We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in quiet resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay with my husband and 3 children (7, 5, 2) upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite instead of the two separate rooms we had booked so we could all be together - a fabulous start. The rooms are lovely and clean with large bedrooms, a sitting area and large balconies. The whole hotel is kept very clean and the staff work very hard to help whenever they can. All were fabulous with the kids. The food isn't great, the same stuff every day but there was plenty to chose from and it was on tap all day so no one went hungry - even if it meant the kids had chips every day!

The pools are big but you needed to get up early to get a sunbed, quite annoying but no different to any other hotel we've stayed at in the height of the season. The hotel is in a very quiet area but we didn't really mind that as we wanted to relax with the family for a week. We had a day out to Playa la Vista beach which was beautiful white sand and worth the trip. We also had a day on the catermeran to see the dolphins and whales - again a fabulous day out.

We had a fantastic stay and can't praise the staff highly enough. We checked out at 11am and weren't picked up until 6pm, we didn't have a room but we were able to keep our bands on and use the facilities all day. We just got changed in the massive toilets and that was fine for us. We had a great stay and a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We were in block A with sea views, couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 3,276 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We holidayed here as a young family of four in June. We arrived around 9:30-10pm and upon check in our bags and passports were kept while they arrange paperwork and we were shown to the restaurant downstairs which they keep open for late arrivals. This was great for us as we had a toddler and baby it meant we could eat something while the children were safe with us.

We requested a family room and we weren't disappointed. The room is huge with a fridge in the living area, a separate toilet room and a bedroom with attached bathroom. The travel cot and spare bed were made for our arrival, just fantastic. We changed the Z bed and made up the sofa for out toddler instead, I just have visions of it collapsing as she's probably too small for that. It looked sturdy enough though so don't be put off for an adult using it.

The only problem we had was the flies, they were everywhere. We went to the theme restaurant one night and they were all over the food on display, we didn't stay long and headed back to the main restaurant. We gave it another go twice during our two week stay and it was better, I heard, or read on here perhaps, it's something to do with the spray used on nearby banana plants?

Anyway, we celebrated a special occasion here and I asked our waiter (Rayco) for two glasses of Prosecco at breakfast, this was no problem at all and he often brought some over at other times too. We felt really spoilt which was lovely. He would look out for us coming in and would often keep us a table - we needed a high chair and space for pushchair, again, never a problem.

Food was a but repetitive but we always found something we like. People just need to try new things. Our toddler always ate well too. Self service wine, beer and soft drinks are great. It would be nice, to be able to have coffee there after a meal though (it's only available at breakfast), especially during the lunch when they would have mini cakes/pastries out, or perhaps have a place set up in the huge lounge area for pastries next to the coffee machine there?

Other reviewers are right about the percentage of holiday makers there being Spanish, German, Dutch etc, but that didn't bother us. It meant there were no loud loutish Brits dive bombing into the pool. We did meet some fellow Brits there with young children too so it was nice.

On an evening we would get some drinks and a tray from the bar and take back to our roommate enjoy on balcony. Not sure if we were allowed to do this but it meant we could relax and unwind when our children were sleeping safely in the next room.

This was our second visit and we'd go again. We don't have low expectations but aren't high maintenance by any means and we enjoyed it.

Free bottled water from reception, just ask. All staff were great with our children and we couldn't fault the service.

One thing though, there doesn't seem to be late check out. Slightly annoying as flights to UK are late evening with late pick up and you have to be out your room early. It's tough going when you've got young ones who need naps or places to sterilise bottles etc. We did have a shower room for 30mins but was about 4 hours before pick up.

All in all though, like I said, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheTravellingBakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Where do i start.??? Just spent two weeks in one of the most secluded hotels i have ever stayed in.
Lets start with the good points;
Transfer was short,just under an hour
Check-in was easy.We just handed our passports over and came back later when everything had been sorted
Beach towels were free and you could change them as often as you liked
Rooms were clean and spacious with two toilets and a large balcony overlooking the sea. Room A224
Reception staff were very helpful when we needed to find a place or book a taxi
Outside dining area and themed restaurant were quite nice with themed restaurant having a nice view of the sea while you eat
Daytime entertainment team were very good and they worked hard to entertain tourists
Maid service was excellent and very discreet and worked around tourists

Bad points;
When we arrived we checked in and walked down to the lounge area which can only be described as dated,dingy,dark and gloomy looking even though two sides of the lounge area consisted of massive glass windows panes.Even during the day, it was dark and oppressive. People were just sat around looking bored and miserable. It reminded me of an old fashioned 80's airport lounge where you sit around waiting for a delayed flight to take you home. Nothing to do at all, no pool tables,no kids games,no shops only a couple of shops in reception area which charge top dollar for a chocolate bar or a pack of crisps. One toilet in the far corner so if thats busy you have to walk down the hill to the pool toilets. The only entertainment was a television on mute in the far corner and a spanish couple singing songs we couldn't even recognise because they sang that much out of tune and someone who worked there kept going up to them and gesturing with their hands to basically turn it down so people could hardly hear them anyway especially if you were sat further away. It was just basically background noise and not entertainment. The only entertainment was in a cave(salon bar) and it lasted from 21.45 to 22.45 and that was mostly done by the entertainment team which praise to them, they tried hard, then the night was over in a nutshell unless you were prepared to pay 40 euros to go into playa de las americas because thats how much a taxi there and back was. You could walk round the corner to playa paraiso which basically consists of undeveloped waste ground and what looks like a sewerage plant and an unbuilt hotel which was derelict and looked like it hadn't been touched in years,a couple of English bars which wern't very busy but we went there several times just to escape the monotomy of the hotel.

The dining room was chaotic if you went in at the wrong time and even more dingier even though the lighting was bright. The selection of food was ok on the first day but what we didn't realise was that we would have to eat the exact same food everyday for the next two weeks!!! No menu change,no variation. The choice was cardboard thin crust pizza,pasta,pork,chicken'veal(sometimes so dry you couldn't swallow it)fish,the usual veg,rice usually cooked in garlic and a salad bar which consisted of eggs in a bland sauce and a variety of pickled veg. We actually got to the point where we dreaded meal times and craved for a burger and just something different. When you sat down at your table the waiters wouldn't serve you water unless you sat down at a table which had been re-set,if you just got your food first and walked to a table that was empty you didn't get water unless you asked for it which was very strange.We sat at the outside dining area every night because the dining room inside was just too chaotic and stressful.

When we checked in we realised that we didn't actually have rooms together but that was ok until i realised that my 21 year old and 12 year old sons would be not one,not two, but three doors and a utility door down from us at the other end of the corridor.So to keep check on them i had to use the internal phone system to call their room if we needed to communicate.with them It was either that or walk up and down the corridor all the time.

The sunbeds wern't really a problem but you had to be up at 7.30 sharp to get a sun canopy if you wanted shade and then you wern't guranteed one because twice we had ours taken out of it's base by someone who obviously got up a little too late and thought they would just rudely take someones elses who had gone to the trouble of setting their alarm to get one in the first place. The pool area was really busy and you were packed together like sardines in a can.in fact the hotel was really busy most of the time.

To sum this hotel up i would say if you like noise,nothing to do but read,lots and lots of people,repetitive food,early nights and being cut off from civilisation then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you book two rooms together don't bank on them being together. Ours were three doors and a ut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Positive:
-Very nice employers specially at the restaurants/bars
-Some drinks not bad for an all-in hotel: mojito, beer, cava
-In general the food was good for an all-in hotel
-The price we paid for the week

Negative:
-Extremely noisy rooms (a ping pong table just across the door...)
-Awfull pillows and bed
-Shower water with changing temperature all the time
-Very very poor night animation
-Paid and expensive internet, not even the wired was free
-We were there in the last week of July and first days of August. For our surprise there was a complete change in the day's animation (many more activities) since the start of August which doesnt make any sense...
-All the pools have lots of small children (many of them dont control their sphincters...), although there is a specific one for them but noone controls it...
-The small near beach is beautiful but not not very clean
-Pool chairs all taken with towels by 9am (but noone there)

The worst:
-One of our worst experiences after check-out... Check out at 11 am and flght at 23 pm ... You have to pay an extra 30-40 euros fee if you want to have meals during that day, since they cut off your wrist bracelete... we refuse it and after that we went to the pool (as we were told we could use it the rest of the day until our courtesy room for shower was ready by the end of the afternoon) ... it happened thar the security guy, in an agressive way, like we were bandits, lead us to the reception for us to get identified since we didnt have the wrist bracelete!!! No excuses from the hotel director, nothing, just total lack of professionalism...RIU, RIU, something in that system has to be changed...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Biajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotel: Nice, quiet location. Very clean. Staff extremely welcoming and friendly. Looks appealing when approaching and is. We arrived about 2pm. Reception staff put our 'all inclusive' bands on our wrists - took our passports and said to go and help ourselves to food and drink in the buffet restaurant. Bags were left in the baggage room whilst we did this and staff sorted our rooms. Resort is small. You need to book for the hotel not the resort.

Rooms: We had 3 rooms in block C looking out on a partial sea view and the little beach area. Rooms were large and clean. As you entered the room, you had a sitting area with a separate toilet area, fridge, glasses, little kitchenette area, TV, with patio doors leading to the balcony. The bedroom lead from the sitting area. Twin beds - bedding changed whenever you leave the card on the bed - ample room for suitcases, wardrobes (safe in here) and patio doors leading to the large balcony. The main bathroom was large with a shower, bath, large mirror, hair dryer. Towels are changed whenever you leave them on the floor. We were so glad we did not have a room overlooking the pools. The were so noisy and gave no privacy.

Pool: Lovely pools BUT so busy. Unless you go to the pool extremely early and sit there until 8am you most probably will not get a sunbed. If you just leave your towel on the bed before this time it will be removed. And they do get removed! The day we did get a couple of beds we were amazed to see that half the beds were not actually being used - folk put the towels on them and went out for the day, coming back about 4is for a swim! Also parents saving beds for children that never even sat on them! Such a shame for other folk. Beach Towels can be changed as many times as you wish. The pool was open until 8pm. I was speaking to a Spanish family that told me locals can use the hotel at weekends. Her family had come as a treat, paying for an 'all inclusive' band. They can pay daily and stop all day. This was why the hotel got really busy on Saturday and Sunday. There is a lovely lido a short 15 mins walk away that was never busy when we walked by, family of 4 was 24 Euros for the day. Ample toilets around the pool area.

Restaurant: 2 restaurants, both buffet for every meal. The smaller restaurant is down near the rocks/sea. You need to reserve a table for the evening but it is included in the 'all inclusive'. It never got busy and there were 2 sittings, 7pm and 9pm.
The main restaurant opened 8-10.30 for breakfast. 1-3 for lunch and 7-10 for dinner. Food choice is impressive. It's not Michelin star but there is a variety of what seemed like everything each day. I'm a vegetarian and I was very well catered for. Fussy eaters and kids will not need to complain! Hots meals, salads, specials, desserts each time. We were only there a week but did NOT find the food repetitive. Snacks can be had throughout the day also, at the smaller restaurant.

Bars: Ample bars scattered throughout the hotel. Help yourself to: coffees, teas, soft drinks, water, lager, lemon tea etc. ask at the bar for cocktails, Cava, Prosecco etc. The bar staff will give you an unopened bottle of Prosecco if you say it is for the room. The children loved helping themselves. The Chocolate cream drink was extremely popular and with brandy added for us over 18's - yum! You can also ask for nuts over the bar whenever you fancy a nibble.

Bits: WiFi 20 euros for the week, this can only be used in certain areas of the hotel. There are also ample computer terminals available for checking emails etc. 1 Euro for 16 mins. Water can be obtained free from Reception. We had about 4/6 bottles daily and put them in the room fridge.

Trips: Went with Thomson/First Choice - our first package holiday. For many a year. The rep was Babs. Lovely, mature rep. Knows what she is talking about. We decided to go to the 15 minutes meeting the morning after arrival and glad we did. We only booked one trip with Babs as they are not cheap. 6 of us went on the VIP Freebird catamaran trip. Half a day and it came to 336 Euros. But worth every penny. Fabulous morning. Maximum of 50 adults (13 year old was classed as an adult), inclusive meals and drinks. Saw lots of Pilot Whales and Dolphins. Sat on the nets at the front and enjoyed it immensely. The teenagers in the party took themselves off to Siam Park, water park. Approximately £35 each, they only had 4 rides as the queues were so long with average waiting times of 1 hour per ride!!!!!! Glad I did not go there!!

Entertainment: Ummmmmmm.

Overall: Good package holiday for families. Couples I would say would get bored.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Tweekie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

A 5 night stay this time and again we were made to feel really welcome.

Upgraded to the villa's, which made commuting to and from even better.

My 3 year old daughter loved the small pool/slide and the entertainment at the evening.

The resort beach is disappointing, but we knew this before hand.

Out and about, a nice stroll around the resort, but never sampled any of the bars or restaurants.

Free bus into Americas is handy. My taxi back was €17. Not sure why other people are paying more.

Staff amazingly friendly and helpful, even gave my girlfriend a bottle of champagne for her birthday.

All in all, a great break away.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILF6623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just arrived back from a week at hotel, had a fantastic 2 bedroom suite overlooking the sea, the food was great as well as most of evening entertainment, the only downside is really that the sunbeds are taken from 8 oclock in the morning, it was very very busy around the pool, but it is August and school holidays, Brits are in a minority mainly Spanish when we were there.

The beach is ok but needs to have sunbeds on to make it more appealing, and as most have said alittle way out from anything, but on the whole a good holiday.

Room Tip: suggest to have a villa near the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stally5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Tenerife
0.2 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 2 in Playa de la Arena
2,354 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Address: Horno 35 , Urb. Playa Paraiso, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dunas Paraiso)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: £105 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Buenavista, is located directly on the seafront with a splendid view of neighboring island, La Gomera. The hotel is situated 500m from the sandy beach Playa de Las Galgas the south western coast of Tenerife and approx. 27 km from Tenerife South Airport Reina Sofia (TFS). 3 times a day there is complimentary hotel bus to Costa Adeje and Playa de las Americas (limited places). The hotel features 9-storey building with 10 lifts and 5 villas, a total of 509 rooms, 2 swimming pools. With the RiuArt workshop, have fun expressing your more creative side; with RiuFit, practise sports in the hotel facilities; and the little ones will be entertained all day long thanks to the RiuLand Kid's Club in the children's pool and playground. For relaxation, we offer wellness center where you can visit the beauty salon. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a wide variety of flavours for you to experience the best international, Canarian, and Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Atrapalo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Adeje
Dunas Paraiso Tenerife
Dunas Paraiso Hotel Tenerife
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Hotel
Hotel Dunas Paraiso
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista Tenerife/Playa Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing