We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed!”
Review of Agama River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agama River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed recently for one night with 3 friends on way back from Sossoslvei.Should have kept going!Was expecting a very different experience as Agama was recommended to me and the images on their website looked spectacular.However it turned out to be a real disappointment.No warmth in the welcome,rooms were clean but basic.Food was poor and we felt rushed to finish.I asked the manager to turn down the piped music which was playing loudly as we relaxed before dinner.It continued right through dinner which drowned the night sounds which we would have preferred to listen to.The pool was also filthy and a health hazard.The offer to sleep on the roof of our chalets on a camp bed was a nice touch but overall Agama needs to try harder.

Room Tip: All rooms look the same.Clean but no frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResDest, Director of Sales at Agama River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your view of Agama River Camp on Trip Advisor.

As a Tour guide, we appreciate your advice received during your stay and we gladly followed your requests with a smile.

Most of our guests don't appreciate dirty, empty plates laying on the table once the have finished eating and we apologize if you felt that by keeping your table clean you were being rushed, it was not our intention.

We play music in the background during dinner and we were happy to turn it down for you as per your request.

Our pools are cleaned twice daily because of the wind and the sand that one will find in the desert.

Our aim is to please and to provide the best we possibly can at very reasonable prices and we understand that Agama River Camp may not be to your expectation or the recommendation you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed as a couple in Agama River camp for (unfortunatly only!) two nights here on our drive-our-own-trip through Namibia last November. Our travel agent recommanded this camp to us and we can only highly recommand it to anyone! The Agama river Camp half way between Solitaire and Sossusvlei was our very favouritve place in Namibia to stay!! We absolutly loved the scenery and beautiful atmospere at the camp! We stayed in one of the chalets (simple but everything you need, very comfortable kingsize bed, spacious room and very cool sundeck which is also nice for glancing at the stars). The camp has a very personal touch of the owners and we loved how the owner Jon talked with us about the everyday life and gave us very good advice what to do (e.g. take a drink at a close by lodge with an extra attraction fossil dunes). We absolutly loved the combination of personal touch and VERY GOOD FOOD! With a 3 other persons we were the only people staying at the camp but still the service and meals were simply perfect. The gourmet-chef who taught the local chef about the dinner came to us and told us whats for dinner (e.g. filled chicken with champagne-sauce!) and I have to say, we had the best dinners (2!) here in Agama River camp during our whole trip! The owner told us, her would rather care about the personal touch and good food in the camp than having build hundreds of apartments and host as many people as he can. The service was really good and done by some local woman who were very nice and caring. Our adivce is to drink a sundowner at the top of the main area and enjoy the lovley sunset in the beautiful desert area. In the main area there is also free WLAN. The pool is also really nice with clean cold water which is very refreshing during the day.
At the first day we drove with our own car to visit the dunes and Sossusvlei by ourselves (45 min.-drive on good roads) and a good advice was to get the permit and pay for it not when entering the national park (you would miss a couple of minutes during the sunrise) but when leaving the park. And make sure you do not climb the first dune which everyone goes up to!
Also if you want to do extraordinary tours (e.g. if you have already seen the main attractions death vlei & Sossusvlei) the owner of Agama Rvier camp, Jon can take you on a special tour where tourists normally don´t go.
So after all, if we visit Namibia again, we will always come back to Agama River camp!! GREAT STAY!!

Room Tip: All chalets are really nice and not stuck close together so it doesn´t matter which one you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We spent three night and it was absolutely amazing to enjoy the peaceful and quiet area around the lodge. There is "nothing" to do besides of watching the sunset, enjoying stars and really coming down from the normal stress life. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need. Special
Recommendations is the delicious dinner and sleeping at the roof top. The staff is friendly, helpful and we felt very welcoming. If you need a few days to switch off, this is the place to go for. We were relaxed already after one day and could then drive easily to sossousvlei.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2013. Accommodation was very comfortable, staff were friendly and the home cooked food was awesome. We were a big crowd who took over the place, but they managed with ease. Sunsets on the upstairs deck are very special against the backdrop of the desert.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The website and the visuals do not do full justice to this beautiful property run by Monique and Jon Leach. Located 30km from the Sesirem gate which serves as the entry point to the Desert National park, the chalets are ringed by a range of hills which provide a spectacular sun set setting. No need to drive anywhere but take your choice of tipple to the rooftop and watch the colors change around you. The chalets are comfortable and have all the required facilities and are well spread over their beautiful grounds. Add to this a couple of plunge pools, some gourmet food (thanks to Alexa their friend and chef par excellence), the wonderful warm and helpful approach of the owners and you have the recipe of a wonderful stay ---- I can’t think of going anywhere else if we revisit the Namib desert!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Agama River Camp for 1 night on the 22 December 2013 and we are sad that we did not stay for 2 nights! The place is amazing, the staff is friendly the food is out of this world!

We really felt at home there and were sad that we had to leave. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissadebruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour so I am unable to comment on value for money etc but this was the best place I stayed on the whole trip. Everything was lovely. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was delicious especially the dinners. The bungalows were spacious, clean and very well appointed. Each has its own roof terrace from which to star gaze. Free teas and coffee etc in the main reception. Would highly recommend and it is very handy for Sesriem and Dune 45.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitaire
0 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
359 reviews
0 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
296 reviews
0 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
0 mi away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 9 in Sesriem
849 reviews
0 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agama River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agama River Camp

Address: C19-Sossusvlei | Diep Rivier 403- Sossusvlei, Solitaire, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Solitaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Solitaire
Price Range: £140 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agama River Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Agama River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing