was back ready to get on the coach early!
-Check out - check out is 11am, be warned your wristbands get cut so no more all inclusive, you have to pay 30 euros per person for lunch, dinner and drinks. When your wristband is cut you are also unable to sit by or go in the pool so lots of hanging around if you have a late flight like we did, which wasn't a great way to end our holiday especially as we had arrived late on our first day of the holiday and so should have been entitled to lunch.
-The flights -we flew with Thomson airways were just over 4 hours - both landed earlier than the scheduled (4.5 hour flight), quite cramped but flying home the plane had extra seats so we were able to have a to to ourselves.
Overall we managed to enjoy our holiday after forcing ourselves to look at the positives and make the most of it for the price we payed however we would not return and probably will never stop in a Riu hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floored rooms, room A330 has stunning views. Room B824 has views of the mountains, pretty at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We came back Sunday 29th June....even tho its cloudy in the mornings its still very hot, you need to still cream up!.. then the sun burns the cloud out & lovely hot sunshine prevails till very late... Gorgeous Sunsets, dont miss them.. Hotel was AbFab.. a true 4 star hotel.. we had a family room looking over the pool near the sea end & it was glorious.. Huge lounge, Huge bedroom, both with patio doors going onto a Big balcony with table chairs & sunlounger..Huge bathroom with seperate shower, I even had a bath as it was like a new bathroom all round.. seperate toilet near front door too which is fab...lovely & quiet at night to sleep , apart from 2 days before we went home as Spanish moved in upstairs & clattered about... why do folk have to move furniture , beds, doors etc for ages...is beyond me...lol!...either way didnt spoil our hols.. 2 pools were lovely & warm enough to swim easily...Yup,,, the towel brigade are out early to claim their sunbeds altho you cant do that till 8am.. yes they sit & wait... hahaha.. made us laugh watching them from our balcony.. we claimed sunbeds all day ONCE!, as we like to explore & do trips.. DEFO do Mount Teide trip but we did just half day, thats long enough.. & Lora Park is incredible!!.. make sure you get all the shows out the way first as its a long day trudging about .. but just awesome all the animals they have plus the Sea life show...we went to relax as we work all year for this but theres plenty you can go see...The Staff were fab too, free water bottles at reception whenever you want...as it was hubbys birthday, a bottle of Cava plus glasses awaited us on return to our room.. Nice touch!,,,if your a photogragher like me theres so many great shots to see & take... i took over 300 shots in our week...i would easily go back but will look out for other Riu suite hotels in other Countries too as the calabre is excellent... there were Germans, Dutch, French & Russians plus of course Spanish too whos kids are off school from June due to the heat...Russians slightly rude but otherwise had no problems..Certain waiters there are fantastic & if you wait will get you a table personally plus serve you coffee etc if you wish, otherwise its help yourself which we like..we always got a table even tho sometimes rather packed.. depending what time you go & theres plenty of lee way...Altogether a fab hotel, food is plentiful & always hot...Yes some moaners say its repetitive but you dont have to have the same every time do you.. i varied mine every day , then i could try each thing i wanted too.. the pork & beef stews are yummy!!.. defo have them..the salads too are scrummy...desserts are similar but then Spanish deserts always are... not complaining.. we had a great time & WOULD go back... Babs the Forst Choice rep is great.. down to earth & lovely.. very helpful too.. & informative..Enjoy people!!

Room Tip: We asked for a high, quiet room & got a Family room (huge) 4th floor , overlooking the pool but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.2 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
3.3 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
8.5 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahia Principe Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Property: ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
Address: Horno 35 , Urb. Playa Paraiso, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dunas Paraiso)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Paraiso * 9-storey main building and villas * On the seafront * 10 km from Costa Adeje * Complimentary hotel bus to Playa de las Americas * 500 m from various shops * 30 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Adeje
Dunas Paraiso Tenerife
Dunas Paraiso Hotel Tenerife
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Hotel
Hotel Dunas Paraiso
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista Tenerife/Playa Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing