We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising little gem!”
Review of Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Knowle Sands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Suprising little gem!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here with a group of collegues and I cannot fault it!

The rooms are clean, lovely and fresh. The bathrooms are a little tired, but they were clean and the shower was great!

Staff were endelssly caring and when we informed that that we had such an early start we wouldn't be able to make breakfast they made us a packed lunch to take with us in the morning! Amazing and very much unexpected.

The bar stocks lots of local and unusual beers and ciders and the staff are great about telling you what would suit your taste buds. Food was fresh, homemade and in great quantities!

It's only 5 minutes drive out of Bridgnorth, but worth the trip as the town centre itself is really lacking in decent accomodation and places to eat.

The beer garden is beautiful with great peaceful views.

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    34
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
65
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've been here since the new management and the food both times has been delicious! On the second visit they was six people in my party and the restaurant (the conservatory part) was all booked up. However, they made a table up for us and did notify us that they may be a delay in food due to the kitchen being busy. That being said, the service was still very friendly and the delay wasn't even noticeable.
The menu given had a varied selection and the portions were a fair size as well.
Since the new ownership the interior design has changed and it's definitely inviting.
I also liked that they now do a loyalty card for customers which offers discounts on subsequent visits.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Have visited here twice with my partner. Have thoroughly enjoyed both times. Food is superb and service to match. The sticky toffee pudding with toffee sauce and ice cream was the best I have ever tasted and I am a real "desserty !"
Can't wait for another date night to sample some more delicious delights!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank abbermay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

excellent little hotel, very nice owners and staff, very helpful, lovely comfy bed and right size quilt for the bed, very clean and spacious room, which was the family roon no.6..breakfast was in the conservatory over looking the countyside and was excellent. as we took our dog there is a lovley park ( severn park ) just out side the town . There are some steep steps up to the bedrooms, but you can use the outside door to get in , the photographs of the place are true.
would we go back there....yes..

Room Tip: as we had our german shepherd room no 6 was very spacious, a bit of a noise from the water system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Catherin... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here when we had a night spare in Shropshire recently. It is primarily a pub with several rooms above the main bar and restaurant area. The pub is located in a really beautiful setting between the Severn River and the Severn valley railway.

The room was OK, although the en suite bathroom was rather shabby and looked half-decorated. Most surprisingly there was no shower - only a bath a shower hose and head and the remnants of a shower screen. Disappointed about this, we politely requested a discount but were frankly told that this wasn't possible. We felt that a small gesture from the owner might have helped mitigate our disappointment.

Also the pub is rather noisy, with an industrial-sounding extractor fan leading from the kitchens near the bedrooms, and a high power light - illuminating the pub's sign - shone into our room until just after midnight.

On the good side, the breakfast was delicious and really well-cooked and the view with breakfast great too.

In summary, the Swan Inn is overpriced and should take a bit more advantage of its lovely location. It's not a place for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 is above the bar area but a long way from the extractor fan. It has no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at the Swan for 1 night and wished now we had stayed longer. The Inn is set in lovely countryside with gardens and terrace which are very nice. Its only a 5 minute drive to Bridgnorth and the Seven Valley Railway which we had come down to Shropshire to go on. The restaurant and the bar area are well furnished. We had a meal that night which we enjoyed very much and well priced. Our room was of reasonable size and spotless and well furnished. The owners were very helpful and on booking in, we were showed to our room and offered any help with our baggage. Breakfast was served in the restaurant with views of the countryside which was very nice. Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here for a night with my other half. We arrived a bit early but the room was ready. We had a drink in the bar on the comfy sofas then got a taxi into Bridgnorth for a look around and for something to eat. The staff were very helpful, the place was clean, the room was comfy and the breakfast was amazing! I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which overlooks the car park so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle Sands
0.9 mi away
The George
The George
#9 of 29 in Bridgnorth
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#3 of 29 in Bridgnorth
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 29 in Bridgnorth
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#20 of 29 in Bridgnorth
149 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pheasant at Neenton
The Pheasant at Neenton
#6 of 29 in Bridgnorth
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Inn

Property: Swan Inn
Address: Highley Road, Knowle Sands, Bridgnorth WV16 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Knowle Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hillside close to the river Severn with amazing panoramic views of the valley and Bridgnorth, The Swan Inn Knowle Sands was under new ownership from February 2013 and has undergone a refurbishment program to improve the customers experience. We have a lovely bar area, snug, private dining room for up to 14 guests, dining room, 6 letting bedrooms and a function room! We are a pet friendly pub! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Knowle Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing