We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Came as guests, left having met new friends.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Hut in the Orchard sits in its own 3/4 acre orchard paddock on our working farm in Sussex.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hut in the Orchard sits in its own 3/4 acre orchard paddock on our working farm in Sussex.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Hut in the Orchard sits in its own 3/4 acre orchard paddock on our working farm in Sussex.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Grinstead, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fixer
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Came as guests, left having met new friends.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful bank holiday weekend break at the hut in the Orchard at Conies farm.

On arrival Alicia met us with a warm welcome and showed us around the shepherds and dining huts. Showing us where everything was and explaining how everything worked including the well designed hidden beds. The shepherds hut exceeded our expectations. The layout is exactly as you see in the photos. Alicia has put a great deal of thought and effort into the design decor and furnishings with everything to the same exacting standard.

From the towels, luxury linen and bathroom toiletries to the fresh bread, butter, jams, milk and eggs you could see the attention to detail. The kitchen well laid out and fully equipped for four and this allowed us plenty of space to cook full English breakfasts and dinners in the Hut. (Do try their own eggs, sausages and bacon, the taste was wonderful.

Before we had arrived, we had been concerned about the drop down bed. We need not have worried as we slept in comfort for two nights. Our six year old daughter couldn't wait to go to bed in her bunk over us each night.

The two huts have been placed perfectly to get the best of the sun and create a private environment. The Orchard provided a perfect place to chase around playing Frisbee, other games and having an exciting night safari with our daughter.

The dining Hut provided us with a great place for breakfast in the sun (one day) or protected from the rain (the next). The log burner is simple to use and all logs and kindling were provided. The comfy blankets and led candles made this perfect for post supper storytelling.

The trips to see the farm animals turned a great holiday into an amazing experience. They are careful to ensure your (and your children's safety) but gladly took time to show us around the farm yard meeting the pigs, cows and chickens and allowing our daughter to feed the animals with them at feeding time.

Phil and Alicia are the perfect hosts. They welcomed us to their farm and we loved it. So much so we're now booking our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal warmth throughout our stay
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we had as much fun hosting you as you had being here! April is a fun and busy time on the farm I'm glad you enjoyed the comfort of the hut, your night safari sounds great fun, hope you saw lots of stars too, it was lovely spending time together meeting the animals. Look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyF959
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“What a fantastic find in a beutiful setting”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stumbled across this accommodation on the internet, and so glad I did. The hut is fantastic with adjoining dining hut too. You have the sole use of 3/4 acre paddock which the dog enjoyed. We saw Deer, Rabbits and birds. We arrived on the Friday and Alicia greeted us with a smile, she showed us around the huts and answered any questions we had, we even got to look at the animals on the farm, a new born calf, what a delight! The Huts have everything you need and the breakfast hamper was excellent. All fresh from the farm. We will defiantly be back Thank you Phil & Alicia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Kelly,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to stay, so glad you enjoyed your time here. Thanks for the lovely review, hope to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
1 review
“A wonderful place to recharge and be at one with nature”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My seven year old daughter and I stayed just before Chistmas for a weekend break after having a few stressful weeks of builders and decorators in our own home. We were looking for somewhere to escape that wasn't a million miles away and somewhere that would be tranquil for myself yet fun and an adventure for my daughter. A friend of mine highly recommended "The Hut in the Orchard" and we both had the most wonderful weekend away in the country side on this lovely farm just 40 minutes away!
The host Alicia welcomed us warmly and by the time we arrived it was dusk and the pathway leading to the hut was lit by fairy lights which was beautiful to arrive to and set a magical scene. Once inside Alicia showed us the "workings " of the hut such as pulling the beds down, heating etc. Also as an extra extension to the sleeping facilities and right next door is a "dining hut" sheltered from the elements yet open to them decked out with wooden table, chairs and a wood burning stove! We found this extra hut amazing during our stay as on the first night we ate fish and chips (delivered, a godsend after a busy day and no thought of stopping for supplies yet!.) Fish and Chips a cold bottle of Sauvignon , toasty warm under provided fleecy blankets around the wood burning fire accompanied by the stars. No television or iPad/tablet even a distant thought (that counts for my daughter too!)
The sleeping hut accommodates a family of four/five and both my daughter and I found it fun and exciting getting the beds ready. The duvets and bed linen are of top quality and even though it was blowing a hoolie outside we were toasty warm inside, there is a very efficient heater to boot.
The next morning we were welcomed by the farms Old Spot sausages that had thoughtfully been put in the fridge along with fresh milk and a crusty white bloomer on the side with butter and preserves. There was also a selection of teas and coffee, a nice touch. After looking through the selection of things to do and places to visit nearby we decided to pop into Horsham for a wander, some Christmas shopping and lunch. The town was bursting with Christmas Spirit, perfect. We spent the evening playing board games that are provided in the hut allowing some peaceful, quality time together.
Before our reluctant departure the next morning we said hello and goodbye to the cows, pigs and chickens whilst the tractors were busy working on the farm. I have to say that nothing has not been thought of in this very "bijou" getaway. I'm already planning on another visit with friends who will be able to pick tents in the orchard in front of the hut in the orchard. Perfect if you are attending an event nearby. The hut itself has been kitted out to an extremely high standard with such attention to detail, everything has been thought of. We had the most amazing, comfortable weekend break away from it all and highly recommend Conies Farm Shepard Hut. Thank you Alicia and Phil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole set up, a niche in the market
Liked least: NothIng not to like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Lisa,

Thank you for your lovely feedback, it is always so great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay at Conies, away from the hustle and bustle and being at one with nature as we do. It was a pleasure to meet you and your daughter, she is a real joy and she breathed life into the farm, so nice to see children having fun and getting their boots muddy! I'm so glad to hear you would like to return we look forward to welcoming you again. Hope that the plaster dust has settled and your home was free from builders at least for Christmas!
Kind regards
Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beagle592...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway.”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Thank you Alicia for a fantastic stay over Christmas 2015. The hut was spotless as was the dining hut. Everything was provided, the breakfast hamper was lovely as was the continental breakfast the day of our departure. The weather was grim but this didnt stop us lighting the fire in the dining hut and being toasty warm. The bed/ bedding was luxurious and the central heating was brilliant. We both had a lovely time as did out beagles. Alicia even provided dog treats. Thank you.
Lesley

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquilty.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Lesley,

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to welcome you at Christmas and I am so glad that despite the foul weather you had such a great time. Hope to see you again in the Summer months perhaps?
Kind regards
Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkos
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastically unique and unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I checked into Conies Farm Shepherd's Hut for a 2 night, weekend stay. We wished for a quiet, cosy, romantic 'escape to the country' and we were not disappointed!!

On arrival, we were met by our ever welcoming host, Alicia and shown to the hut. Set in a beautifully private and quiet orchard, as dusk fell, the little fairy lights guiding us up the decking walkway to the hut felt rather magical. Inside, we were greeted with a cold bottle of bubbles and a bowl of beautifully fresh strawberries - a wonderful surprise.. Alicia helped us get familiar with all the facilities available to us before leaving us to get settled in.

The hut itself is beautiful, cosy yet spacious, very well thought out and finished to an incredibly high standard. Everything you could possible wish for/need has been catered for. The kitchenette was well stocked, for both a couple or family of 4, with everything you might need to cater for yourself. The loaf of crusty, fresh bread with a nice selection of jams and honey was very welcome as was the selection of teas and coffee along with a well stocked spice rack and fresh items in the fridge (milk, butter, garlic etc). The bathroom was roomy and finished to a high standard. The complimentary toiletries were delightful and also locally sourced...a nice touch! The fluffy towels and sumptuous bedding made our entire visit feel very luxurious. Despite being on the cusp of November, we felt warm and cosy both nights and in the generous sized bed, slept like babies as well!

The dining hut is a wonderful addition to the whole experience. Breakfasting in the fresh air, yet with the warmth of the log fire and baby soft blankets wrapped around our shoulders whilst looking out across neighbouring fields was what this experience was all about. And note...the breakfasts are to die for and well worth the price! Everything locally sourced - some items even from the very farm you are staying on made it all the sweeter. Alicia certainly puts together a mean full English! Even marshmallows and skewers are supplied, which come the misty Halloween night fall, were enjoyed whilst we sat listening to the farm noises, toasted on the log fire, whilst sipping on some locally sourced cider from the neighbouring farm...perfect!

During our stay we had the pleasure of experiencing all the goings on of the working farm. The cattle, pigs, piglets and chickens were fantastic to meet and cuddles from the resident pups Midge, Gem and Purdey gave it a really family, friendly feel. It is clear Alicia and her husband Phil take great pride in what they do and not only offer a fantastic, authentic countryside retreat with their Shepherd's Hut, but enviable (and rather delicious) local produce!

No matter the season, you will have an amazing stay at Conies Farm, whatever you enjoy. There really is something for everyone. Enjoy getting lost in nature, with all the home comforts you could possible want and with some rather fantastic hosts to boot!

Can't WAIT to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of staying in a well equipped, modern yet authentic Shepherd's Hut in a beautiful setting.
Liked least: Wish we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you Jemima for such a glowing review. I am so happy you had such a great experience here at Conies farm, it was lovely to welcome you both to our corner of Sussex and meet the animals. We do hope to see you again here soon, remember to spread the word! Kind regards
Alicia and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing