We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and quirky”
Review of The Old Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bomere Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Bomere Heath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hi don't normally bother writing reviews but thought this place deserved one. If you are looking for something a bit different to monotonous hotel rooms then this is for you. From the 17th century door on display with an excellent example of locking mechanism craftmanship of the time to the ability to dine on the old platform just feet from passing trains this b&b offers that little bit extra. Spacious, comfortable rooms within easy access to Shrewsbury town and fine food from which I can strongly recommended sampling the Lamb. Pleasant, friendly, interesting hosts and don't worry about the fact its near the trainline, as it is still relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

greeted on arrival by a lovely couple who showed us around and made us feel very at home. the room was spacious,clean with beautifully carved 1847 wooden beds yet extremly comfy! breakfast is grilled with beautiful fruit salad, evening meals lovely, special diets can be catered for, i couldnt have milk or cream and i was given a nice selection of herbal teas for room. Also gave us pet free room for my allergys, nothing was too much trouble, i would recommend even though not cheapest we have stayed in, the meal was def worth paying for as well as the accomandation esp if u are a train fanatic! x

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Margaret and Col could not have been nicer. The facility is immaculate, very spacious room and even though it is next to a train track, is quite quiet. Chatted with Margaret about all the furnishings from their foreign travels, India in our room, which are exquisite. Spoke later on with Col who was one of, if not the, chief engineers on the Chunnel. Both are fascinating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

An excellent B&B but as they provide a wonderful evening meal (chosen in conjunction with them - there is no menu) I would call it a B&B Plus. If you are piggy there are three courses but two is sufficient. We had roast lamb followed by greengage crumble the first night and duck a l'orange followed by pavlova the second. Wonderful. You even get a glass of wine included in the price. The rooms are full of character with comfortable antique beds and furniture. The hosts are a wonderful couple. The rate of £70 per room per night is astonishing value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Photos/descriptions are on their Web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was a last minute short break for us and we really could not have wished for a better place to stay. Margaret and Colan are a wonderful, amazing and homely couple. The home cooked food is out of this world! The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
Our children were made to feel included in everything and they have both said they loved the time they spent at The Old Station.
The Rixon Family xxxx

Room Tip: Although the station is obviously right near a train line we were never disturbed by the noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rosemaryrixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have been staying with Margaret and Colan for 8 years when we visit the Shrewsbury Flower Show. Every visit always meets our expectations and more. The furniture and fine china are among the finest we have ever seen. The rooms are spacious and always immaculately clean. Ours hosts are extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them, to us it is like home from home. The breakfasts are amazing with locally sourced and home grown produce. We would recommend this to anyone who wants a special and unique stay and only a five minute drive from the centre of Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our second visit in four weeks. We loved it so we had to go back. Lady Margaret and Lord Colan are marvellous hosts. Margarets's breakfasts are delicious. All the rooms are unique, cleann, comfortable and furnished to a high standard with beautiful antique furniture. This is a Shropshire gem. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Address: Leaton, Bomere Heath, Shrewsbury SY4 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Bomere Heath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bomere Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Station 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRICES FOR OUR ROOMS CAN BE FOUND ON OUR WEBSITE The Old Station is set in the heart of the Shropshire countryside just four miles from the historic town of Shrewsbury. This former railway station built in 1847 has been extensively extended and renovated and now provides beautiful deluxe accommodation. There is one ground floor bedroom and a further five upstairs. All bedrooms are ensuite. Guests staying for more than two nights will receive a discount of 10% from the third night onwards. Pets are welcome and are charged at a rate of £5 per whole stay. PLEASE TELEPHONE US IN THE FIRST INSTANCE ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Station Shrewsbury/Bomere Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing