We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday at les Cretes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Les Cretes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torgon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Residence Les Cretes
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“holiday at les Cretes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a very good time. The hotel staffs were very active. Clean and neat place.

If you want to spend a relaxed holiday, then this is an ideal place to stay.
But, if you want to explore and go around places, then this is not the place to stay.

There are only 5 Buses from and to the resort from Aigle, which is the nearest station.
Takes 30 Minutes to reach from Aigle to the resort. If you Miss the Bus, then to get back to the resort is very difficult. Need to Opt for Taxi. the tariff of the taxi will skip a heart beat.

My request to the resort people is to Have transportation arrangements for the facility of the guests. You can collect the amount from the guest... but give this facility.
I had my flight back from Geneva to India in the morning by 7AM. But no means to travel as the first means of transportation was by 6:30 AM and Airport requires 2 Hours travel Time. We had to leave down in the previous evening to catch next day Flight.
If the resort could have made arrangements for early morning drop to the nearest station ie Aigle, It would have been very convenient.

The resort is a nice place to stay and relax.It is far away and in remote location.
But if you want to explore Swiss, then stay in Interlaken which is the centrally located.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Lift is there for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajitkumard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised how clean, spacious and awesome this place is. I would highly recommend it if you are traveling by car in the area and want a place to sleep and eat. We had a three bedroom, two bathrooms. There were 4 of us and we all were very comfortable. Yes there is hairpin turns to get to the top which by car takes 25 minutes. But it is well worth the effort because it is spectacular views of the Alps. Get your supplies before you get to the top, food etc. Because the little store is outrageous and they do not have much. We have nothing but good things to say about the staff Analisa and Jennifer and the girl who ran the bar--all very nice young ladies. I do not recommend the pizza though, it is frozen and put in a convention oven.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as there were not a lot of people there this time of year--we loved that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Y6383MVMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This review is about this Hotel as well as Torgon itself. We stayed here twice and just loved the area and especially the snowboarding and winter conditions.

We met Gerry Shirt who owns The Ski Company, he is unbelievable and offers the most amazing packages for winter.

We have been to Torgon 4 times now and cant wait for the next season and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The resort was enjoyed by our family. The rooms were clean and neat with well equipped kitchens and modern bathrooms. Swiss cow bells can even be heard in the evenings. Plenty of wildlife was sighted. Foxes on numerous occasions with buck being sighted regularly. If you know we're to look!

It would be best to have a hire car when staying at the resort, in order to get around to see the sights. Especially a GPS navigation device for map directions. The resort is serviced by the "Post Bus."

There is plenty to do within the region around Torgon if one has the mobility of a car. Simply drive slowly on the pass up from the valley! We were there in summer, so the snow sports were not an option. It was decided to stay relatively local and not travel huge distances to far off attractions. Here is a list we would recommend.
1) Chillion Castle - Montreaux, the most visited historical monument in Switzerland. Previously visited by Lord Byron. Give oneself enough time here. Audio I-pod guides can be hired, strongly recommended.
2) Yvoire Village - situated on the southern French side of Lake Geneva. Regarded as the prettiest village in France. This medieval village on the shore was once home to pirates that preyed on cargo vessels on the lake. Filled with quaint shops selling goods of high quality at reasonable prices.
3) Cruise on Lake Geneva on one of the regular ferry services. There are circular routes of roughly 2 hours in duration. If the correct category of ticket is chosen, one can hop on and off. Ferries run generally every 30 min. Watch their websites for specials. Historical paddle boat ferries are still in active service and cost the same as the regular service. Very scenic routes are available with the area around Montreaux being referred to as the "Swiss Riviera".
4) The Gruyere Region has two standout attractions - amongst many. This area of sub alpine meadows has been noted over time as having a superb dairy industry. This resulted in it being the birthplace of the world famous Gruyere cheese. A Gruyere cheese factory can be visited. The chocolate industry also requires vast quantities of milk. Hence the Cailler Chocolate Factory was founded in a picturesque valley in the region. This sublime attraction is well worth the visit. Taste testing is optional but never declined.
5) Torgon overlooks the Rhone Valley. Situated in this valley are two attractions closely situated one to another. The one is Grotto / Caves of the Fairies and the second is the Foundation Forts. These Foundation Forts have only recently been declassified and opened up to the public. Work started on these forts in the 1880's and continued right up to the latter part of the aprox 1950's. They were built to protect the strategic Rhone Valley. A great attraction for history buffs.
6) Villaneauve on the lake is celebrating their 800th birthday in June 2014 with a Medieval Gathering. It's Main Street is well worth exploring. It's original buildings from that period allows one to have a glimpse into the past.
7) The village of Evian, of mineral water fame, on the lake, has an outstanding esplanade alongside the lake. Evian "mineral water" has a permanent exhibition in the town explaining the history etc of its product.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akron,oh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Booked thru RCI and got simple but clean and well appointed rooms on the 5th floor. The views are just amazing overlooking the Aigle valley. Skiing at the resort is average as La Jorette is not a fun and well maintained piste but the region has some wonderful snow and wonderful skiing. Mark who works the front desk did everything to make our stay smooth and easy. The pool and sauna is a pain to go to as you get only 30 mins(limit of 8 persons). The laundry room also is limited use, and for the whole complex, so hard to get your laundry done when you want to.
The bar is OK but the restaurant is wonderful and the food is great. The young lady who served us, ran the whole restaurant. She served at a pace to get get hot food on every table that was occupied and an feat on her own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warmjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Quiet ski area within easy reach of Geneva. The resort seems dated with "Cold War" bunker garages and basements. The reception ared is large and very 70's. The bar is a little wooden chalet in this area. Not very welcoming but some nice locals use it. Few people use the retaurant, when we walked in one evening the waitress ran the other way and didn't re-appear for 10 mins! We chose not to eat there!
We exchanged through RCI and had two good sized appts which were very clean and comfortable.
Swimming pool is a trough and not worth the effort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

the road to the hotel is very Curvy and dangerous. driving from vianz to trogon is only 10 km but it takes 30 min and i suggest you avoid driving there at night as there are no light poles.
the hotel itself is very modest the hall was last furnished at the 70th i think :) the apartment is clean and warm.
in the kitchen you will find a very small refrigerator.
the hotel has a small pool that will have to order in advance and use for only half an hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hana_kashani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torgon
3.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
3.8 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#8 of 18 in Chatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Torgon
Hotel de Torgon
#1 of 1 in Torgon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
6.7 mi away
Castel Club Leysin Parc Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Cretes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Cretes

Property: Residence Les Cretes
Address: La Jorette, Torgon, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Torgon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Torgon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing