We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Les Cretes
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
12
38
16
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
38
16
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake genevafull kitchentrain stationremote locationhair pin bendsswimming poolski resorthalf hourwi fiseveral dayslocal supermarketalmost hourssmall towna small grocery storeend of the daycar hireresidence les
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a 4 bed apartment at the tail end of summer. The location is on top of a mountain overlooking Aigle, Switzerland (the closest major town). This means that if you don't hire a car (very expensive) it's still going to cost you an arm and a leg to get to the residence (CHF 11 pp one way) regardless; via a 40min bus ride (bus 142 from Aigle station). Other than that it is a very nice place to stay. There is a tourism centre and small market just 100m up the road. Of which have odd opening times and the market has very limited supply of foods (p.s. expensive but very convenient). However the (very nice) Italian lady working there was willing to order things up from Aigle. 1 piece of advice, stock up on food supplies from Aigle before you venture up the mountain. The facilities at the residence are perfect; laundry, full kitchen with accessories, TV, Ensuite and internet (WIFI), swimming pool, billiards, spa, table tennis, and games all in the lobby (no WIFI in rooms). There are a couple of restaurants around this location as well in a pinch. During winter I could imagine this being a very nice place to stay, the view is amazing and there's a ski lift just up the road. All of the staff are very welcoming and accommodating (english speaking) with the exception of the female owner (she is a heartless cow with too many agendas and prejudices). She treated us like children, despite being 4 worldly, well dressed and well educated 23yrs olds. At 2 different instances, she influenced the other incredible staff to treat us with mild disrespect (from there body language they weren't comfortable with her). Word of warning, if you want to drink water in the lobby (which is every humans right) she will have none of it because it influences her profits from the bar (???) which has its own cornered off area in which we weren't sitting... Anyway, the rest of our stay was lovely. Very relaxing and with plenty to do regardless of the remote location. We scored our room at a reduced rate because of frequent flyer points; costing us $75 AUD plus CHF 22 (for utilities) pp for 7 days. P.s. pack warm clothes, it gets very cold at night (however the rooms are very well insulated) & try the Fondue at the in-residence restaurant (1 CHF 22 serving would be enough for 4 people).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjt501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Travelled in Summer 2008.We stayed for over a week at this ski-lodge in Switzerland, perched right at the top. The rooms are nice,big and overlook the alps from all sides. The kitchen is equipped with all gadgets required for putting together a meal. The stay here is worthwhile only if you have your own transport and are not dependent on any local shops. The last local transport stops at 6pm.The drive up winding roads to the resort is breath-taking as all part of Switzerland are.The resort staff are helpful if you approach them, but do not expect any initiative from their part of make your stay extra comfortable. But since this is a time-share concept as guests even our expectations are limited.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views of the alps.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LataV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The place to go if you love skiing or snowboarding. Our focus was to find a resort in a remote place to rest and enjoy the environment by walking. It fulfilled all our expectations. The time share was excellent; maybe Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and not just at reception, would go a long way to improve the experience.
The post bus from Aigle to La Jorette, Torgon, leaves from the train station and is easy to find. While you wait for the bus, there are a few good coffee shops around the station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelChanning051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a Hotel/ Time share resort and as such the rooms are warm, cosy, clean and spacious as you would hope, the location too (high up in the Mountain) is somewhat remote and private which is sometimes nice as its not too busy. The problem is the Resort reception/ Bar and Restaurant is like a morgue. Internet is provided only in Reception and as such would not be a chore if you could get complimentary coffee but coffee is (not complimentary) only served when its convenient to the Madame in charge of the Bar / Restaurant as are any other requests. The skiing is subject to poor visibility here and so skiing all day is not always an option and the alternative is to sit in your room or sit in the empty reception. The Restaurant is the ONLY option short of going into nearby Torgon (Car/ Taxi) and the food fare is extremely limited and pricey therefore most chose to eat elsewhere. Having got a drink from the bar i was informed i could not sit in the Reception area 'comfy sofas' (just 5 feet away) i could only sit at the bar (although i could sit in the Reception 'Comfy Sofas' if i provided my my own drinks.......whether there is some dispute between Resort Owners and Bar/ Restaurant owners remains to be seen either way it doesnt encourage a good atmosphere for people who go to great lengths and pay a great deal for their stay here (to arrive here involves extensive travel by car/ Taxi/ Bus as it is very remote.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

in a resort as Les Cretes, you can see the value of the 45 minute uphill drive from the valley- to the mountain.. as you cannot get any further with your car you just park it, and let your board do the rest. Excellent location, Perfect if its wintertime so you can start your trip with the ski lifts which can drive you through the borders of France to Avoriaz and other villages between the Switzerland and France boarders on a 650km ski terrain!! Thats why my trip to Les Cretes was very good, because it was what you exactly wanted after coming back from a really tiring day to strengthen for the next one - Recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I-E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews