We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Agreeable Surprise”
Review of Alba Hotel Meru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alba Hotel Meru
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Meru Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

On a market visit to this area I was surprised and pleased to find this top notch hotel. Comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, manned by likeable and friendly staff who made me feel at home. Enjoyed hosting a team dinner there - I will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for visiting us and enjoying our service, We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved this place.
A wonderful surprise tucked away in the heart of Meru.
The most restful night after such a long journey.
But Kibe Gitau was right, the lukewarm shower was more than disappointing.
Either way, the room was fantastic and breakfast delicious.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nzisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Nzisa for your kind response, We are sorry for the cold water experience and this is to let you know we have changed our hot water system and currently we don't have any experience of cold water. We look forward to seeing you again to attest to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have visited Alba Hotel thrice in 2014. The hotel is nothing short of amazing as far as the aesthetics are concerned. The reception is warm and very friendly. However, my experience in the rooms has been nothing more than a real disappointment. While the facilities are top of the range, they forgot about the basics... hot water in the shower. The shower water temperature can only be described as lukewarm. Always having excuses on why its not properly working. For a guest that has traveled a long way, this is very crucial. Disappointed by this on all three visits. Better to stay at Meru Slopes where you at least get to shower. The seats in the dining area are also terribly uncormfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kibegitau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Mr Kibe for your kind response. We are very sorry for the disappointment that we have caused you due to the lack of hot water. Please note we have done an overhaul change of our hot water system and currently we don't have any problems. Kindly reconsider visiting us again for a better experience. We look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I couldn't believe this place is in Meru! What a lovely hotel, great service. Went there for Christmas in 2013 with family (and a tiny baby) and they went out of their way to make it special. Will be back, again and again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for having time to visit us at Alba Hotel and for liking our service . we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Its was unbelievable when My friend suggested once in Meru i could visit Alba Hotel.The hotel is very beautiful well vanished. upon arrival we were wel come with a cold juice at the reception which made us feel at home.Since we had booked earlier the check in was very smooth .The rooms are very well made decorated clean . The pool are is so neat you will love to sit and drink the whole night there.We were served dinner at the restaurant waiting staff very confident and smiling i loved the cappuccino from the coffee corner.
I enjoy the Breakfast offering with all you could get in Nairobi and .My wife loved scrambled eggs for the first time.I will definitely be back.i recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Willy for taking time to send us your review. We are happy you enjoyed our service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed there with my lovely daughter.... Loved the rooms finishing and decor is top of the range Betty and Susan you two are awesome and you made my daughter feel appreciated as a guest of the hotel.

The swimming pool is very small and oops freezing water.

The food was very low quality, few choices and very cold. Esp diss appointed with the New Year's Eve so called buffet. Breakfast was no better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Km1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you guest for your kind response. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Alba Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we have taken note on the food concern and we assure you we have reworked on our choice and variety. Kindly visit us soon for a different experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at Alba hotel in Meru 3 days ago and my overall impression was that it was an excellent hotel. The outside appearance is decent and the lobby was tastefully decorated.
We were a group of 6 adults and 2 children. We were given a warm welcome our bookings (through booking.com) quickly retrieved and we were promptly shown to our rooms. Our junior suite was graciously upgraded to a one bedroom suite. The rooms were large (especially the 2 bedroom suite), well decorated and very clean. The sheets were well pressed and spotless. The beds were comfortable and the water was very hot (just the way we like it :)). The rooms also had good black out blinds.We didn't spend much of the day in the hotel, though.
Now for the down side. Shortly after our arrival the reception staff demanded for our identification which some of us did not have (being local tourists) which resulted in miscommunication with the staff member. It felt as if she thought that we did not want to provide it when the truth was that we simply didn't have it. This was soon sorted out though. The other negatives are that one part of the hotel has a poor view of a neighbouring homestead . The pool was small and didn't have a shallow part or baby pool where kids could swim. The rooms had no bath tubs (even the 2 bedroom suite!) and the showers were very small-one could barely turn in them and we are not big people:).
My biggest complaint was the breakfast'which was very poorly cooked and was mostly cold! The staff hadn't set the table we chose to sit at and kind of gave up setting it when we sat down. The tea took way too long to be brought and the waiter argued with us that it did not when we mentioned it to him.
On the upside the staff went out of their way to make the stay comfortable for us by giving us rooms on the same floor, constantly asking us if we needed anything and giving us a late check out. The same waiter we'd had a misunderstanding with earlier served us impeccably to a very delicious lunch in their gorgeous lounge in the afternoon. There was also a bouncing castle set up in the afternoon for the kids which we really appreciated.
All in all we had a fantastic time at Alba hotel and would recommend it highly to everyone staying in Meru.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose M, Manager at Alba Hotel Meru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you guest for taking time to write the review on Trip advisor. We appreciate feedback and we have taken note of all the concerns raised. We assure you we have worked on most of the issues raised to mention a few the issue of the food quality and service delivery. Kindly consider visiting us again for a different experience.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru Town
0 mi away
Maiyan
Maiyan
#2 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Wind Hotel
West Wind Hotel
#4 of 5 in Meru Town
8 reviews
0 mi away
Maxoil Hotel
Maxoil Hotel
#4 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Grande Hotel
#2 of 3 in Isiolo
1 reviews
0 mi away
Town & Country Guesthouse
Town & Country Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Nanyuki Town
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meru Slopes Hotel
Meru Slopes Hotel
#2 of 16 in Meru Town
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Hotel Meru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Hotel Meru

Address: Milimani Road | Behind Nakumatt Supermarket in Meru, Meru Town 60200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Meru Town
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alba Hotel Meru 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba is a luxurious four-star boutique hotel located in the quiet up-market Milimani suburb, in Meru (215 kilometres from the capital Nairobi). Targeting the travelling business executive in mind, the hotel offers complimentary high-speed wireless internet in the rooms and throughout the premises. For entertainment and relaxation there is international satellite and DSTV in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl and Jovago.com so you can book your Alba Hotel Meru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing