We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence defined”
Review of Alba Hotel Meru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alba Hotel Meru
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Meru Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

That was excellent treat at Alba.you are in the hospitality business with a passion.keep up!.This is undoubtedly the hotel to book for business or pleasure around Meru county. The fact is that the service is so good you don’t notice anyone special, because they are seamlessly doing it in concert. As for the accommodations, it is a small bit of heaven.”

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglasm787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Douglas for taking time to write the review about us. We appreciate and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

It's hard to believe this hotel is located in Meru town, it seems almost out of place there given the extremely high standard of everything. It would not be out of place in any top destination in the world.

Aesthetically pleasing, very modern amenities and great views to the Nyambene Hills.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coimbrathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to visit us and for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at The Alba Hotel Meru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

To be perfectly honest I thought everything I heard about this hotel was hyperbole until I stayed there for a few days while on business and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it lived up to its praise. Great rooms, fast internet, fantastic staff and excellent food you really won't be disappointed and I highly recommend it.
Things to note, however, is that the views from the balconies are completely obliterated by the surrounding (shacks, cowsheds, subsistence farms etc) and the air is sometimes inundated with the smells that emanate from there. I guess this isn't entirely surprising since the hotel is located in a rural Kenyan town but for such a nice hotel it really is a shame.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the end of the halls, they're quieter, but I guess all experienced travelers alr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.It’s indeed a pleasure reading that our services met your requirements from Great rooms, fast internet, fantastic staff and excellent food.
We have noted the concern from the view of the balconies and this is due to our neighbors homestead and this is something we might not have control off but we promise to do what we can to make our client stay exceptional

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was with my family of 6. Despite their signboard being violated, we found our way till there (Google Maps). We got there and the reception was wonderful. We were taken round the hotel, which showed that they were very friendly. The rooms were superb and i loved the furnishing of the rooms. We received good quality food and lovely services from the restaurant.

Kudos to Susan, who took us round the hotel.

Thank you very much and looking forward to come there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixKiganga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

It’s with great pleasure we read your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a great honor hosting your family. We are also pleased also to note you found our rooms superb and loved the furnishing of the rooms and also good quality food and lovely services from the restaurant.that
We trust that you will be bringing your family soon to The Alba Hotel and we look forward to hosting you once more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

A friend having rated the hotel quite well as being a serious boutique hotel im Meru, I had to visit and truely was not disappointed at all.
To start with the location was well thought and the building is magnificently amazing with with the latest modern designs that one will rate as an up-class boutique hotel compared to places like Tribe hotel andHeHemmingways Nairobi.
The staff especially Susan at the reception was a plus to the property. The manager ath restaurant was amazing and really experienced. I would compare him with serious managers at Villa Rossa Kempisky. Good job.
The food was ok to the standard of a good hotel. No complaints.
The swimong pool was small and trendy could have added more value if it was heated.
The gym was tiny but good enough. I wish the place could have a spa.
Prices are quite reasonable at the bar and even the menu.
If you wanted a good cappuccino, this is the place to be. Congratulations guys wish you well in this project.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longines S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I just visited this marvelous place for a few hours. I was very impressed to see such a high class hotel in this small town. The staff were excellent and knew their job well and doing it as well to the best one could expect.
The structure is fabulous. The environment serene. The gardens awesome. Well equipped furniture, small but sufficient gym. Nice swimming pool with fantastic surrounding.
Only one small setback. When the wind blew, it brought with it stench which I was later informed was from the cattle in neighborhood grounds owned by the prisons department. This wasn't very pleasant when we were seated at the poolside, seriously needs taken care of. Otherwise a top place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Mutamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing to visit us . We are happy that we did measure up to your expectations and we are also happy that you noted the great attitude by our team. We take pride in our staff and they are the ones who make us special.We have noted the concern on the stench from our neighbors and we will take care of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location is was well thought. The room amenities are what you will think of a serious boutique hotel. Very clean. I had the fish and was amazing. Hope you will keep up.
The hotel infrastructure is amazing. The lady at the reception was cool although they didn't have my booking but all the same everything well taken care off. Good job

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Longines S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru Town
0 mi away
West Wind Hotel
West Wind Hotel
#5 of 5 in Meru Town
8 reviews
0 mi away
Maiyan
Maiyan
#2 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Grande Hotel
#2 of 3 in Isiolo
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Three Steers Hotel
Three Steers Hotel
#4 of 5 in Meru Town
8 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Nevada Palace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Meru Town
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meru Slopes Hotel
Meru Slopes Hotel
#2 of 15 in Meru Town
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Hotel Meru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Hotel Meru

Address: Milimani Road, Meru Town 60200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Meru Town
Price Range: £72 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alba Hotel Meru 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba is a luxurious four-star boutique hotel located in the quiet up-market Milimani suburb, in Meru (215 kilometres from the capital Nairobi). Targeting the travelling business executive in mind, the hotel offers complimentary high-speed wireless internet in the rooms and throughout the premises. For entertainment and relaxation there is international satellite and DSTV in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Jovago.com so you can book your Alba Hotel Meru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing