We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characteristic and quirky II”
Review of The Old Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bomere Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Bomere Heath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Londres
1 review
“Characteristic and quirky II”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A characteristic and unusual B&B that offers good quality accommodation, tasty breakfast and warm, attentive (as well as informative!) service. Ideal location for a number of wedding venues, inc Pimhill Barn, where we were attending a family wedding. My elderly parents-in-law enjoyed a satisfying, well cooked 2 course evening meal and benefitted from the walk-in wet room ensuite to their ground floor room. Railway and level crossing is directly adjacent and although not a disturbance, those with small children would wish to be mindful. Equally, there is a lot of antique furniture and objects d'art, which families would need to respect. Payment is currently by cheque or cash so arrive prepared as nearest cash point is Co-op store in village.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

An overnight stop for us en route home from North Wales. A delightful experience. Such an interesting place with such welcoming and engaging hosts. An open choice for a home-cooked evening meal was a rare luxury and we were not disappointed. Railway location should not dissuade you as not at all disturbing. Would love to go back and spend longer next time. Do visit their own website for rates and availability: http://www.theoldstationshropshire.co.uk/

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having sold my mothers' house in nearby Baschurch, The Old Station has become the obvious place to stay when visiting the area. Margaret and Colm have always had a room free for me, providing really exceptional food and wine (not forgetting the complimentary sherry
in every room!) and fascinating glimpses of their previous life and travels. Nothing is too difficult to arrange for this charming couple, just
being there is always a great pleasure. Have just read that they also provide free transport from and to Shrewsbury Station. I have heard from
people living in the area that the hotel has a remarkable show of
Christmas lights in the winter, something that I shall be coming back to
see next year. If one is interested in railways this is also an obvious place
to stay, especially as they have many books on the subject in their little library. The now electric trains, no longer The Great Western Railway run fairly frequently during the day but not at night.
A fantastic hotel - 6 out of 5 stars.
Gillian K

l

Room Tip: Any room is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hi don't normally bother writing reviews but thought this place deserved one. If you are looking for something a bit different to monotonous hotel rooms then this is for you. From the 17th century door on display with an excellent example of locking mechanism craftmanship of the time to the ability to dine on the old platform just feet from passing trains this b&b offers that little bit extra. Spacious, comfortable rooms within easy access to Shrewsbury town and fine food from which I can strongly recommended sampling the Lamb. Pleasant, friendly, interesting hosts and don't worry about the fact its near the trainline, as it is still relatively quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

greeted on arrival by a lovely couple who showed us around and made us feel very at home. the room was spacious,clean with beautifully carved 1847 wooden beds yet extremly comfy! breakfast is grilled with beautiful fruit salad, evening meals lovely, special diets can be catered for, i couldnt have milk or cream and i was given a nice selection of herbal teas for room. Also gave us pet free room for my allergys, nothing was too much trouble, i would recommend even though not cheapest we have stayed in, the meal was def worth paying for as well as the accomandation esp if u are a train fanatic! x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Margaret and Col could not have been nicer. The facility is immaculate, very spacious room and even though it is next to a train track, is quite quiet. Chatted with Margaret about all the furnishings from their foreign travels, India in our room, which are exquisite. Spoke later on with Col who was one of, if not the, chief engineers on the Chunnel. Both are fascinating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

An excellent B&B but as they provide a wonderful evening meal (chosen in conjunction with them - there is no menu) I would call it a B&B Plus. If you are piggy there are three courses but two is sufficient. We had roast lamb followed by greengage crumble the first night and duck a l'orange followed by pavlova the second. Wonderful. You even get a glass of wine included in the price. The rooms are full of character with comfortable antique beds and furniture. The hosts are a wonderful couple. The rate of £70 per room per night is astonishing value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Photos/descriptions are on their Web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bomere Heath
1.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Anton Guest House Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corbet Arms
The Corbet Arms
#1 of 1 in Uffington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Property: The Old Station
Address: Leaton, Bomere Heath, Shrewsbury SY4 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Bomere Heath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bomere Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Station 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRICES FOR OUR ROOMS CAN BE FOUND ON OUR WEBSITE The Old Station is set in the heart of the Shropshire countryside just four miles from the historic town of Shrewsbury. This former railway station built in 1847 has been extensively extended and renovated and now provides beautiful deluxe accommodation. There is one ground floor bedroom and a further five upstairs. All bedrooms are ensuite. Guests staying for more than two nights will receive a discount of 10% from the third night onwards. Pets are welcome and are charged at a rate of £5 per whole stay. PLEASE TELEPHONE US IN THE FIRST INSTANCE ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Station Shrewsbury/Bomere Heath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing