We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small & basic single rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Navigator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Navigator
Ranked #1 of 2 Swanwick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“small & basic single rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

As other reviews it could be really good but single rooms are Very small and noisy. Lacking some basics like a lamp. Needs a refresh and some creativity to make use of the space and be comfortable. Bar and restaurant stylish but pricey and limited menu.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zebroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    41
    31
    18
See reviews for
61
86
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The drinks are extortionate I mean ridiculous prices, food is nice ham sandwich 6 quid which was worth every penny. Its all fresh prepared, well as much as a pub can be if u get something weird and wonderful u pay through the nose for something 3 mouthfuls big so best just get a sandwich unless u want to pay for air. staff are quite rude and need discipline behind the bar. Talking instead of serving. Maybe a decent bar manager would help. I personally would go elsewhere. or though the décor is nice inside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swanwick hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Plus Points,
Easy to find, good parking,exceptional food,bright,airy bar and restaurant,good selection of beers and wine,free wi-fi, staff helpful and cheerful
In Short, " Front of House" really very good indeed
However......
Accepting i booked a single room (Room 7)i had the impression this room was modified cupboard!
However,as stated i did book a single,and Room 7 is exactly that,albeit one the smallest i have encountered.
I am keen to point out there is no problem with the bed or the Bathroom,(though the Shaving Light was not working,this was reported and needed an electrician,so hopefully this has been rectified)
But,two Major Issues,which appear to be connected

Apparently the Chalet Block has been having problems with Hot Water(which i can confirm as i has to shower in cold water,and needed to use the Kettle to heat water in order to Shave)
Secondly,as a result of the Hot Water tank being located in a Cupboard within Room 7 it seems the Plumber who was trying to solve the Hot Water issue decided to use the Towels within to do his "Mopping Up". Unfortunately he omitted to inform anyone of this fact which left me with NO towels at all on wither of of my 2 night stay!!(Towels quickly delivered when pointed out i hasten to add)
Overall, i really do hope the Management get these issues dealt with as i am sure this Hotel could be a gem,one to which i would not hesitate to return(just not in Room 7!)

Room Tip: Avoid Room 7!(Particularly if you're Claustrophobic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here as it was close to the Ageas Bowl where we were seeing Australia vs England in a one day international.
The rooms were clean and attractive, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern.
The staff were a little unorganised but I wouldn't let this stop me from staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsn_petal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Bar staff were to busy chatting not serving. The glasses were filthy, there was lipstick on 3 of them before they found one remotely clean. They just need to keep an eye on the small details.

Otherwise not bad but can improve.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crewegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed on two separate nights during the boatshow. First night was in a single chalet outside, a bit pokey but okay for one night. Couldn't find a mirror other than a small one over sink. On the second evening I was given a free upgrade to a premier room although there was nothing special about it.
This night was a Saturday night and there was a function on below and outside my room. So no chance of sleep before midnight. The revellers carried on till about 12.30am. Followed by half an hour furniture dragging by the staff.
I was awakened Sun morning at 7am by the cleaners again dragging furniture around below!!

Neither my colleague (in another room) nor myself could get hot water from the showers.

On both mornings the breakfast service was slow even though it wasn`t busy and on both occasions they got my order wrong.

Most of the staff (but not all) were very pleasant and apologetic.

They need to concentrate on getting the basics right, I wont be rushing back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overnyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner was interviewing for an air traffic control job down in Southampton. We booked a one night stay here when the hotel was just 6 days old. The service was great. We were promptly checked in and shown to our room. The room was very well decorated and very clean. The bed has been the most comfiest hotel bed I've ever stayed in! The food we had at lunch the following day was of very high standard. It was fine dining as far as I am concerned. The restaurant staff were newly trained, but still trained nonetheless. As I was alone waiting for my partner I was made to feel comfortable whilst waiting in the hotel lobby. I was made free cappuccino's and talked to by the staff. It was great! Would definitely come here again if I return to the Southampton area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon-Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanwick
2.2 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
5.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Navigator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Navigator

Property: The Navigator
Address: 286 Bridge Road, Swanwick SO31 7EB, England (Formerly The Spinnaker)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Swanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Navigator 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Navigator Inn sits in a prime position opposite Swanwick Marina on the scenic River Hamble just outside Southampton. The nautical-inspired interior extends into the 23 individually designed modern bedrooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, en-suite bathroom, flat-screen TV and tea/coffee facilities. The Navigator's traditional cooked breakfasts will more than whet the appetite as will the pub's hugely popular seasonal lunch and dinner menus carefully created using locally sourced produce. A superb selection of real ales from nearby Upham Brewery are on offer alongside a fine choice of wines and champagnes. The Navigator couldn't be more accessible and is perfect for families, tourists and business travellers. The pub's 'Chart Room' can accommodate 48 seated guests and proves hugely popular for weddings and business meetings. Just a 20-minute drive from Southampton, 15 minutes from Southampton Airport and 2 miles from the M27 motorway, the pub also offers extensive free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Navigator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spinnaker Hotel Swanwick
The Navigator Swanwick, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing