We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Knowle Sands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Yes the bedrooms could do with sprucing up a bit, but nothing was too much trouble, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was gorgeous - this was proved by the restaurant being full each evening I was there. The breakfasts were absolutely gorgeous too. I would definately stay there again. Service is always on the top of my list when it comes to staying or eating anywhere and if you've got good service, then nothing else really matters.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ge0rgyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    33
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
60
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

First of all, this Inn, should be included in the Bridgnorth reviews as it is only a little way out of the town. We stayed for one night, which was a Sunday, mainly because of the good food reviews. But oh! dear, the accommodation was very, very basic. The old adage of "you get what you pay for" could not be more accurate in this case. Judging by pictures on the internet, this standard of accommodation has slipped, either through neglect or lack of funds. We asked for a twin room, which we were shown to. First of all there are steep stairs up and down to the bar/restaurant area so elderly, watch out. I had to go down after checking in as there were no towels of any description in the bathroom. A friendly young lady said she would fetch some and we received 2 large bath towels. On enquiring further of the manager, we were informed that they did not give out hand towels or a bath mat, just bath towels. Black mark for that. The bathroom was really in need of a makeover, there was no shower screen at all, there obviously had been, but it was missing. No towel rail, again, the evidence was there on the wall, but no rail. My wife went to take a shower anyway, she has difficulty in getting in and out of a bath these days, but the telephone style shower had no fixing position on the wall so had to be handheld. The control switch to alter from shower to bath just came away in my hand when I attempted to have a bath, so it was hand held shower or nothing. Water all over the floor ensued, and had to stand on one end of the towel. The decor was really showing it's age. All in all really poor. Still it was only for one night, it was very reasonable and the food reports were v.good. So we decided to grin and bear it. Just as we were about to go down for dinner, there was a power cut, no emergency lighting upstairs, but we had a torch and went down to discover that it would take some time to restore as it was a fault on the premises and the electricity company had been summoned. We were directed to another restaurant in the town of Bridgnorth, but after finding it with some difficulty, and locating a parking space, we went in to find that they stopped serving food at 7.30pm. The time was 7.40 ! However someone in the bar recommended The Bear Inn & Stables, which was excellent (reviewed elsewhere). We went back to The Swan, to find the power had been fixed but it had taken over an hour, so their evening was a disaster. We went to bed for a good night's sleep, but no luck there as the beds were completely worn out, creaked and groaned with every movement and had winter weight duvets on, which was much too hot. Fortunately, the next morning, we were served a really excellent well cooked breakfast, which helped to restore our faith somewhat, but will not be recommending the accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been modernised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is 2nd time I have stayed here over night! Can't fault it, Justin and Liam (managers) are lovely and have re done the place up beautifully and the staff were lovely, Food is yummy! filled us right up. There is also a great range of ciders, bitters and wines! Definitely got through a fair few bottles!
The rooms are spotless and well decorated, perfect little get away... Will be down again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Fabulous meal with a good friend at the Swan at Knowle Sands, nice atmosphere, and lovely food. The staff were very helpful. Good portion sizes and a very nice menu. We will be planning a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Haven't been impressed in the past with the food here but was told by friends that it is under new management and that the food here is very good and I can confirm that this is correct!

I went for the lamb and minted mash with vegetables and it was very reasonably priced and absolutely delicious I cannot fault anything with the meal it was so nice. My friend had the same meal and she too was impressed. I had two pints of peroni and they were nice, but the price was quite high for drinks.

I then went for a cheeseboard to round the meal off and it was very nice indeed. I thought the chutney pot that came out was extremely cute! Nice selection of cheeses and presented beautifully.

After the meal we sat out in the courtyard and tealights were lit and it was very serene being sat out in the Shropshire countryside, with ducks flying above us and the river severn in the background!

I loved coming here for the evening and I would recommend the restauarant to anyone. I cannot comment on accommodation as we did not stay here as we are local to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Didee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here with a group of collegues and I cannot fault it!

The rooms are clean, lovely and fresh. The bathrooms are a little tired, but they were clean and the shower was great!

Staff were endelssly caring and when we informed that that we had such an early start we wouldn't be able to make breakfast they made us a packed lunch to take with us in the morning! Amazing and very much unexpected.

The bar stocks lots of local and unusual beers and ciders and the staff are great about telling you what would suit your taste buds. Food was fresh, homemade and in great quantities!

It's only 5 minutes drive out of Bridgnorth, but worth the trip as the town centre itself is really lacking in decent accomodation and places to eat.

The beer garden is beautiful with great peaceful views.

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've been here since the new management and the food both times has been delicious! On the second visit they was six people in my party and the restaurant (the conservatory part) was all booked up. However, they made a table up for us and did notify us that they may be a delay in food due to the kitchen being busy. That being said, the service was still very friendly and the delay wasn't even noticeable.
The menu given had a varied selection and the portions were a fair size as well.
Since the new ownership the interior design has changed and it's definitely inviting.
I also liked that they now do a loyalty card for customers which offers discounts on subsequent visits.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowle Sands
3.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#2 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Inn

Property: Swan Inn
Address: Highley Road, Knowle Sands, Bridgnorth WV16 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Knowle Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Knowle Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hillside close to the river Severn with amazing panoramic views of the valley and Bridgnorth, The Swan Inn Knowle Sands was under new ownership from February 2013 and has undergone a refurbishment program to improve the customers experience. We have a lovely bar area, snug, private dining room for up to 14 guests, dining room, 6 letting bedrooms and a function room! We are a pet friendly pub! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Knowle Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing