We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnstone Expedition”

Spirit of the West Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spirit of the West kayaking Adventures has been offering sea kayaking tours and trips around Vancouver Island, BC, Canada, since 1996. Our most popular tours travel to the orca waters of Johnstone Strait, British Columbia to kayak in the realm of the whales. We also offer trips to Desolation Sound, the Broughton Archipelago, Nuchatlitz Marine Park on the west coast of Vancouver Island and the Great Bear Rainforest on the Central Coast. We also offer tours to the Exuma Cays in the Bahamas and Chilean Patagonia during the North American winter.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Johnstone Expedition”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

One of the best experiences of my life , very professional guides , good food and a brilliant trip , well done Spirit of Adventure

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The contact for wildlife and outdoor enthusiasts!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Great campsites in very remote places in between a lot of wildlife( orcas, humpbacks, dolphins, salmon, blackbears, eagles and so on)
We were just spoiled of good kayak equipment and the best guides u could imagine who made the best food after a nice day kayaking in the broughton archipelago! Everything was so very well organised and planed! Thank you to the whole team of "spirit of the west"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HannesSeeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“awsome”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have been out on several trips with spirit of the west because they have the best base camp trip in the BC without question. their base camp location is outstanding and on every trip we have seen whales multiple times. the guides are knowledgeable friendly and very helpful the tents more than comfortable. Hot showers on demand, clean outhouse that doesn't smell and a hot tub makes the trip more enjoyable. the food is ok and you can always bring special things that you might want.....I have been on several base camp trips with different companies and I can tell you that all others compared the spirit of the west come up short! for an incredible experience you will NEVER forget this is the company to go out kayaking with

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank airportcarrie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

An amazing 4 day 3 night kayaking adventure. We lucked out with weather and wildlife. We saw it all. Orcas, gray whales, seals, otters, sea lions, bears and much more. The staff was positive, high energy and very knowledgeable. (Graham). The salt water hot tub was awesome, right on the edge of the rock cliff with the best obstructive view. All the tents are well position and have great views too. Shower was awesome too. Hot water on demand, with a great view of the ocean. That is when I saw the gray whale go by. Meals were great. They do all the work which makes it even tastier, and the appys at night were delicious. All in all it was just the best!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Johnstone Strait Expedition - September”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We took a spectacular BC kayaking trip in 1999 and were reluctant to go again believing we'd never recreate our original experience. We finally decided to try again discovering that the kayaking company we used previously closed in 2009 after 27 years! Looking through TripAdvisor reviews we discovered SOTWA and booked our trip. What an Incredibly fun experience! All aspects of the trip met and exceeded expectations. Every detail was superb. Orcas, Humpback Whales, Porpoises, Dolphins, Seals, Sea Lions, Bald Eagles, Great Blue Herons & more! Guides were attentive, quick to share helpful information and personable. Pre-trip communications were detailed, timely & clear. We hesitated in booking a September trip fearing bad weather. Its actually some of the best weather of the year according to the locals and a great time to see Humpback Whales. We watched them daily, what a show! Paddler's Inn was also a great place to end our trip. Can't recommend SOTWA enough!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of the West Adventures also viewed

Quadra Island, British Columbia
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Spirit of the West Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing