We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and perfect hospitality”
Review of Chateau de Penfrat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Penfrat
Ranked #1 of 1 Gouesnach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Difficult to imagine a more perfect hotel experience than the one that greets you at Chateau de Penfrat. As well as a stunning house in a beautiful, peaceful location, Barbora and Patrick are the most wonderful hosts. They show genuine warmth and hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble and they manage to create a very relaxed atmosphere and a special experience. Thank you both so much for providing such a perfect final few days for our French holiday. We will be back!

Room Tip: All three rooms/apartments have great views out across the lawns and down to the river.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Penfrat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We fell in love with Chateau Penfrat and with Patrick and Barbora. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and as a truly treasured guest. The food was beyond amazing and the recommendations for restaurants and activities in Quimper and surrounding cities was phenomenal. The peace and serenity was just what we needed. I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely in every way - our first night in France and we had an amazing welcome and fabulous room and delicious breakfast.
The grounds are stunning - we went for amazing walks and my early morning run was bliss. Thanks so much to our wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfrat, Owner at Chateau de Penfrat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for interesting conversations ..! À bientôt !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

What a wonderful spot and a beautiful building. Our Hostess could not have been more helpful or welcoming. The Chateau is beautiful and the rooms comfortable.The views down to the river are stunning. Its very peaceful yet with a few minutes you are on Quimper's main ring road. Very friendly personal service with recommendations for restaurants etc etc. Great walks along the river bank accompanied by the 'Chien du Chateau' We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mturner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was a last-minute booking for the first night of our motorbike tour of Brittany and we ended up staying for four nights!! We were met by our charming Lithuanian host, Barbora, and within 10 minutes of arriving were enjoying tea and home-made cake on the front lawn looking down to the river Odet.
There were three of us and we shared the "family" room - very comfortable and reasonably priced.
Barbora could not do enough for us - the perfect host. After four days it felt less like a B&B and more like staying with a friend.
Not the easiest place to find but well worth the effort - the grounds are lovely and the whole experience is one of complete tranquility.
Only one rule - DON'T feed the dog!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Odet for beautiful sunrises
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank por911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Penfrat is a magic place. The hosts - a very nice couple - are very inviting and professional.

The rooms are comfortable in size and equipment. The area is absolutely charming and there are heaps of things to do (kayaking, horse-riding, walking, discovering the beautiful nature, visiting charming Quimper...).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Phildart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfrat, Propriétaire at Chateau de Penfrat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouesnach
3.6 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
479 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
638 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Manoir de Kerhuel
Manoir de Kerhuel
#1 of 2 in Ploneour Lanvern
231 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Quimper Sud Benodet
1.7 mi away
Manoir Tregont Mab
Manoir Tregont Mab
#4 of 10 in Quimper
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Penfrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Penfrat

Address: 25 Chemin de Penfrat, 29950 Gouesnach, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Gouesnach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gouesnach
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Southern Brittany between Medieval town of Quimper (10km) and wonderful beaches of the Atlantic coast (8km), Château de Penfrat is counting the second century of existence. Built in 1859 by the famous French architect Joseph Bigot for the noble Cambourg family originally as a hunting house, Château de Penfrat later became their home on the magnificant river bank in the St Cadou cove (the Odet river).Today the property of 100ha, surrounded by nature offers you possibility to observe the birds and animal living freely in Penfrat. Here you are a part of nature, living with changing tides of Odet and the colourful seasons.Leisure nearby: Sailing, Golf, Hiking, Canoeing, Riding, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Penfrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing