We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Olde Worlde Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queen Inn

The Queen Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dummer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food and Olde Worlde Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A beautiful and unspoilt pub in the heart of the village with a warm and cosy environment, especially in winter when the log fire is blazing!

The food is always first rate, freshly cooked and tasty and includes a regularly changing menu along with the staples you'd expect for a pub meal. Service is always pleasant and friendly, so I'd welcome a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sixtenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Queen Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoy our lovely old pub and thank you for the review.
The whole point of the Queen Inn is that we are still very much a pub and not a restaurant and the relaxed and friendly atmosphere is what we strive to maintain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    85
    15
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor service ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Good, maybe very good, pub food, wide range on the menu, but the service when we visited was oh so slow. Only 2 staff waiting the tables on a busy bank holiday, meaning having to wait 30 minutes to get starters, 30 mins until second course arrives so no time for dessert as the pub closes at 3pm (!!), spoilt the experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank HuwWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Queen Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I have to say that I was slightly expecting a negative review after such a period of positive comments. It just goes to prove that no matter how hard you try you cannot get it right every time. You are quite right when you say that we were a little under staffed on the Bank Holiday and I can only offer my apologies for that.
Thank you however for your kind comments regarding the food. We have never set out to be a fast food outlet as our dishes are all prepared freshly to order and this does take a little longer. Unfortunately on this occasion it seems that we did in fact take too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great bar and amazing food! This is the kind of place you go once and you wish you could go back every night. Nice cozy place to have a great time.

Helpful?
Thank Ricky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Queen Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words. In just a couple of sentences you have described the atmosphere that we try to achieve at The Queen Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have recently been going to this pub once a week for a meal.
The quality of the food is excellent and their specials board always has a good range.
It is quite pricey, however, it is worth it. The atmosphere is really nice and on colder days they have a great log fire which is really nice.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the service can be a little slow sometimes when they are busy but that reflects on the fact that it is all cooked fresh.
In my experience, the pies seems to take the longest and one evening I had to wait 45 minutes for my meal. But when it arrived, it was delicious :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilBJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Queen Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoy The Queen Inn. I take on board your comment that sometimes we are not the quickest around but as you rightly point out hardly anything on the menu is pre-cooked and this does sometimes mean a slightly longer wait.

The pies that we make on the premises are only ever cooked to order and take about 25 minutes baking time. This, in our opinion, makes for a much better product and as you pointed out our customers always tell us that it was worth the wait.

Thanks again for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub after a long Country Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a lovely Country Pub, in a lovely village setting. Food is excellent. Comprehensive menu and specials board. Enjoy the restaurant or just sit in the pub area and enjoy the atmosphere.
Very popular with locals, though booking for restaurant on week days not essential.
Staff very friendly and welcoming.
Parking limited.
A very, very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 250Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Queen Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is so rewarding when new customers discover The Queen Inn and have a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queen Inn also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
North Waltham, Hampshire
 
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Queen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing