We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in one of the superior rooms for my birthday, wife my wife and daughter. The room was lovely and spacious with a lounge that backed onto the gorgeous grounds. The only downside was the patio door had dropped so had real trouble locking it once open. There was also a signifcant crack in one of the walls. This was a shame because the room size and location were great. I repored this and although the staff were apologetic, perhaps a small refund could have been offered as the door problem stopped us opening it out. Aside from that, the grounds are beautiful, the staff were pleasant. Mention of the breakfast - different options from the norm and great quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Ghyll Manor Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Regarding your notes about the room, we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    172
    89
    48
    16
See reviews for
76
312
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We got wed here on the 3rd August 2013, just 2 weeks ago today!

To say my expectation was set very high is an understatement, I used to work at Ghyll Manor as the F&B Manager, it was the place I moved 300 miles to work at 12 years ago and the place I met my wife. So the hotel is not only a special place for us but I'd also like to think that I could still turn my hand to managing the place and running a wedding there too. Some might say I am therefore biased in my comments but I'd suggest I'm the opposite. I think I might be Andy's most awkward groom this year (sorry Andy).

But here's the thing, I couldn't have done it better and we wouldn't have changed a thing about our day. The place is lovely, most of the rooms are 5 star standard, and the service was of a high standard too. Andy made sure the day ran perfectly and all our guests were complimentary.

If you're considering Ghyll Manor for your wedding then go ahead, you won't be disappointed.

Thanks to all the Ghyll Manor team.

Richard & Leanne

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Congratulations Richard and Leanne, and thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. A fantastic wedding, with so much meaning for you both! We are thoroughly delighted you have highlighted the service and staff, together with our rooms – we had a hard act to follow, especially Andy!

We look forward to seeing you both soon,
Nicola
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Two years ago We booked this hotel for our daughters wedding. Yesterday we had a fantastic day there. The staff are well organised and nothing was to much trouble. We liked attention to detail and planned this day very closely with Karen the wedding coordinator. She has been amazing with taking on board everything we asked for. Nothing has been to much trouble and over the two years we chopped and changed and she moved along with us. Giving advice where asked for and support where needed. She had all the information that had been recorded on each visit during the planning and this was passed on to Andy the MC on the day. Where he executed the day In detail perfectly for us. He was always on hand all day and he stayed with us until the very end. He also managed an excellent team that kept our day on track and seamless. The food was cooked to perfection for 70 people and it was brilliant. we had the pork tenderloin, goodness me!!! delicious . We could go on for days. However, if anyone out there is looking for a fantastic place to have a wedding reception or just to chill out, don't go around the county looking, we have done that for you , trust me there is no where better so save your petrol.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtonharlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Wow, a fantastic review! We are truly honoured to read your passionate words, and how you all had a memorable wedding with us. Every wedding should be personalised to individual requirements and we feel proud that we were able to provide Mark and Kate and their family and friends a day to cherish and remember for many years to come. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the tripadvisor community.

Congratulations Mark and Kate from the whole team at Ghyll Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a fantastic hotel with a lot of charm and character in the English countryside. Rusper is a quaint small village and the surrounding countryside is beautiful.

We recently got married here, the wedding was absolutely perfect, beyond our high expectations! The day ran like a dream due to the hard work and the dedication of the staff who are so friendly and helpful. The service at the hotel was fantastic – all the staff go out of their way to help you.

The rooms are delightful – each with their own style and very comfortable. We were fortunate enough to stay in ‘Four Poster’ – the Bridal Suite. It is absolutely stunning!!! With a wonderful view of the grounds, huge spacious bathroom and all the features you would expect from a classic room. I cannot recommend it enough and was sad to leave it. We love it so much we hope to go back to celebrate our one year anniversary!

The food here is a delicious. We tried several selections from the tasting menu and we particularly loved the roast rib of beef. They also accommodated dietary requirements really well, when they knew in advance. It is quite a tailored service, so the price is higher, but the quality and service is worth every penny. Everyone loved the food at our wedding.

Some of guests tried the afternoon tea here the day before which was very enjoyable. The English breakfast was very popular the morning after.

All of our guests absolutely loved the hotel – from the wonderful gardens with their interesting features to explore, to the covered walkways and archways – so full of character. The feedback about their bed rooms was extremely high – comfortable beds, spacious and nicely decorated. Our rooms were mostly by the Hunsdon Hall, but those who stayed in the main house like ourselves loved their rooms too.

The feedback on the staff was extremely high – despite having our wedding, a wedding the next day and a wedding fair, everything ran so smoothly and they went out of their way to accommodate our various requirements and many guests!

We cannot thank the staff at Ghyll Manor enough for their excellent service and helpfulness in making our day perfect. Andrew, Karen and the team – thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hezel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Congratulations Mr and Mrs Lloyd!! To describe your wedding with us as beyond your high expectation is high praise indeed - It sounds as if you had a fantastic wedding. It is lovely to hear how much you were able to enjoy the charm of the house and grounds, and even ‘4Poster’ with its impressive views. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. To receive praise for our helpfulness and friendliness means so very much to each team member who wish you all the very best for the future.

Best wishes,
Ghyll Manor Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a feature room (rafters) on arrival and all I can say is wow!!

4 poster bed
Living room
Massive shower
Beautiful grounds
Excellent and helpful staff
Delicious full english breakfast
Everything about this hotel was perfect in every way
Definitely should be more than a 3*
Would go again in a flash!
Thank you for making our stay wonderful :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyandterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Lovely review of Ghyll Manor, thank you! Rafters is a fantastic suite with its quirky character. Our recently refurbished room in the main house is simply stunning too with a real mix of modern décor and traditional beams, still overlooking the gorgeous grounds! Too many individually designed rooms for your next visit!

Best wishes,
Nicola Cribb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel was a find. Service was first class, food excellent, parking great. Very private rooms and extensive gardens. Impressed with the quality of the rooms and general environment. Village of Rusper is a pleasant surrounding even given the Gatwick airport flight path being a only mile or so away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maclpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review! Our house and gardens certainly provide a secluded an elegant setting for our guests, and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy your time with us. We have some wonderful leisure packages throughout the year so please do contact us at reservations@ghyllmanor.co.uk and we will be more than happy to plan your next escape with us.

Best wishes,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent a weekend (Fri - Mon) here and had a really nice time. The Staff could not be more helpful, friendly and courteous, despite the fact that all weekend they had Weddings and Wedding Fairs to deal with. The food was of good quality although the room service sandwiches we ordered had bread which was quite dry. The meals were a wee bit on the expensive side as well. Very resting and peaceful atmosphere in cottage despite Wedding receptions going on till late. The local village is beautiful and has 2 really nice pubs which do very good food. Will visit again for sure!

Room Tip: Cottages are very peaceful, sitting room furniture could be more comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ghyll Manor Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the warm welcome from our team and that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very keen to receive feedback and generally receive good feedback regarding our pricing. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your helpful review and we will see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,587 reviews
9.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
9.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
6.5 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
347 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant is a Rosette award winning, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rusper, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing