We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to break your journey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solitaire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Namibgrens Guest Farm
London
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A place to break your journey”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We spent a night at the Guest Farm on the journey from Windhoek to Walvis Bay, for which it was ideal. It meant we had a leisurely day's birdwatching from Windhoek and were able to reach the Spreetshoogte Pass early the next morning. The farm itself is quite isolated and pleasantly quiet. We visited their dam to see what birds were around, but, sadly, the two big dogs accompanied us, chasing off the wildlife. The room was comfortable, if a little twee, had a small bathroom partitioned from one corner and a door wwhich was almost impossible to unlock. At one stage I thought I might have to use the window to get out! There was a set menu for dinner, which was fine withough being very exciting and breakfast was pretty standard. Despite its location, I'm not sure I would want to use this hotel as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Diamant, Martinique
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

After 3 weeks camping in Namibia , we wanted to relax in a quite luxury place . Namibgrens has only the price luxury . It's just a shame .The area is OK but the price is just 3 times more than it should be .
Only the 2 big dogs are really friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solitaire hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a wonderful one-night stay in one of the villas. The villas themselves are built right into the stone of the area and the architecture is absolutely astounding. There was an open shower and a large stone bathtub. It was fully equipped, extremely clean, and the view was lovely. It was fairly cheap and very close to the Spreetshoogte Pass. We had an absolutely delicious dinner which included prepared salads, veggies and fresh beef steaks from the farm which we cooked ourselves in the villa. I would recommend bringing breakfast provisions as the breakfast the next day in the main house was tasty but boring and kind of pricey, especially compared to the dinner feast. The villas face west and we had a spectacular sunset. Our only gripe was that there was a very distressed bat stuck in our villa in the evening flying around the very high ceilings, which we could do nothing about. There was no way to contact the owners without driving back to the main house (not sure what they could have done about it either). In the end we just locked ourselves into the bedroom and tried to ignore it. Managed to have a very good night sleep anyway.

I highly recommend Namibgrens for a relaxing holiday away from Windhoek or to break up the trip to Sossusvlei and have a bit of different scenery. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for two nights on Namibgrens' campsite. Each campsite has its own outdoor-shower, outdoor-toilet and lounge area with fireplace and sink. Everything is nicely and creatively set up with lots of space, but the price of NAD 140 per person per night is well overpriced. We stayed on other campsites in Namibia that charged less and were newer and the fire wood and toilet paper were included. There are hikes on the property and we enjoyed the shortest hike very much. It took us to a view point that was very rewarding.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I recently visited Namibgrens and I can highly recommend their unique accommodation to any travelers visiting Namibia. They offer camping with all the facilities including two rock swimming pools. The new villas are breathtaking and really unique. The villas are built into the rocks and they are built with the natural resources found on the farm so you get the feeling of natural luxury. I can highly recommend it and the prices are really affordable. Go see it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I booked a room at Namibgrens because I would like to do some hikes. I was not very impressed with the room, old furniture, old matrasses... The next day I went for a 5 hour hike.... I was suposed to stay for 2 nights. I cheked out the next morning, but first I went out to do a 5 hour hike. I started around 8.30, but the grass was so high, you could'n find the marks easily. I spent more than 9 hours in the bush, before they came to look for me. It was too late to drive over the pass, so I had to stay an other night. The next morning the lady told me that they also have nice rooms... Why didn't she put me in one of these rooms, I was the only guest there????!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We booked Nambigrens on the strength that it was a convenient stop off between Sessriem and Windhoek and for Bobby the goat/sheep herding baboon who we had seen on TV. (I know, we are a bit star struck at times!) The farm is in a great location at the top of the Spreethoogte Pass. Essentially in the middle of nowhere. It is a working farm and provides functional but very celan accomodation and hearty farm food for dinner and breakfast. You can stay here longer than a night and enjoy walking or driving around the area. Very friendly people, clean accomodation, good food. Recommended. As for Bobby, well I'm afraid he is no more - RIP.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solitaire
0.0 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#11 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#14 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#4 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namibgrens Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namibgrens Guest Farm

Property: Namibgrens Guest Farm
Address: 1275 Spreetshoogte Pass, road D, Solitaire, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Solitaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Solitaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury is simple...Operating farm...Villas, standard room and camping. Offering hiking trails, bird watching, 4X4 trails and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing