We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise! A hidden jem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talamanca Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gerardo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talamanca Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
KINGSTON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise! A hidden jem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We just dropped in to see if they had a vacancy after hiking up in the Cloudbridge Reserve. Thankfully for us there was space and we were able to experience one of the most pleasant surprises on our wonderful trip to Costa Rica!
We were met by the manager, Keneth, as we drove in. Keneth did and excellent job of showing us around the property and was an excellent host. It was easy to see that Keneth runs a good ship. The staff were genuinely happy and doing a great job and taking pride in their work. I'm not sure how much the owners are paying Keneth but it's not enough!
The cabin that we stayed in was clean and neat and allowed us to spread out. The restaurant put on nightly specials that were excellent! The internet was reliable and fast.
There was abundance of birds all around the property. The place also contains a large number of hiking trails which contain some very nice gardens (a fair bit of up and down hiking).
We liked the place so much that we extended our stay. We'd definitely book a cabin here again if we were ever to find ourselves in the neighbourhood! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins that were closest to the restaurant because the internet signal was strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLENN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ixelles, België
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Follow the trail along the river towards the old forest, which impressed us way more than the Cloudbridge Reserve. Impecable rooms, most friendly and helpful staff. Good location for Chirripo. Although non-profit and for the good cause of nature conservation, the kitchen is pricy. I would recommend to lower the restaurant prices, reduce the amount of choice on the menu and only serve fresh food. Hope the place will get a bit less empty that way, because the reserve definitely deserves more visitors.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cvelghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I stayed just one night here, and we were very happy with the accommodations. We stopped in late in the day needing a place to stay for the night and we had a welcome reception The cabin was clean, and the manager was very concerned about customer satisfaction. He spoke very good English and was sincerely interested in seeing that we enjoyed our stay. I wish that we had known how much the reserve had to offer in nature walks before arriving as we would have planned more days to stay here. The food at the restaurant was very good, and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. This is a place that we intend to return to on a future trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EEUU
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Talamanca reserve is a nice place in San Gerardo.
You can go to walk in the garden area or you can go to visit "EL SALTO" waterfall, the view is incredible,you can see the Chirripo mountains.
The staff and service is special and the cabins are very clean. The garden cabins are next to the restaurant so the river cabins are more private, the cabin number five is very nice;Talamanca has a fire place, is traquil and romantic!!
You can also play pin pon, is atractive!!!!
I want to recommend Talamanca Reserve is magnificent!!!
You have to go in this reserve, you can have the better experience in this paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanville, Maine
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This incredibly well-kept perserve with ten very neat little cabins is a real treasure. The cabins are clean, neat, colorful, artistic and well designed. Bathrooms are very nice and very clean. Beds are quite hard. Set near-by each other, they're all easily accessible. And the reserve property is fascinating. Most hiking is quite steep, so an ATV tour is the best way to get around unless you're a real hiker. The main hall with dining room, patio, lounge area, computers, and even a ping-pong table is especiilly well designed, artistic, dramatic clean, and a great atmosphere. The young staff are super courteous, helpful, and kind. Food is exceptionally good. It's accessible by a 2-wheel vehicle, but about 10 kilometers of dusty dirt road gradually narrower and narrower. But the site itself is clean and kept well. Not dusty at all on the site.

Room Tip: Choose one of the six river cabins, set off by themselves across from a small waterfall. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank macinmaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Talamanca reserve is located 1 kilometer from the entrance of the Chirripo national park, and is in my opinion the best option to stay at if you want to go hiking into the national park. There is a hostel closer by, but that offers less quality and service. The Talamanca reserve has however it's own hiking trails, of which some are very beautiful and challenging. It also includes some of the primary forest.

The cabins itself are basic. I booked the new cabin. The bed is quite hard, and there is no air conditioning. The 'riverside cabins' don't provide a view on the riverside. You can hear it though! In my room I could hear both the clatter of the small waterfall nearby and the stream of the river. I liked both a lot. Internet is not available in the cabins.

The lobby is a few hundred meters from the new cabins (the old cabins are more adjacent to it). The people who run the place call it the ‘living room’, and I can see why. It has some nice and cosy corners (including a fireplace). It altogether breaths a nice atmosphere. The food was very good, and non-fat. They have some nice steaks, and also a menu that changes every day. The service was excellent. Very friendly, and very much ‘according the rules’.
Initially we intended to stay only 2 days, but we changed it to 4. If I had more time, I would have stayed much longer. I surely can recommend it!

Room Tip: Take the new cabin on the river side. A bit further from the lobby, but the sound of the river is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Wiebe_de_Witte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Spotlessly clean, excellent food, extremely well trained friendly staff, free internet for guests! The artistic touches in our cheerful and bright deluxe cabin were lovely.The property is gorgeous with many trails for hiking. We would go back in an instant!!


\

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe cabin and did not see the standard cabins. Cabin #5 had the advantage of havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank toucans38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
#1 of 1 in San Gerardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.8 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
7.0 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#2 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Montana El Descanso
Hotel de Montana El Descanso
#1 of 3 in San Gerardo De Rivas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
21.5 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talamanca Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talamanca Reserve

Property: Talamanca Reserve
Address: San Gerardo de Rivas | Pérez Zeledón, San Gerardo, Chirripo National Park 191-8000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park > San Gerardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in San Gerardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Cloud Forest! Come See The Ten Fabulous Waterfalls of Talamanca. Over 4,000 acres of tropical forest in the mountains, at the foot of Central America's highest mountain, Mt.Chirripo, and the Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica. Miles and miles of inexplicable Beauty. Hiking tours to any of our Ten Waterfalls are available. For people who like to hike, we have different trails that take you to each of our ten waterfalls. You will see an extraordinary variety of flora. We also have verry comfortable accommodations; Cabins, Tours, Internet, and excellent restaurant and bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing