We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Navigator
Nearby Hotels
US$117
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
103
92
49
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
92
49
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunction roomnautical themejolly sailorincluded in the room ratefull englishpuddingcooked breakfastpub grubmain buildingcruise from southamptonsunday lunchroad noiseplenty of parkingan evening mealvery pleasant staybreakfast was excellentan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Normally when visiting family in this area we stay in the Holiday Inn but they were fully booked so I started looking at what else was available and this place came up.

I agree with other comments that the pub is lovely and has a very modern, clean feel. The rooms are presentable and clean. We were staying in one of the rooms above the pub and our bathroom had not been updated it was quite basic and the shower was very poor.

We checked in on a Saturday and were told a wedding function was taking place below us, this maybe would of been nice to know at the point we were booking it. Fortunately in the end this did not affect us (as other reviewers mentioned) as it was nearly over once we returned.

Overall nice setting but I think at £85.00 per night plus an additional £10.00 per person for breakfast is a bit steep for what you get. That said the staff in the pub are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymooners014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at the Navigator for one night and it wasn't a good experience. The room was extremely noisy. We were in one of the upstairs rooms above the bar and it was like being in the middle of a nightclub - no sound proofing whatsoever. There was also an air conditioning unit right outside the window which made the noise (and the heat) even worse. Traffic noise from the main road is also pretty bad.

We complained (the manager was not apologetic and basically thought we should just put up with it) and received free breakfast but still didn't make up for the fact that we weren't forewarned about being in a room where it was basically impossible to sleep until midnight when the bar shut and everyone had left.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at the Navigator for two nights and although the room was clean and nicely decorated it was very hot. No fans available. Had to have the window open and so the traffic was very loud. There was an issue with the blind keep falling down on both nights, although we did bring this to the attention of the staff on the first night and nothing was done. A little disappointing and with a little more attention to detail this would make the venue a lovely place to stay. The staff are friendly but seemed a little hesitant to make a decision and deal with the issues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

In a lovely setting if you are a boater (like me). Nicely redecorated since my last visit and tastefully done. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Tea and coffee in your room. Then all these boats on your doorstep! Also handy for the train - a short journey into central Southampton.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We dined with a couple of friends on a Friday night. The restaurant was well filled and rather noisy. I started with 'white Hampshire crabmeat, slow cooked duck egg, peas, samphire and celery shoots.' This was attractively presented with the crabmeat on top of the samphire and arranged in a circle around the 24-hour-cooked duck egg. Although the latter item may be a gourmet item, it did not taste particularly interesting. It was still very runny when pierced and acted more as a sauce for the crabmeat. I was happy to be offered a slice of my wife's parsley toast (accompanying her red pepper and tomato gazpacho) as an aid to eating the duck egg. So, an interesting experience but not a particularly tasty dish. Our friends were happy with their crispy pork belly, caramelised apricots, toasted peanuts and coriander.

For the main course three of us had the fish special, a whole plaice cooked in butter with new potatoes. What a great choice this was! Absolutely huge fish, unbelievably fresh (bought from the fish hut just off the A27 only around 100 yards away... we buy fish and prawns there quite often). It was perfectly cooked and the best piece of fish that I have enjoyed for many a year. Very memorable.

I should say that the service, provided by two young and enthusiastic waitresses, was admirable. They were happy to assist with two special requests and enhanced our dining experience considerably. With the meal we enjoyed a real ale from Basingstoke, available in three different strengths. Our total bill was £110 for two courses each and a few beers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews