We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with amazing rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel with amazing rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked a one night stay at this hotel with a Travelzoo offer, including a cream tea on arrival, a 3 course dinner & full English breakfast. the food & service were all really good, but the best part was our room. We stayed in 'Rose', which was huge with lots of original features & absolutely beautiful. It had windows on both sides of the room & both views were stunning. I would definitely recommend it & will hopefully be going there again sometime.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a feature room & were so pleased we did. I'm sure the standard rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. When you next visit, you must come and stay in one of recently refurbished rooms as well; one in our main house is simply stunning with a real mix of modern décor and traditional beams, still overlooking the gorgeous grounds! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    166
    83
    46
    17
See reviews for
76
304
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Attended a family wedding in April. In view of this wanted to be there with them throughout the occasion and so paid more than I would normally consider. That said, I do have to say that the setting is fabulous and the bedroom was set out to an extremely high standard. The food & service was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 424stevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was lovely to read your positive feedback about Ghyll Manor following your stay for a family wedding . We do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived for scones and afternoon tea, followed by a sumptuous dinner. Excellent service. Comfortable warm room. Delightful surroundings. Breakfast was very good although the service was a little disorganised. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vivrml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to us and I have passed your feedback onto our Heads of Department with regards to Breakfast service to act upon where necessary. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Travelzoo Deal, included DB & B, and Cream Tea.
We decided to upgrade to the feature rooms which are located within the main original building, the rooms were Pink and Rafters, they were both beautiful, and IMHO well worth the upgrade cost of £40 per room.
The Hotel is set in gorgeous grounds, with some financial input and TLC the surrounding grounds, ponds, fountain, external furniture, could be amazing.
The Lounge Bar for pre-dinner drinks was very comfortable, would have liked to have seen draught beer available not just bottles.
Our dinner was top quality, we all praised the presentation of the tasty 3 course meal that we all enjoyed.
The wine was a touch expensive but the quality of the two bottles we shared were top notch.
Sleep quality was good with no noise from the nearby Gatwick aircraft.
We found all the staff to be polite and helpful during our stay.
After dinner we went to the local pub The Star which was nice and busy and only a 2 min walk away.
Also if you get the chance you must visit the Royal Oak which is a 2 min drive, a truly unique local country pub, that specialises in Real Ales and Scrumpy.
We would not hesitate recommending this Hotel for a romantic break and look forward in a return visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LIMPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay, and we are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You are absolutely right in pointing out that the time has come for a refreshment of the public areas, and we are a beginning an 18-month project of significant investment into this. I are sure you will be most impressed with the result, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Ghyll Manor to see some of the improvements.

Kindest Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed two nights for a wedding. Not far from Gatwick airport. Old, manor house set in a beautiful garden. Nice, comfy rooms, good breakfast and pleasent staff. Not much else to see, but an old church and some pubs near by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwaycouple222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We hope you enjoyed the wedding celebrations on your recent visit to us. The countryside setting and quaint village really do typify the charm of Ghyll Manor – We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a summer escape!

Kindest Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our son was married here and we had a room for my wife and I and two grandchildren. The hotel itself was in magnificent grounds. The building itself was sprawling but not unpleasant. Prices at the bar were somewhat extortionate. The breakfast was excellent for ordinary guests on our first night but the buffet breakfast post wedding was poor. The hotel managed the wedding excellently. Our room was very large and the four of us did not feel at all squashed. The shower in the bathroom was very poor. Decor was adequate if rather tired. At £205 per night it was a little overpriced. Service was generally very good with one exception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your visit and son's wedding at Ghyll Manor recently, I was pleased to see how much you enjoyed the event overall, particualy in terms of service and the day itself. Your points with regard to the the shower and some parts of the decor are taken on board, this particular room will shortly be refurbished, and we will take your thoughts into account. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Ghyll Manor on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal through the CSMA and were very impressed and a real bargain to boot! Hotel was very clean and tidy and the three course dinner was excellent. A special mention goes to the waiting staff, who were very attentive without being overly so. Breakfast was also good with nothing being too much trouble.

Our room was in the newer part of the hotel which had a nice modern bathroom and an absolute joy of a power shower! The free Wi-Fi signal was excellent (for those like me that can’t do without that sort of thing!!) and the hotel grounds are worth a wander around – we went via the Star Inn in downtown Rusper ;)

If I had to find any faults, the TV signal wasn’t very good and the pillows were a bit shapeless and lumpy, but that is purely personal preference. The small desk that constitutes the hotel reception is a bit odd too.

All-in-all a very pleasant offspring free night away! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your visit to Ghyll Manor. I will be delighted to pass over your lovely comments to our team.

Kindest Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
9.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
9.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
6.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
22.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rusper, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing