We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but noisy neighbour made it a nightmare”
Review of The Navigator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Navigator
Ranked #1 of 2 Swanwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I arrived after 9 at night with the intention of getting a good nights sleep. However someone shouting as they ran past my room woke me at about 11. The person in the next room then came in and is still watching his TV at 1.15 which I can hear clearly. Its either on loud or the walls are thin. I should have gone to Premier Inn or Travelodge. Never staying here ever again and you won't either if you have any sense. Traffic on A27 is audible but not as bad as that TV.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Navigator has recently had a new manager and after a few really disappointing meals here in the past we thought we'd give it another try as we are local.
We went for Sunday Lunch,2 courses for £18. Probably the best roast beef I've had and my husbands fish and chips looked fab, generous portions and a lovely selection of veg. Desserts were also yummy. I was assured by the new manager that the drinks prices are being looked into as £8 for a glass of Shiraz is silly.
All in all a great improvement and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Caz740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I've visited The Navigator on several occasions and it never fails to impress myself and my friends. The high quality of service and food is fantastic. Last week I came with my partner for lunch and I had the Pot of smoked prawns for start and the Sea bass fillet for main, both beautifully presented and tasted delicious. My partner had the soup of the day for starter and the almighty beef burger for main course. Both dishes have left our taste buds tingling and we most definitely will be back.

The staff were also great, such a well mannered and courteous team. Their warm welcoming certainly makes you feel at home.
Oh - And definitely treat yourself to one of their Sunday roasts, Incredible!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danishbackpacker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have eaten here a couple of times at lunchtime - just a sandwich - and was very impressed. However, I decided to eat an evening meal and was very disappointed: the food was undercooked, bland and very poor value for money, as was the Shiraz which was pleasant, but turned out to be £8.00 for each 'large' glass.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Spitwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I recently visited The Navigator for an evening meal after a particularly bad day. It was a Sunday evening and was quiet but the staff were friendly and welcoming and put myself and my partner in the restaurant without hestiation. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was lovely! My partner is a chef and it can be difficult to go somewhere for a meal without criticising the food, but there were no complaints..! I had mussels to start which weren't actually on the menu as a starter but were made up for me as a half portion upon request, followed by the fish of the day which was cooked perfectly. For dessert, my partner and I shared the rice pudding and grilled peaches. The peaches lacked a little depth, but the rice pudding more than made up for them. My partner had rabbit terrine, followed by the braised beef with horseradish dumplings which I of course tried - delicious! I highly reccomend this as the interior, service and food are all excellent. The meal turned my day right around and I would most definitely eat here again. If you are a genuine 'foodie' you will enjoy your meal here guaranteed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 1990anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago with my husband and I must admit having read reviews AFTER booking I was apprehensive to say the least. I was however completely shocked this hotel is refined and stylish the staff could not do enough for us and the hearty dinner and breakfasts we enjoyed were both of restaurant standard.
The only down side to our entire stay was other guests arguing outside during the night. This however did not mar my view of the establishment as people will be people.

I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilybrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

As other reviews it could be really good but single rooms are Very small and noisy. Lacking some basics like a lamp. Needs a refresh and some creativity to make use of the space and be comfortable. Bar and restaurant stylish but pricey and limited menu.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Zebroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Navigator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Navigator

Address: 286 Bridge Road, Swanwick SO31 7EB, England (Formerly The Spinnaker)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Swanwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanwick
Price Range: £74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Navigator 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Navigator Inn sits in a prime position opposite Swanwick Marina on the scenic River Hamble just outside Southampton. The nautical-inspired interior extends into the 23 individually designed modern bedrooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, en-suite bathroom, flat-screen TV and tea/coffee facilities. The Navigator's traditional cooked breakfasts will more than whet the appetite as will the pub's hugely popular seasonal lunch and dinner menus carefully created using locally sourced produce. A superb selection of real ales from nearby Upham Brewery are on offer alongside a fine choice of wines and champagnes. The Navigator couldn't be more accessible and is perfect for families, tourists and business travellers. The pub's 'Chart Room' can accommodate 48 seated guests and proves hugely popular for weddings and business meetings. Just a 20-minute drive from Southampton, 15 minutes from Southampton Airport and 2 miles from the M27 motorway, the pub also offers extensive free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Navigator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spinnaker Hotel Swanwick
The Navigator Swanwick, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing