We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here with a travel zoo offer,including cream tea,dinner and breakfast.
The room turned out to be the bridal suite complete with four poster bed! Very spacious room, lovely bathroom, and comfortable bed.
The staff were so friendly, and happy to help. The cream tea was really nice with plenty of jam and cotted cream ,great coffee and tea too.
The restaurant was very relaxing and had a comfortable atmosphere to it,with lovely views of the grounds. Beautiful food very nicely presented, couldnt fault anything about it!
I would definately return and cant wait to do so as soon as possible. A really lovely place to stay.
Only 15 minutes from Gatwick airport so would also be great before or after a flight...the hotel also does a special offer for this including taxis to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Our four poster room was above the dining room or conservatory not quite sure which, so there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ethel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for such lovely feedback, and wonderful to see you enjoyed Ghyll so much; our Chefs are very proud of their food, and you will usually find that a number of ingredients in the dishes come fresh from our own land and gardens. Great to simply relax, but as you also point out, we are perfectly placed for a 'proper' beginning to a flight out from Gatwick! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    168
    86
    47
    16
See reviews for
75
307
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed here several times and would not hesitate to return. The building and grounds are beautiful and peaceful (although in the Gatwick flight path - I must just be able to zone airplane noise out!).

Rooms a tad shabby but charming nontheless. We had Oak Cottage this time which benefits from a comfortable lounge as well as a reasonably spacious bedroom. We were warned in advance of a wedding in the nearby boardroom but we opened up the windows and enjoyed the music rather than complain! My only small complaint is that the TV's are quite small for the room size.

The food is lovely - we had DB&B - and found nothing to complain about. Tasty food served with a smile.

The pub next door is also worth a visit (literally 2 minutes walk). Drinks are well priced and they have a lovely garden. There is another pub in the village (maybe 5 minutes walk) which also looks OK from the outside. We also spent the day in Brighton which is about 30 minutes away by car.

We have also stayed in Ghyll Cottage which is next door. Beautifully decorated cosy cottage with a lovely garden. The stairs are steep so beware if you are travelling with anyone with mobility difficulties but there is a downstairs bedroom - shame there are no bathroom facilities on the ground floor though.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms with lounge areas - they aren't called suites here - but give you lots of ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 750KMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
So glad you had such a lovely time with us, Ghyll is indeed well situated in so many respects, and the village is a great place to come home to after a day out. Great to hear that you were serenaded by the wedding musicians as well! Oak Cottage where you stayed is extremely popular with our regulars, and will also soon benefit from a sympathetic make over to ensure we continue to provide all the comforts our guests expect. Do come and see us again soon,

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I were attending a wedding of a close friend at Ghyll manor and extended our stay by a night as it was so relaxing. Full credit to the staff who catered for the guests perfectly.
The building has bucket loads of historistaffcal character and charm; Tudor beams, nooks and hide aways; lake and woodland views; ivy covered chimneys. Truly picturesque.
Westayed in the superior rooms outside of the main house. Spacious is an understatement! Huge bedroom and luxurious living room, with direct access to a lovely patio and the grounds meant we could enjoy a few chill out moments in the room too.
The bedrooms needed Black out curtains as in the summer the lighter evenings and mornings mean one cannot sleep in for as long. Proximity to Gatwick meant there was no need for an alarm clock either - hot night meant windows had to stay open our else we would have swealtered in the heat. Air con would have helped. Bathroom was in need of a touch up. Broken hairdryer attached to the wall and decorators cracks spoiled the appearance. Shower was a little weak but hot water on demand.
Food was beautifully prepared and tasty. A lovely treat was to order the picnic, combined with one of the local walks suggested in their handbook. Although I might suggest only 1 was needed for 2 people. (Lots left over). Finally, staff were great. Friendly and accommodating. Bar was often left unattended but there was always sometime around to order a coffee from. I would certainly return and enjoy another visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gcooksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much, particularly the food, service, and character of the estate. Rest assured the couple of maintenance points have been addressed, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

In fairness, the building is beautiful and the staff are lovely. However the rooms are just not worth the price they charge. Showers are so low that only kids can shower easily and it all just looks a bit tired. The bar is overpriced and only occasionally staffed, but drink selection is pretty good. Would we stay again? Only if the prices matched the rooms!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GemJayBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that you thought Ghyll Manor so beautiful, and the staff so welcoming. We are constantly reviewing the house and grounds in terms of refurbishment requirements, and are shortly embarking on a programme to ensure the rooms and public areas are outstanding in all respects. I hope we shall see you again soon, and you will have the chance to enjoy the newly completed accommodation!

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked to stay at this hotel over 12 months ago, because our grandaughter was having her wedding reception very close to Ghyll Manor. After accepting our booking, they then contacted us to say we could not stay in the hotel, as they had booked a wedding including all the rooms. So the we're going to put us in A cottage, we had booked bed and breakfast, we were then told we could not have breakfast, so making it quite clear I was not happy with this arrangement, they eventually agreed to serve breakfast.
On arriving we were directed to the cottage which was out of the grounds of the hotel, my husband who is disabled, and 90 years of age, could not get up the dangerous stairs in the cottage to the bedroom and bathroom, so had to inform them we could not stay there. This left us with no where to stay, and caused us a lot of stress, and spoilt what should have been a very special day. Eventually one of the guests at the wedding offered us a room at there home, which was very kind but not ideal. I feel the handling of our booking was not very professional,and when the manager had the nerve to say he would not charge us, as if doing us a big favour. Cas

Room Tip: Don't choose Ghyll Cottage unless you are fit, I went up the stairs and almost fell backwards...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank 816Cas234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that you were not able to experience Ghyll Manor first-hand.

As soon as it was brought to our attention that a room reservation had been booked through a third-party website at the same time as we had accepted an exclusive use booking, we sought to offer an immediate solution and contacted you to offer alternative upgraded accommodation, in terms of Ghyll Cottage. In itself, the cottage is a beautiful 17th Century building adjacent to the main house and extremely popular, however, I can fully appreciate that given the circumstances this was not ultimately suitable to your needs in terms of accessibility. Unfortunately this requirement was not realised at the time of your original reservation.
Guests staying in the cottage are normally very welcome to have breakfast in the main house, however due to the nature of the exclusive booking this was not possible on this occasion; this should have been explained to you prior to your arrival.

I have fully addressed your comments with my Reservations team in order to ensure that no shortfalls in communication occur in the future; please rest assured that your experience was the exception to the rule at Ghyll Manor. I do hope we shall have the opportunity to entertain you in accommodation more appropriate to your needs in future.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was not up to standard and the rooms where so hot and ruined the night - along with its reputation and price I find this should have already been rectified. However the services and the staff were helpful and brilliant which was very good

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ben

I am sorry you did not enjoy breakfast as much as our guests usually do, particularly as we pride ourselves on both the quality and variety we provide. Unfortunately in a 500 year-old house air-conditioning is not an option available to us, as you will understand, however during this particularly warm summer we have provided fans in the main house rooms to alleviate the temperature somewhat as required. Thank you for your kind comments on both the staff and service they provided, and we hope to see again perhaps during the cooler months.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely location and grounds. Hotel looks great from the outside but inside - everything is in need of total re-furbishment and is starting to look grubby and worn. We had a four poster room which we were told was the honeymoon suite. Sizewise it was excellent but again suffered from annoying little things eg no light on one side of the bed; light bulb needed replacing; had to call staff to get TV to work; weird locking system on door; cracked bathroom sink which could not hold the water and was dangerous; chair coverings worn. There was a severe shortage of staff but those that were there were brilliant. When we checked in we overheard a guest being given a discount on their bill for having to wait so long in the restaurant and guess what?
On our final night we gad to wait an hour and a quarter between starters and main meal (We were given a free drink each) again the available staff were tremendous. The food really was very good albeit the same menu every night but the staffing in the kitchen gave the chef real problems At £165 a night we expected a lot better and overall were very disappointed and considered it very poor value. Most guests were only staying a night or two and we realised why.
Being in the Gatwick flight path we were awakened each morning by the noise of aeroplanes.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam S, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jim

I am sorry to hear that you did enjoy your visit to Ghyll as we have wished and expected. In terms of refurbishment, the house estate is generally in very good repair, however we are nevertheless embarking within the next few monhs on a significant programme of investment rather than rest on our laurels as so many properties sadly do; this is an ongoing process and vital to the future standards of service and facilities we provide our guests. The maintenanace points you raised have been discussed with my Maintenance Manager, and appropriately rectified. It was an extremely busy few days for us over the period of your visit, however this should not have affected you, and I am sorry that on this occasion you did not entirely see Ghyll in its true light. I hope we shall have the chance to fully restore you faith on a future visit.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rusper
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
9.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
9.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
24.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Address: High Street, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful West Sussex countryside, this 17th-century manor house combines both character and charm with warm friendly service and outstanding facilities. With 29 individually designed bedrooms, as well as a stunning 2-bedroom private cottage, it is very much a home away from home for our guests, whether staying for either business or pleasure. The wonderful new Restaurant is a Rosette award winning, completely refurbished in February 2015, provides a relaxing backdrop to enjoy excellent food, with an emphasis on seasonality, simplicity, and locally sourced quality ingredients. During the spring and summer months, you will find fresh fruit and vegetables picked and grown on the Ghyll estate itself. Weather permitting, dining outside on the terraces looking down to the lake is a joy in itself. Ghyll Manor is also a truly memorable venue for special weddings and private parties, as well as business meetings and conferences. Dedicated event planners will coordinate all your requirements to ensure your day is flawless in every way. We look forward to welcoming you to Ghyll Manor soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant Rusper, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing