We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing weekend made better by fantastic stay in wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing weekend made better by fantastic stay in wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Highly recommended hotel. Had a fantastic weekend stay and the price was amazing. How can they offer these fantastic deals. Treat like royalty for peasant prices. Upon arrival we were checked in with ease and everything was as it should be. Car parking was free and there is loads of space so no need to worry. Room was clean and smelt fresh and has been recenly refurbished to a high standard. Food was of the highest quality and the prices very reasonable. Enjoyed sitting out in the sun having lunch and a pint. Very nice. Leisure facilities good and I would definately stay there again. Cannot recommend highly enough. If were ever staying in the area again would use without hesitation. I suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RingOandCrystaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always nice to get good feedback from our guests. We hope that you'll use us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    222
    159
    124
    114
See reviews for
176
167
38
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed in this hotel as it is conveniently situated for the NEC.On arrival, we had to push through a wedding party of smokers right outside the hotel entrance which wasn't very inviting. At reception, the staff appeared nonchalant and asked for payment for my room, even though I had already pre paid online. They then spent 5 minutes checking if this was the case and eventually gave me a key without actually getting to the bottom of the issue.
The room was clean and ok....if you didn't scratch the surface, The curtain was hanging off the rail and the net collapsed as soon as we lifted it to look out. The window frames were black and in need of attention.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but on our return, I asked the receptionist if she could tell me if we were inclusive of breakfast or not because I couldn't remember. She didn't get up, but shouted over that she didnt think we would be. I still don't know wether we were entitled to breakfast or not.
We had a very poor nights sleep. As soon as we switched the telly off, we realised we were above a thufare door that had no stopper on it and every 2 minutes it banged shut as people came through it. It drove me nuts! Also, the wedding party I mentioned were sat outside adjacent to our room until 1.30am. As you can imagine, they'd had quite a bit to drink so were't really aware of their volume or language.
We left the next morning (without breakfast) after a disappointing stay. The previous evening we had stayed in a Travelodge in Tamworth that knocked spots off this place for a 3rd of the price. I wish I'd saved my cash and spent a second night there instead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shirley hotels

London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've been staying a lot in Premier Inns recently and they've been 'OK' although I'm still waiting to find one that can offer me a room at £29 a night. I've had to pay two and a half times that! It was only because I couldn't get into the Solihull South one that I thought I'd try the Corus just up the Stratford Road. I imagined the cost would be significantly more than the PI but was amazed to find myself paying roughly the same with a superb breakfast thrown in as well.

The rooms are very nice - good size with proper cupboards and wardrobe - and you even get free wifi. There's Sky Sports down in the pub, and - for those a bit more health conscious than me - a leisure centre including pools and so on. I might even try it myself next time I'm there. I'll certainly go back when I'm in Solihull on business again.

The breakfast is top quality with - for me - the proof being the fact that I could get proper fresh fruit as well as rye/sourdough bread with my full English.

Only downside - supper. I was a bit disappointed with the menu and the speed of service so would probably either go for room service (provided they'd answer the damn phone); go out; or bring something in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blikskottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback - your comments regarding the evening meal have been taken on board and we hope that you will come again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just a weekend trip with an overnight stay at this hotel, never heard the name before but it was much like many hotels out in the countryside which look like large country houses converted to a hotel. With a full coach load the manager came on board the coach and handed out our room keys, so no checking in. We followed the signs and after navigating many corridors we finally found our room.

I must admit, that coming on these trips its a pleasure to see tea/coffee making facilities in the room and this one had plentiful coffee/milk/tea and its the first thing we do, put the kettle on. A comfortable room with very comfortable beds, the décor is very easy on the eyes and the colour scheme is very relaxing. A flat screen TV on the wall and very tasteful furniture made for a cosy welcome.

We turned the heating up a little as the weather wasn't kind but took a curious glance out of the window. The patio doors lead on to a garden area, complete with seats, which I'm sure, on a balmy summers evening would make a fantastic place to sit out and relax. The bathroom was like the rest of the room, very clean and very nice, although the sink did have a crack, which I reported to reception. We settled down then we refreshed and went down for dinner.

The Courtyard Restaurant was superb, well laid out with adequate space between the tables and easily catered for our bus load. We had filled out a form, given to us as the same time as the keys, which were in fact swipe cards, asking for our meal preferences from a list, and so then the waiters/waitresses came round they simply asked your choice of starters/ main meal and afters. Tea or coffee were also offered and another complement, the staff were excellent, we were not waiting for long for our food and each member of staff was delightful.

The food itself was as good as the rest of the place, well done all. We didn't use the bar, I was feeling weary so my wife and I retired to our room and watched a bit of TV, then I settled down to sleep. In the morning the weather hadn't improved but incredibly the food in the hotel had. If the evening meal had been good then the breakfast was superb, and that goes for the staff as well. Pleasant and charming from the girl who asked us our room number then directed us to our seat, to the waitress bringing our pot of tea, excellent.

As for the food, well, in both presentation and taste there was nothing to complain about, a full range of food for a full English breakfast, all hot and in individual containers. Even an old favourite of mine, black pudding, which you don't see much of these days, but also all the old favourites, sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, fried tomato, mushroom, this is as well as toast, cereals the full monty if you like and fruit juice as well.

As you can gather we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and if I do seem to be going a little over the top in this report then I make no apologies. Thank you to the staff, seen and unseen (not forgetting the chefs here) for an enjoyable stay. If I may be so churlish to point out a downside to this hotel its the location, it seems to be surrounded by office/industrial type buildings but as it was getting dark when we arrived I'm not sure what it was. So it seems the hotel has a captive audience for an evenings entertainment so to speak.

Room Tip: If you stay at the hotel then make arrangements for a more varied night out if you so wish, ie taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on here. I'm really happy to hear that we made such a good first impression on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel is looking worn in places. Needs a fresh coat of paint in many areas. Otherwise, rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and items were fresh. Would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here as a last resort in 2011 when on a project locally.
Hotel was old and tired, communal areas were a bit shabby and the rooms I stayed in were poor with a mish-mash of furniture and facilities e.g. one had no table, another had a little 14" tv with an aerial on top.
Gym/pool was ok, not too busy, but again was a bit tired.
Good location with McDs and large Tesco down the road but thats about the best I can say about it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. You'll be glad to know that since July 2011 we have refurbished our reception area, coffee lounge and the majority of our bedrooms, all of which have been fitted with brand new flat screen tv's. We are now embarking upon the next stage of refurbishment which include our executive rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Attended for Sunday lunch. Food was served after being under a heat lamp and was rushed by the v rude staff that brought processed food out on a "conveyor belt."
The maitre de was apologetic but given the choice I'd rather stay in than go here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy Sunday lunch, your comments regarding staff have been noted. Generally we get more positive comments about Sunday Lunch rather that negative. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
2.1 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Property: The Regency Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
The Regency Hotel Solihull Shirley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing