We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Why would I stay anywhere else in Sussex!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hayloft

The Hayloft's Private Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hayloft's Private Garden
View of the living area - sofa can be used as an extra bed Triple aspect room means you rarely need the lights on!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Hayloft's Private Garden
View of the living area - sofa can be used as an extra bed
Triple aspect room means you rarely need the lights on!
Galley kitchen area with an outstanding view straight over the farmland next door
Large airy bedroom with lovely views and plenty of space should you have little kids with you
The view you will see when you wake up without getting out of bed!
Welcome basket includes eggs, home-made marmalade, tea, coffee, sugar and milk
Brand new for 2014 our newly refurbished bathroom now includes a shower!
A few little bits to get you started.
Morning tea alfresco?
Enjoy the stunning views whilst you relax
Relax and take in the view or stroll along the footpaths right outside
View of the garden, lots of local wildlife to watch from here
View across the ripening oat crop
Which way shall we go today?
View from the garden
More guests arriving?
View from the bedroom window
Sunrise - get up early enough and you will see it for yourself!
Our young apples trees
View from the living room, you can see the church spire in the distance
Stroll up the lane and pick any number of footpaths to try
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Grinstead, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why would I stay anywhere else in Sussex!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant as usual. It doesn't matter what the weather is like, it is home-from-home comfort. Sparkling clean and attention to every detail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie E
Buckley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation and location”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our first impressions very good. There was a complimentary basket of tea, coffee, sugar, eggs and homemade marmalade and milk in the fridge. The Hayloft was very clean, light and airy. The surrounding countryside was very beautiful and could be seen from the all windows. It's location made it easy to visit many places. Our first impression stayed with us all week and we would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUhols
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“fantastic - loved our stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We just spent a fantastic 3 night Easter break at the Hayloft. It is every bit as good as the previous reviews and lived up to the lovely photos.
The directions sent through were very helpful, and we found the place with ease.
We didn't see the owners throughout our visit, but that suited us perfectly, as we had plans for most days already in place. We made use of the wi fi to look up maps, weather forecasts, and further local information, and we found the speed of the internet perfectly adequate.

Whilst at the hayloft, we spent an afternoon at The ockenden manor hotel spa, and hada meal in the 2 star Michelin restaurant, which was fantastic and highly recommended. We also enjoyed a local country walk, straight out from the door. Finally we spent the day at Plumpton races, which is a lovely course fir any horse racing enthusiasts.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious and pretty location
Liked least: nothing, it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property
Liked least: See above comments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of the accommodation
Liked least: Wi-fi availability preferred and perhaps a larger TV screen?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen066
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 11 December 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at The Hayloft. Stunning views, day and night, its worth getting up in the middle of the night, just to gaze at the starlit sky. The Hayloft,what lovely accommadation, light bright, and very well presented, exceptionally clean. All your needs are catered for. The welcome basket was a special touch. The only thing I would mention, is the shower, its hand held in the bath, but cannot be helped because of the sloping ceiling. Kirsty has made sure all your needs are covered, and has left instructions, so that you know what is available for your use, which made it easy to relax straight away. I'm sure we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation, and stunning views
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
Reviewed 19 March 2010 for a stay in July 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Furnishings and cleanliness
Liked least: No shower
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing