We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cadbury World stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is a "get what you pay for" hotel. Booked a twin room for myself and my daughter and a family room for my friend and her children. £55 for room and breakfast and £75 for a family. When checking in we found that my friend and I were at either ends of the hotel so I asked the receptionist if we could be moved nearer. She moved me next door to my friend in a family room but only charged the double room rate. The young staff at all times were delightful in every part of the hotel. The rooms were large and spacious, clean and well decorated. We ate in the restaurant bar which was pub food style and it was reasonable priced and very tasty. Nice lounge in the hotel and the children made use of the pool by swimming twice. Overall a great stay and would definately come here again.

Room Tip: Huge family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were so helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Im currently staying in the corus hotel, Solihull (room 122) booked through laterooms for £70 (should have been £180) with work. All I can say is its not even worth £10 per night. The bathroom looks as if it has never been cleaned with tissue down the toilet and mould in the soap dish. The bath would struggle to fit a midget in in let alone a normal sized person. All the tiles and grouting are filthy with sealant coming away from the whites. The towels are at least clean.

The main room itself fairs a little better, however the carpet and walls are stained and filthy with decor straight from 1980. The bed is at least comfy and the room has a decent sized tv.

I didn't use the pool facilities as if they can't keep a small bathroom clean they've got no hope with a pool and all that it entails.

The receptionist had a stinking attitude and just couldn't be assed with anything.

The only upside is the local (approx 1mile away) restaurant called 'the farm' which serves amazing food.

If you need to stay in Solihull avoid the Corus at all costs, I certainly will from now on. Premierinn may not seem the best but i'd stay in one anytime over this hotel, at least you know they will be clean and hygienic.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bentholyptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our single rooms are smaller than our standard doubles or twins and we do charge accordingly. However, it is unacceptable that your room wasn't clean. Normally if reception are made aware of this we would instantly change your room and make amends. Sorry that we let you down on this occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Corus has applied a lick of paint and "upgraded " most of their rooms but mine
had hairs in the bathroom and a dicky light with dead flies in the ceiling bowl.
The dinner was an appalling experience where we had booked as a party of 5 and sat for several minutes waiting for menus when a young lady asked us for the dinner order.
Having no menus we could not complete this request and it resulted us having to share some
menus as they had run out- strange as the restaurant was nearly empty!!.
First course had some strange Thai fish cakes with chillies absent and no discernible fish flavour
reminded us of cheap frozen rissoles.A colleague had remarked it was like "knitted fried sawdust".
Fish and chips should be basic bar food and simple to prepare and cook but I have never seen this
dish accompanied by a "pea fritter " rather than the garden or mushy type- it was declined!.
The trendy log style chips were four in number under the fish when I asked for the location and they
had not been fried properly but merely heated in oil.This meal was an ordeal but to contend with the
ordered Chilean red wine to thaw and release some flavour was too much(either refrigerated or from the cellar) .Nearly all of us skipped the pudding/dessert except one unlucky colleague who ordered
the classic "bread and butter pudding" who was served up with something leftover from the bottom
of the Mothers Pride white sliced packet and smothered in hot yellow custard.I was under the impression that this dish had a filling of spiced fruit but maybe it got lost in transition.
Totally forgettable!!!
Barsu

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirkbyLonsdaleBarsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

I apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Normally our Thai Fishcakes are very popular, we obviously didn't satisfy your needs on this occasion. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here for business purposes at a Corporate rate.

Hotel in a very convenient location for me from a business perspective but the standard of room and service was disappointing.

Room was quite dated and in need of refurbishment.

Also stayed recently at the Ramada in Solihull and I would say that the Corus is just slightly better but not by much. Room service & reception are slightly better but rooms pretty much the same - in need of some TLC.

Come on Solihull, we need a decent hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We have mentioned on this site before that we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms - all of our doubles and executives have been completed and our other rooms are due to be done later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel periodically as we have a corporate rate. The facilities are very run down. The hotel is very understaffed across the board, you will queue to check in, check out, get a drink at the bar. Most of the rooms on the inside of the hotel are very noisy, there is an incredibly noisy ventilation system for the kitchen that reverberates into all rooms that face into the gardens on the inside of the hotel, absolutely impossible to sleep if you have a window open. If you have a room over the kitchen then you will be woken to the door banging loudly from 5am onwards. I have asked them to resolve this on several occasions, but nothing has been done to address this. If you do stay, try and book room 220 to 240, but only even numbers, odd numbers face inwards and you will have the noisy ventilation and banging kitchen door. Regularly asked to stay in one of these specific rooms, but this was often overlooked and the reservations messed up, I think that this is mainly due to lack of staff training. A really terrible hotel, stayed here about 20 times over several months, over half of these were a truly bad experience with a lost nights sleep. Now stay in a B&B which is less expensive and I get a good nights sleep, will never stay in the Corus again.

Room Tip: If you do stay, try and book room 220 to 240, but only even numbers, odd numbers face inwards and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here on 31st March for one night as part of National Holdays trip to Ironbridge
Room was very presentable & clean.
On site "Pub" was not much to write home about,very cold & un-welcoming.
Included evening meal was just about OK
Super breakfast although staff a little unatentive at times.
Biggest drawback was the evening wedding celebrations.
We retired about 10-30 PM,after a long & tiring day, only to be woken about midnight by the extremely loud disco party going on until about 2-00 AM.
The volume for some reason was about 5 times louder than earlier in the evening.
I feel that Corus must address this situation,as it appears from previous reviews that this is a recurring problem.
The wedding parties must be made aware that there are other people in the hotel,who need a good night's sleep.
Be aware that I am not a "party-pooper" & I enjoy a good celebration as much as the next person.

Room Tip: When booking , ask for a room as far away from the function rooms as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halifaxphilcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Staff were lovely quick check in- lots of smiles. Lovely room which did get a bit hot at night! Nice bottle of wine in room. Was great to use leisure facilities all free. Brilliant buffet breakfast with so much choice. Very tasty!!!
Pool area could do with updating/jet washing.
However really good value for money really enjoyed stay hopefully start of many

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KERRYBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.0 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
1,845 reviews
5.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#8 of 28 in Solihull
678 reviews
2.1 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,124 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
The Regency Hotel Solihull Shirley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing