We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal great location”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited for a meal only and we're not disappointed. At first we were a bit put off because it's a set price three course menu but this wasn't an issue as the choices were all to our liking and the food was well presented and tasty.
We will definitely return as the hotel is very welcoming and great to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Joe,

Thank you for your comments about the Restaurant and for complementing our food. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regads,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    174
    89
    48
    16
See reviews for
76
316
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bergheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for a week in the cottage and enjoyed every day in it.
Comfortable beds, very well equipped kitchen, good bathroom, parking lot in front of the cottage.
We had dinner in the restaurant of Ghyll Manor once and it was really good, though I would have preferred a menu with prices on it. It's a bit embarrassing to ask for them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Inge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your week’s stay with us at Ghyll Cottage. Thank you for recommending Ghyll Cottage to all Trip Advisor travellers.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel on two occasions. The first room which we stayed in was a standard double. This was large, clean and well equipped and had a four poster bed, a very high bed to climb into. . The room was the furthest from the main hotel and restaurant and we had to walk through the covered walk ways, which were a little dark. If the weather had been bad it would have been awful. The second stay was in an upgraded room, this was a suite over looking the garden and was very nice but still accessed through a walk way and not in the main hotel building.
This was part of a DBB deal and the meal and breakfast were excellent and good value.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with mobility, I would ask for a room near to the car park. Our rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moirayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Ghyll Manor and staying with us. We do have several categories of bedroom, the main house rooms being our Feature rooms which are all delightful, and full of original character. These rooms really do typify the charm of Ghyll Manor for your next stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked as CSMA members so got an advantageous rate and stayed on a Sunday night for an even better rate as we just wanted a short break and were visiting relatives on the south coast.

We brought a large dog and therefore stayed in a small quiet cottage in the grounds with parking outside which was ideal for what we wanted. Small comfortable sitting room and large bedroom with 6ft bed and 5ft duvet which was an exercise in compromise and fortunately it was a mild night!

The dining room was about half full with people like ourselves and very relaxing, Excellent service and plenty of choice on the menu - good solid food with some variety - not fine dining but interesting enough and value for money. Wine list was fine with glasses of reasonable wine for £4.50. Breakfast was good. There was a very pleasant lounge and the exterior of the building is very attractive as were the grounds and there are walks from the hotel, detailed in a little booklet they provide.

The hotel is close to the flight path for gatwick but there was no noise pollution.

I can see that the hotel might not suit everyone and might struggle if it was particularly busy, but it was an ideal choice for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollySalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Holly,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Ghyll Manor, and I was pleased to note that there were many aspects of your visit which you enjoyed as we would have wished.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a night away with my boyfriend as a birthday treat. It was fine, we had a nice time, but really nothing special. The hotel looks very lovely as you pull up, and maybe the main hotel is somewhat different, but the annex room we were in felt very much like the rooms reserved for those booking cheap deals. Although that 'cheap deal' was still over £100 for the night, which for what is essentially bed and breakfast I didn't think was great value. The room was fine, nice and clean, but the bathroom was very tired and rough around the edges and could really do with being freshened up. The double bed also felt like a very small double. The hotel is right under the Gatwick flight path but I can't say that really bothered us. Overall...fine...but not sure we'll rush back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room, which I'm guessing would be in the main house and a bit nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and staying with us however I was disappointed to learn that your accommodation did not meet your expectations, and I would like to reassure you that your comments have been taken on board. We would be delighted if you would feel able to return to Ghyll Manor and experience one of our Feature bedrooms in the main house. They are all delightful, and genuinely full of the character you would expect of us.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. Had a few problems.
First of all, the "receception" consists of a desk stuck in a hallway with a laptop on it. This is where you check in, and you can't always find someone.
Secondly, the room. We stayed in Maple room, which is quite a walk from the main complex and can be quite difficult to locate at first. The bathroom was well equipped, although a bit rough around the edges with paintwork and tiling etc. The toilet is also INCREDIBLY low down, we couldn't really work out why. Same goes for the room, rough painting in some places and just in general need of a good refurb.
The tea and coffee making facilities are on a low table, the kettle almost on the floor which there is no need for.
Although the bed was very comfy, I'd say it was a small double, making it difficult for a couple to sleep on.
The breakfast the following morning was okay, but nothing special. The scrambled egg looked revolting, and the food was rather cold, although of good quality. No tea and coffee making faclities, you have to keep asking for it, and there's a lack of staff to ask. No choice to eat outside either as all place were made up indoors and if the restaurant is full and you've arrived later than everyone else, you'll struggle to get a place.
Also important to note that a SMALL bottle of coke at the bar costs £2.25... and it barely fills the glass.
Upon checking out, we were charged £130 for the night. Whilst stood at "reception", another guest had booked 3 nights with breakfast included for £150! So the cost of the room was absolutely appalling, clearly taking advantage of the need for wedding guests to stay over, and no accomodation immediately local.
All in all incredibly disappointed for the price, and wouldn't choose to come back again. PLEASE sort out your pricing. It really isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Not maple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamnicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us whilst attending the wedding, although the rooms in the courtyards are popular with our guests and indeed much requested, Maple is due to be fully refurbished early next year. In the meantime, any outstanding maintenance issues there may be are addressed as a matter of priority.

I am slightly baffled by your comment with regard to a room being available for 3 nights at £150; our best rates available are excellent value for money, however this was more likely to be have been per night, rather than for three!

Do call us next time you are in the area, and I shall personally make sure you are thoroughly looked after, and have a wonderful stay with us.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Enjoyed a very relaxing, welcoming break here. Food lovely, bedroom spacious (we stayed in the Four Poster, honeymoon suite) and the grounds fantastic. Would recommend to anyone. We would definitely return in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Marie,

It was lovely to read your recent feedback from your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,598 reviews
9.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
9.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
6.5 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
354 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant is a Rosette award winning, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rusper, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing