We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value”
Review of Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Knowle Sands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not great value”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here when we had a night spare in Shropshire recently. It is primarily a pub with several rooms above the main bar and restaurant area. The pub is located in a really beautiful setting between the Severn River and the Severn valley railway.

The room was OK, although the en suite bathroom was rather shabby and looked half-decorated. Most surprisingly there was no shower - only a bath a shower hose and head and the remnants of a shower screen. Disappointed about this, we politely requested a discount but were frankly told that this wasn't possible. We felt that a small gesture from the owner might have helped mitigate our disappointment.

Also the pub is rather noisy, with an industrial-sounding extractor fan leading from the kitchens near the bedrooms, and a high power light - illuminating the pub's sign - shone into our room until just after midnight.

On the good side, the breakfast was delicious and really well-cooked and the view with breakfast great too.

In summary, the Swan Inn is overpriced and should take a bit more advantage of its lovely location. It's not a place for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 is above the bar area but a long way from the extractor fan. It has no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    34
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
65
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bolton Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Swan for 1 night and wished now we had stayed longer. The Inn is set in lovely countryside with gardens and terrace which are very nice. Its only a 5 minute drive to Bridgnorth and the Seven Valley Railway which we had come down to Shropshire to go on. The restaurant and the bar area are well furnished. We had a meal that night which we enjoyed very much and well priced. Our room was of reasonable size and spotless and well furnished. The owners were very helpful and on booking in, we were showed to our room and offered any help with our baggage. Breakfast was served in the restaurant with views of the countryside which was very nice. Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here for a night with my other half. We arrived a bit early but the room was ready. We had a drink in the bar on the comfy sofas then got a taxi into Bridgnorth for a look around and for something to eat. The staff were very helpful, the place was clean, the room was comfy and the breakfast was amazing! I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which overlooks the car park so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Having being regular visitors to this establishment over the years and having seen quite a few owners especially recently, I have to say my friend and myself thoroughly enjoyed out visit for sunday lunch. The only draw back is I feel you have to get "dressed up" to visit there now, which when you are nipping for lunch in between mucking out the horses this can be a draw back lol.... Good food (and coffee I might add) at reasonable prices. We will return :) x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth09359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The Swan Inn just south of Bridgnorth is in a lovely country setting and under the new management of Liam the service is excellent, the food scrumptious and the atmosphere relaxing. It's clean, comfortable and gives contentment with friendly service.

Staying just one night I was tempted by the staple fish & chips but had the "drippin chips" which were really nice. The following morning's breakfast was a surprise as it was varied and filling. I had the cereal, yogurt, toast and the full English breakfast.

Nearby Bridnorth is a lovely market town, historic Ironbridge and the nearby Severn valley Railway will please both railway enthusiast & those who just like trains.

Room Tip: If you are a big person & want to shower, don't use room 2. Also be careful driving out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

To say that The Swan inn has undergone a transformation is an understatement,from the second we stepped through the door we where treated like old friends, Amazing staff who really know how to treat people, And know what there doing. The quality of the food was second to none, What a change to have freshly cooked food that was not over priced, Loved the open fire and the leather sofas the whole place was spotless with a really relaxed feeling to it, Its been years since we have visited a place were nothing was to much trouble with very high standards. Well done to the new owners, Its a real gem, My sister and i will be back we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankwilson195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

lovely friendly staff .. brilliant full english breakfast .. with lots of choices .. nice relaxing bar .. rooms not as nice as in pictures ,, main road outside hotel little bit noisy , lovely view over river severn ,, steps up to rooms ,

Room Tip: rooms at front have river view at back you have noisy kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedetouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle Sands
1.1 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#4 of 29 in Bridgnorth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The George
The George
#9 of 29 in Bridgnorth
108 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pheasant at Neenton
The Pheasant at Neenton
#6 of 29 in Bridgnorth
60 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Inn

Property: Swan Inn
Address: Highley Road, Knowle Sands, Bridgnorth WV16 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Knowle Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hillside close to the river Severn with amazing panoramic views of the valley and Bridgnorth, The Swan Inn Knowle Sands was under new ownership from February 2013 and has undergone a refurbishment program to improve the customers experience. We have a lovely bar area, snug, private dining room for up to 14 guests, dining room, 6 letting bedrooms and a function room! We are a pet friendly pub! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Knowle Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing