We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've been staying at Ghyll Manor regularly for about 20 years. The hotel and grounds are delightful, and there's never a problem with car parking. Rooms are very comfortable and always clean; those in the main building are full of character and have great views of the grounds. Rusper is a pretty village and has two excellent traditional pubs, both of which are less than 5 mins walk from the hotel. The Ghyll Manor Restaurant is also excellent. The hotel staff are always cheerful, friendly, considerate and efficient. Ghyll Manor is well-placed for Gatwick, Horsham and Crawley, but is in such a lovely rural setting you would hardly know. The hotel doesn't seem to promote its guest wifi (perhaps it does and I haven't seen it) but it's free, works well, and seems to be accessible from all rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear David S,

We really appreciate your positive feedback about Ghyll Manor, particularly commenting on our team’s friendliness. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Nicola
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for one night last month on Travelzoo deal before flying to SE Asia for a holiday. The welcome from Elisha on reception was excellent, couldn't be more helpful. The weather was awful and we really enjoyed the cream tea (part of the deal) sat in a comfortable lounge in front of a log fire.
Although we stayed in a standard room this was perfectly acceptable, but we took the opportunity to view the best rooms in the hotel which looked really lovely. Very large and comfortable. We would certainly consider booking one of these on another visit.
Dinner was very good - my wife really enjoyed the fish. Very well presented although disappointing there were so few people in the restaurant. However, it was a Monday evening.
Dreadfully wet morning the following day, but the Hotel Manager, Peter, again made us welcome by bringing tea, coffee and biscuits to the warmth of the lounge whilst we waited for the hours to pass before moving on to the airport.
Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin whalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us before departing for SE Asia. Thank you for your recognition of our staff, particularly Alysha and Peter for their efforts in making you comfortable in the warmth of the Manor.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and to experience the charm of our superior and feature suites in the Manor House.

Kind regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

we stayed here 20 years ago when first married and we returned for a night for our 20th wedding anniversary! We were not disappointed…we stayed in the Rafters room which was like an apartment separate lounge, bedroom and huge bathroom!!
We arrived to have afternoon tea which was cream tea, cream sponge cake and walnut and banana cake all wonderful! the lounge is a relaxing place but had it been warmer we could have taken the tea on the patio.
The 3 course dinner was very good! The service was friendly and attentive. the next morning we had breakfast and this was a wide choice of cereals, fruit juices and fresh fruit. Either tea or coffee and then cooked breakfast which my husband enjoyed and i had smoked salmon with scrambled egg which was tasty! On the menu it said pastries but we did not see these but to be honest had no room left! The grounds are beautiful but look like they need some attention as the spring arrives!
We were so pleased we returned to this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploretheworld29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you so much for your kind review, we very much enjoyed having you back at Ghyll Manor on the occasion of your 20th anniversary, and I was pleased to hear how thoroughly you appreciated your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon, hopefully in less than another 20 years time!!

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked the Ghyll manor through the travelzoo package and enjoyed everything about it, the staff were very friendly and professional and was nice to experience good old fashion customer service which a lot of hotels lack these days. We upgraded to a feature room and was very pleased when we opened the door to The Rafters Suite, it was a large room which spread across the roof of the hotel and included a lounge, bedroom and very large bathroom with double shower. The cream tea included in the price was very good as was the evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant, the hotel has lovely grounds to explore on a nice day and we would look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: upgrade to a feature room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwwrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ghyll Manor soon.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visited Ghyll Manor on a package from Travelzoo. The staff were indeed pleasant and friendly and there was a lot to like but, as others have pointed out, there is also plenty of room for improvement.
The room (we'd chosen to upgrade to a superior room) was large, clean, comfortable with exposed beams. It also had a four-poster bed - an unnecessary addition if you are going to make a feature of the exposed beams. The room was also rather warm. We did our best to adjust the temperature by turning radiators off and opening the windows but I suspect we must have been above a heat source. The bathroom was clean but the decor and fittings were rather outdated.
As for the bar and restaurant, we ordered champagne from the bar before our evening meal. Although this turned out to be corked, the barman handled this very well. Not only did he immediately offer us fresh glasses, he opened a bottle of a more expensive champagne. That was the highlight of the evening's service. In the restaurant, staff seemed willing but some at least were poorly trained. There were so many little things that could have been done better. For example, we asked for a jug of water for the table and instead were poured two glasses which were not replenished. When I pointed this out I was told "You could have asked for more water". The bread rolls had not been warmed through and they did not have our first two choices from the wine list, despite the list being very limited. (The wine, when we finally found a bottle they had, was poor). The food itself was mixed. My husband was very happy with his main course (the shin of beef), and mine (the fish cake) was tasty but I suspect came from a catering company, as did the lemon tart (and its thick, soggy pastry). On the other hand, we had no complaints about breakfast - or the service at breakfast - the following morning.

The hotel itself seems to be struggling and is relying on weddings, other events (murder mystery nights) and Travelzoo offers to get the punters in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siriolhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Ghyll Manor. Unfortunately, it is quite difficult from your feedback to tell whether overall, you enjoyed your stay with us or not; I would hope that despite the aspects of restaurant service you mention, where you felt greater attention to detail was required, you did in fact appreciate your visit.

We will take on board the points you have mentioned, and I shall discuss with my managers, those areas where improvements or staff re-training is required. With regard to the food itself, please rest assured that absolutely nothing we serve comes from a 'catering company' as you suggest; all dishes are prepared and cooked to order, and our Head Chef is extremely passionate about the seasonality and provenance of ingredients he uses. I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast in the morning.

I am uncertain as to why you would think Ghyll Manor to be 'struggling' as you put it; we have a broad and strong business base of both leisure and corporate guests, and we are also fortunate enough to enjoy a thriving wedding and events market. The Travelzoo offer you took advantage of is a tremendous value opportunity, which we make available only once annually, for a limited period.

I am sorry that you did not feel able to discuss these points with us during your stay, as we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any concerns you may have had at the time. Nevertheless, your constructive criticism is important to us.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife booked a one night stay at this hotel at a special rate. The hotel staff were pleasant and friendly and the room was very good, although as our room was on the ground floor in the "new" build part of the hotel, we couldn't leave our windows open while we were out as they were not lockable in place. The bed and pillows were comfortable and we had a pleasant night.

Our food was excellent, both main evening meal and breakfast (not forgetting the cream tea!) The wine we had was quite expensive when compared to other places (£21 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio!!)

We enjoyed our stay which was intended as a belated Valentine's date.

We recommend this hotel, despite the price, and consider it reasonable. However, I would recommend getting a deal if possible!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "new build" are probably more up to date!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for excellent review, and I am very pleased that you had such an ejoyable stay with us.

We are genuinely commited to proving our guests with outstanding service and amenities, at an affordable price - i.e. true value for money. We are also, by coincidence, about to change and update our wine list, and will of course ensure that the pricing is competetive within the local area.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at Ghyll Manor some years ago so I was really looking forward to another visit. Overall we were very disappointed with the hotel. Our room was large and comfortable with a seating area and lots of windows, however the bathroom was below the standard we would expect for this price of hotel. The bathroom needs a complete make over, this was made worse by the fact it was dirty, the window and blinds looked like they hadn't been cleaned for several months. Unfortunately my husband forgot his toiletries so we were pleased to see that you could buy various items from the reception. However when he rang to request the toiletries he was advised that they didn't have any. It is not the level of service you expect, it was only about 6pm so I would have thought that someone would have gone and purchased what was required seeing as it was advertised as a service. We couldn't fault the food and service we had at a function in the evening but we wouldn't recommend a visit purely for the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Ghyll Manor, and I was sorry to see that you did not appear to have enjoyed your visit as we would have wished.

The particular accommodation you stayed in is being completely refurbished this year as part of our ongoing plan, and will provide an outstanding level of comfort once complete. Specifically in terms of the bathroom, I do agree that it does now need modernising, however the housekeeping standards are usually excellent, therefore I am surprised by your comments in this regard.

With regard to the lack of complimentary toiletries available, please accept my apologies for this; we had run short of the requested items and did not receive replacement stock until after your departure. Unfortunately, it would not have been feasible to have a staff member drive to Horsham, which is 20 minutes distant, to purchase them at the time.

I do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ghyll Manor, I am certain that on your next visit you will thoroughly enjoy all aspects of your stay.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
9.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
173 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range: £84 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant is a Rosette award winning, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rusper, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing