We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Machado Gallery
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel(Charlecote)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
17
3
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
3
2
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Looking for a small b&b for a long family weekend near Warwick we found something different in the Machado Gallery owned and created by Susan Machado. 3 charming bedrooms, comfortable beds with quality white linen. Our room on the ground floor had doors opening on to the peaceful garden. Plenty of armchairs to relax in, and all to ourselves.
Susan makes fresh bread for breakfast, and one morning fabulous fruit pancakes. This b&b would be particularly good for a small group of friends or family as we found. It is difficult to believe what an amazing place has been created by Susan from a derelict building in the beautiful village of Barford.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank DoctorBobandBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

THe B&B is at first glance very appealing, on further examination however, it is lacking in the basics which are needed. There were privacy issues and the guest facilities and information could be better.We were served sour milk on more than one occasion and often felt as if we were intruding.

On the positive side the house is interesting and the breakfast pancakes were said, by those that had them, to be delicious.

It is a good place to stay if you have a very open mind about what a B&B should provide.

Room Tip: You do not get given a choice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AKE1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have now stayed in Sue's unique studio room twice and am looking forward to my third visit next month. The Machado Gallery is an amazing experience and so very comfortable. The studio room has it's own splendid wet room, perfect white linen and even an outside space to call it's own in Sue's peaceful garden. Breakfast? A real experience: local honey, bread homemade every morning, home made preserves and a choice of hot dishes all cooked to perfection by Sue. The blueberry and raspberry pancakes are a dream.

Room Tip: The Studio room is on the ground floor, the other rooms are reached by quirky staircases.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrimstOn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

House gorgeous. Sue knowledgeable but wearing a filthy t shirt and apron, not a particularly positive image for front of house.

Keys? no lock on our door - ,'we don't have that type of guest'. We were complete strangers, how can you possibly know? A couple were actually confronted for keeping a front door key, awkward!

Breakfast - silence apart from the odd bit of conversation with Sue, felt the need to whisper. No choice of menu, host still in the grubby apron. Tea towels filthy, dining area felt dirty, also, if you're going to cook in front of your guests extra hand washing is recommended, not seen once!

The bed was extremely comfortable and dressed beautifully. However the water bottle in the room was dirty and obviously just filled with tap water. I found hairs, not my own, stuck to the bath taps.

2nd morning, attempted to sit elsewhere and were ordered to sit at the same setting as the previous day 'guests tend to like sitting in the same place and I have put your napkin there', obviously not washed then! Again no choice of menu, again grubby apron.

Suggested improvements:

A deep clean
Tea making facilities in the rooms - some people appreciate an early morning drink in private
An iron in the room or at least a guide to what is available to use during the stay
A choice of breakfasts or ask what the guests want the evening before.
Move the dining experience away from the cooking area where, at present, you feel very awkward.
Background music to set a relaxed ambience whilst dining.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midlands951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Unfortunately is was not we expected. I am unsure how it has 4 stars rating. The house itself is very unusual and quaint. Advertised as 'set beside the river Avon' It is not, you cannot see the river from this building.

If you are looking for cleanliness then it will not be a good choice. There are cobwebs in the dining area and around the rest of the building. The room , other than the bathroom which was spotless, and the bedding was beautifully crisp and clean, dust was to be found everywhere. The bedside lamps were a filthy and when taking the case off the top of the wardrobe it snowed with dust. The glasses on the table were also full of dried on orange juice bits, so I did not use those. The balcony doors hadn't been open for a long while which was obvious due the cobwebs once we opened them and the ivy which was about a foot up the outside of the door.

There are no tea making facilities in the rooms neither. However, you can make your own downstairs where everything is available.

Breakfast is not set menu and you get offered what ever she has in on that day. However, if you specifically ask, Sue will provide your choice for the following day. The food is very nice and homemade extras are tasty.

The toilet seat was broken , Sue informed us that the pins are not long enough. Still not good when you sit on it and you jerk to one side. This was raised and compensation was given, which was very fair.

Sue is very knowledgeable on the area and will give good advice on what you are keen on exploring. On both occasions Sue came up trumps with her choice and we thoroughly enjoyed what she advised.

I wouldn't return and it has given 'conversational memories' to say the least.

I have stayed in much better equipped accommodation and more organized, not really value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews