We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PLACE!!!!”
Review of Talamanca Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talamanca Reserve
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Talamanca reserve is a nice place in San Gerardo.
You can go to walk in the garden area or you can go to visit "EL SALTO" waterfall, the view is incredible,you can see the Chirripo mountains.
The staff and service is special and the cabins are very clean. The garden cabins are next to the restaurant so the river cabins are more private, the cabin number five is very nice;Talamanca has a fire place, is traquil and romantic!!
You can also play pin pon, is atractive!!!!
I want to recommend Talamanca Reserve is magnificent!!!
You have to go in this reserve, you can have the better experience in this paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This incredibly well-kept perserve with ten very neat little cabins is a real treasure. The cabins are clean, neat, colorful, artistic and well designed. Bathrooms are very nice and very clean. Beds are quite hard. Set near-by each other, they're all easily accessible. And the reserve property is fascinating. Most hiking is quite steep, so an ATV tour is the best way to get around unless you're a real hiker. The main hall with dining room, patio, lounge area, computers, and even a ping-pong table is especiilly well designed, artistic, dramatic clean, and a great atmosphere. The young staff are super courteous, helpful, and kind. Food is exceptionally good. It's accessible by a 2-wheel vehicle, but about 10 kilometers of dusty dirt road gradually narrower and narrower. But the site itself is clean and kept well. Not dusty at all on the site.

Room Tip: Choose one of the six river cabins, set off by themselves across from a small waterfall. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank macinmaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Talamanca reserve is located 1 kilometer from the entrance of the Chirripo national park, and is in my opinion the best option to stay at if you want to go hiking into the national park. There is a hostel closer by, but that offers less quality and service. The Talamanca reserve has however it's own hiking trails, of which some are very beautiful and challenging. It also includes some of the primary forest.

The cabins itself are basic. I booked the new cabin. The bed is quite hard, and there is no air conditioning. The 'riverside cabins' don't provide a view on the riverside. You can hear it though! In my room I could hear both the clatter of the small waterfall nearby and the stream of the river. I liked both a lot. Internet is not available in the cabins.

The lobby is a few hundred meters from the new cabins (the old cabins are more adjacent to it). The people who run the place call it the ‘living room’, and I can see why. It has some nice and cosy corners (including a fireplace). It altogether breaths a nice atmosphere. The food was very good, and non-fat. They have some nice steaks, and also a menu that changes every day. The service was excellent. Very friendly, and very much ‘according the rules’.
Initially we intended to stay only 2 days, but we changed it to 4. If I had more time, I would have stayed much longer. I surely can recommend it!

Room Tip: Take the new cabin on the river side. A bit further from the lobby, but the sound of the river is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Wiebe_de_Witte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Spotlessly clean, excellent food, extremely well trained friendly staff, free internet for guests! The artistic touches in our cheerful and bright deluxe cabin were lovely.The property is gorgeous with many trails for hiking. We would go back in an instant!!


\

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe cabin and did not see the standard cabins. Cabin #5 had the advantage of havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank toucans38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The Talamanca Reserve is 4,000 acres with lots of hiking trails and waterfalls. Beautiful jungle terrain loaded with birds and animals. When I come back to Costa Rica this is where I will go. You should rent a 4x4 with GPS to get there or you can go by bus. The reserve borders Chiripo National Park. Rent a new river cabin, they are nice. The restaurant has great food and the staff are wonderful. This was the most remote place we stayed and we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank cruiserbruiser001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We moved here from the Rio Chirripo B&B and ended up staying here for two nights. They have two sets of cabins -- old and new. Neither set of cabins have particularly good views, but the new set has much larger windows (and seem much newer and nicer). If you're booking in the off-season, make sure you take advantage of their discount.

This is a beautiful property! They have a fantastic restaurant, a great free internet area, and it was a wonderful place to hike. Try the waterfall hike -- it will take you several hours, but the waterfall was HUGE... make sure you go all the way to the last one (there are a few smaller intermediate waterfalls).

Anyway, a great place to stay and the restaurant / internet cafe gives you a nice place to hang out when it starts raining at 11am every day. :)

Stayed: August 2008
19  Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LauraLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Talamanca Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talamanca Reserve

Address: San Gerardo de Rivas | Pérez Zeledón, San Gerardo, Chirripo National Park 191-8000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park > San Gerardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in San Gerardo
Price Range: £82 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Cloud Forest! Come See The Ten Fabulous Waterfalls of Talamanca. Over 4,000 acres of tropical forest in the mountains, at the foot of Central America's highest mountain, Mt.Chirripo, and the Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica. Miles and miles of inexplicable Beauty. Hiking tours to any of our Ten Waterfalls are available. For people who like to hike, we have different trails that take you to each of our ten waterfalls. You will see an extraordinary variety of flora. We also have verry comfortable accommodations; Cabins, Tours, Internet, and excellent restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Talamanca Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing