We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf, ok accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bay
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great golf, ok accommodation”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We purchased a play and stay at a great rate last minute. Very impressed with the golf course. The resort is undergoing renovations which are needed. Our room was clean and we had no problems with it. The only problem was when we went down to dinner at 7pm and the chef left for the night, reception told us they assumed no one warned supper. The place was almost empty - maybe 3 rooms booked. We had to drive 30mins to the nearest town for supper. Bras d'Or lake is beautiful and I hope this resort does well once the renos are complete. It has so much potential .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    29
    35
    28
    10
See reviews for
34
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

yes the resort is tired. major multimillion dollar reno required.But the food is pretty good and the golf is really good. The course is a blast with a few exceptionally hard holes. Would highly recommend if you are into golf. Otherwise best to move on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_minimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Attended a function at this Resort. Have a bag of mixed reviews/feelings about this place. First of all GREAT LOCATION. Beautiful view of the water. Very quiet and relaxing. If your a golfer you will enjoy the golf course and club house. Also, think that the place just opened up for the season. First of all, there is no fridge in the room. Was a little surprised by this. I thought every hotel/motel/resort would have this. Everyone at our function had bought fruit/veggie/meat trays for snacks. The carpets were dirty. Some rooms had wood/laminate floors. Rooms smelled musty (I happened to have bought a scented candle). One room had an old cigar on the deck. We had paid a set fee for our weekend and at our first breakfast there was no juice served. When we asked about it we were told there was budget cutbacks. We asked for brown sugar for the porridge. Again budget cutbacks. The second morning the nice red headed lady told us there must have been a misunderstanding and yes we got our juice and brown sugar. This may not seem like much but if you don't drink coffee or tea this could be an issue. This all being said this place has the best steeped tea I have ever had at a restaurant. Good place for a retreat/meetings though. ALSO note that you have to really be watching for signage for this place. One group took 3 hours to get there when they only lived 1 hour away. Signage is off the road and if you miss it your screwed. One other thing someone mentioned is the word Resort usually means there is a spa on site but we didn't see anything indication of one. Might be a bonus if there was one for people who don't golf. This all being said I really enjoyed my time here and was able to relax, Wifi isn't good at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheishaburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here 2 years ago after one of the Celtic Colours concerts. Didn't eat here so I have no idea what there food is like. But after the concert there was a session in the pub. My sister and I really enjoyed it. Was a highlight of the trip for us. I was with my gf & sister room was fine for our needs no complaints at all. Would have loved to have gotten there earlier to enjoy the grounds and lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This resort is run down. We had a 2 bedroom cottage which was plenty big and had everything we needed. We were lucky to have a renovated bathroom. The kids bedroom had a horrible smell. Very musty!!!
The kids loved it there. We used the recreation area on the Lake. The canoes and kayaks were a big hit. Then we would move on to the indoor pool, and in the evenings would head down to the bonfire. Sadly, the outdoor pool was being fixed and we were not told this upon booking.
We played a round of 9 hole golf. Views were beautiful.
Make sure you get your groceries or whatever things you need before you get there as the closet town is about 25 - 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any renovated rooms or cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadagirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

To start with me and my family purchased the all inclusive package 2 nights stay unlimited golf with carts and meals. I'm not really sure where to start with this review but you should keep reading if you are an above average golfer (10 handicap for myself) looking to go to basically just golf. This was our second visit to the resort this time we brought more family who all golf. The course layout is very fun there are a lot of easy short holes but some other challenging holes as well. When we were there tho they had obviously had a lot of rain the greens were very water logged and weren't mown the entire time we were there making them even more slow. For some reason the greens never dried up even after 3 days and 5 of the greens were aerated making putting basically impossible. With only paying the 250 dollars its not a bad deal we ended up playing 72 holes in 3 days but if there was actually anything else to do we would have probably done some other things as well, We actually tried to play tennis and they said they had no tennis balls that's really poor and basically just laughable. Everything in the hotel is out dated especially the tvs but we really didnt spend a lot if time in the rooms. The food was actually very good but the service was really slow over 2 hours for supper! The staff was mostly very nice but the lady who takes care of the carts was extremely rude she actually yelled at one of us because we asked to take a cart to take some pictures. we had the unlimited golf so we had the use of carts anyway and there was basically no one on the course at 8 o'clock. The worst thing that happened on our trip was that our room actually had a propane leak from the propane fireplace and the manager sent two workers up attempt to fix it and were told to try and light the pilot light when there was a propane leak luckily my uncle was a deputy fire chief and talked them out of it he convinced them to SHUT the main propane switch off before working on it. This could have been an horrific accident and when we tried to talk to the manager she refused to talk to us we are trying to go over her head so a professional can go ases the situation so no one will be in danger. This story is probably hard to believe but i'm being 100% serious. Anyway after reading this you can obviously assume I would not recommend this place pay some more money and go somewhere better. The list could go on about the problems .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nrich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Bay hotels

Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

we stayed at the Dundee this past July and were highly disappointed. The meals were awful even if they were included in the package. The steak was so gristly I only ate 1/4 of it, the potatoes were so hard you could not cut them and tasted burnt. My husband noticed someone at the table behind us hitting his potatoes and pouring pepper on it to mask the bad taste and giving up. The young ladies who were "serving" us spent most of the evening ignoring us and I had to chase one down to get our dessert and bill, even then when "our" waitress was away from the front desk the other young lady would not take my husbands money for his drink as she was "not our waitress" and he had to wait for our server to come back.

We had a better meal in the little town next to Dundee and in Port Hawksbury we had a proper Thai meal not the white rice with a few green peppers on it and a mild sauce that Dundee passed off at Thai stir fry.

The room was nothing to write home about. Small with an old fashion tube TV which was awkward to watch from the two seater couch. It was on a small table that could not be turned for the two of us to watch comfortably and barely got any channels anyway. Only a small ceiling fan in the one "living" room. There was no internet except in the hallway on the way to the dinning room. The outdoor pool was closed. The "gym" was just painted and reeked of the smell of paint and you couldn't open a window or door to air it out..so I gave up after 10 minutes.
The deck and chairs on our cottage were all peeling of paint and something that look like black mold was on the walls of the outside of the unit. The laundry room didn't work as my husband put in four dollars to find out the dryer didn't dry so we had to hang our laundry including my undies on the rail of the cottage.
Room staff did not leave us any coffee for our next day and had to go get it from the receptionist at the front desk, the only person who as a proper resort worker other than Kathy the waitress we had the first night.

My husband enjoyed his golf games said course was nice but we will never go back there again. We had better cleaner brighter accommodations at a little motel in Kentsville called Adams, and the breakfast was better then any thing the Dundee serviced.

They need a new cook badly. We had spoken to someone who use to work there and they said they had gone thought a couple of them and had laid off staff...and it showed!!!!!

The only good part was the young people at the boat house..we went kayaking and paddle boating. There was no other entertainment at this so called resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
14.3 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Peter's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
14.7 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Groundswell
The Groundswell
#1 of 1 in D'Escousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
16.2 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#3 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Resort & Golf Club

Property: Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Address: 2750 West Bay Rd | R.R.#2, West Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 3K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundee Resort & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dundee Resort and Golf Club is located on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia only 30 minutes from the Canso Causeway. Dundee is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax, enjoy a game of golf, let the kids have fun at the adventure centre and join the scheduled children's activities with the recreation staff. Dundee has a full service restaurant and clubhouse serving fabulous food. Our 18 hole golf course offers amazing views of the Bra d'Or Lake and surrounding vista. The Lakeside Activity centre has canoes, kayaks, paddle boards and paddle boats, as well as a water trampoline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dundee Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Resort And Golf Club
Dundee Resort & Golf Club Hotel Cape Breton Island
Dundee Hotel Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing