We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value, dog friendly accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chelmarsh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed recently with my partner and dog and stayed in the separate accommodation at the rear of the pub. The room was small and basic, but clean. The owners were very helpful and dogs are allowed in the bar from which the full menu can be ordered.Given the size of the room, I am not sure that I would want to spend a week there, but is perfectly adequate for a day or two.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 180 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stayed at the Bulls Head Inn, Chelmarsh with a group of my 10 walking friends in mid January 2010 and we all had a great time. Resident proprietors John and Norma King made us all welcome from the very first moment. Accommodation is a bit dated, but clean, warm, functional and all rooms are en-suite. John and Norma have a great team to back them up; all the staff are locals and the staff turnover is minimal.
Food at the hotel is exceptional; the head chef runs the kitchen very smoothly and has a brilliant team of assistants. All the food was cooked to perfection and presented in a very professional manner. The waitresses were great, very pleasant and efficient.
Most weekends there is live entertainment and the standard is very good.
Location is perfect for hill walking, several golf courses are nearby, fishing and shooting is available nearby, just down the road are the Severn Valley Railway, Severn River and the stunning Bridgnorth.
Lots of pubs are closing all over the country at the moment, but John and Norma are bucking the trend, well done the Bulls Head Inn, you would certainly get our return custom. Keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I have had many meal here and so have family, the staff are friendly, relaxed and always helpful, the food is good quality and nicely cooked. Its not top of the range but certainly makes for a nice meal out. My only concern is that the gardens are not secure, so not suitable for little one who are likely to go 'exploring', a good old fashin pub with better than average food.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We stayed here with another couple.The rooms are in need of a complete makeover. Both rooms left something to be desired. Wallpaper peeling from walls and shower curtains hanging from the mountings. We were advised to reserve a table for dinner as "Friday nights get busy", in the event we were the only ones in the dining room. Meal not helped by a power cut but still poor. Breakfast was very ordinary and bland. Not a place to make a return visit. Who gives these places 4 diamonds? Have complained to the tourist board to no avail.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkshirespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmarsh
3.6 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 28 in Bridgnorth
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dinney
The Dinney
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#6 of 28 in Bridgnorth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 28 in Bridgnorth
256 reviews
3.4 mi away
The George
The George
#12 of 28 in Bridgnorth
122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Knowle Sands
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull's Head Inn

Address: Chelmarsh, Bridgnorth WV16 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Chelmarsh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmarsh
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bull's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bulls Head Hotel Chelmarsh
The Bull's Head Inn Chelmarsh, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing