We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good party venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regency Hotel Solihull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good party venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed here as part of a group attending a party and having seen some negative reviews I was determined to make the most of it. Some of the rooms are updated which I found out when I rejected the first room I was allocated. The updated rooms are good for a 3 star hotel but some attention needs to be paid to the standard of cleaning in the bathrooms and to repairs. The staff are helpful and try their best. Breakfast was good. I expect to come back again to attend another party next year so I hope this hotel will continue to improve. The food at the party was very plentiful and very good for the price so well done on that!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that is on a floor that has been upgraded and view your room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theflyingpa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    216
    156
    119
    114
See reviews for
173
162
35
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We came here on a Living Social voucher which was very reasonable.
Yes the hotel is a bit shabby in places, but we enjoyed our stay.
Unlike other reviewers we really enjoyed our dinner. I think the chips were some of the nicest I've had.
Breakfast was excellent - lots of fresh fruit and a good buffet selection.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Would come here again to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0binsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My now wife & I held our wedding ceremony & reception here earlier this month and had very little to complain about. There were plenty of helpful staff around especially the duty manager Peter who was our master of ceremonies and dealt with many little things that helped make our wonderful day.
This isn't the Ritz but then again we didn't pay Ritz prices. Their wedding package including wedding breakfast, evening buffet, chair covers and DJ was excellent value when you consider the ridiculous prices some hotels want to charge per person for wedding breakfast and room hire.
We had many guests travelling from Norfolk & Oxfordshire and the location of the hotel, close to J4 of the M42 and ampe car parking made it a good choice for easy access.
Our ceremony took place in the restaurant which with the seating laid in theatre style facing the large windows overlooking the internal courtyard looked good. Photographs were take on the lawned area to the front of the hotel and within the courtyard after the ceremony and the 'Four Ashes' room was the venue for our wedding breakfast of 60+ people with the tables left out for the evening guests to sit and enjoy the buffet.
Both the wedding breakfast (pate, pork then cheesecake) and the evening buffet was polished off by most of our guests and enjoyed by the happy couple. Buffet breakfast in the morning for those who stayed over & paid the extra was plentiful and delicious - I wish I'd had more helpings!
The Corus may be a little shabby around the edges but work appears to be continuing to improve in all areas. In the time we've been organising our wedding, the coffee lounge area has been redecorated and new, modern furniture installed.
Considering some of the other local wedding venues we looked round and the silly prices hotels charge for weddings, we thoroughly enjoyed our wedding day at the Corus and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it and the services of the wedding co-ordinator Yvonne.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed at the Corus Hotel in mid-May whilst on business and had a poor all round experience. On entering my room and opening the window the whole frame fell out and was hanging on by a thread in one of the bottom corners meaning I couldnt leave it open in what was a typically boiling hot room. The main plug socket in the room nearly came off in my hand as I attempted to plug my phone charger in and the shower head wouldnt grip the rail so kept sliding down deeming it useless.

My group was planning to eat in the hotel but we were quickly put off after a quick pint in 'Morriseys' bar. The beer was as flat as a pancake and tasted so bad - they did agree to swap it for a bottle though.

The one reedeming point was a good quality breakfast but for £90 a night in an outer city location I thought this place was very poor and I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rigby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shirley hotels

warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Had a lovely meal the chorus hotel solihull, what can i say staff freindly and helpful, food was lovely great service, lovely team.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is a "get what you pay for" hotel. Booked a twin room for myself and my daughter and a family room for my friend and her children. £55 for room and breakfast and £75 for a family. When checking in we found that my friend and I were at either ends of the hotel so I asked the receptionist if we could be moved nearer. She moved me next door to my friend in a family room but only charged the double room rate. The young staff at all times were delightful in every part of the hotel. The rooms were large and spacious, clean and well decorated. We ate in the restaurant bar which was pub food style and it was reasonable priced and very tasty. Nice lounge in the hotel and the children made use of the pool by swimming twice. Overall a great stay and would definately come here again.

Room Tip: Huge family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were so helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Im currently staying in the corus hotel, Solihull (room 122) booked through laterooms for £70 (should have been £180) with work. All I can say is its not even worth £10 per night. The bathroom looks as if it has never been cleaned with tissue down the toilet and mould in the soap dish. The bath would struggle to fit a midget in in let alone a normal sized person. All the tiles and grouting are filthy with sealant coming away from the whites. The towels are at least clean.

The main room itself fairs a little better, however the carpet and walls are stained and filthy with decor straight from 1980. The bed is at least comfy and the room has a decent sized tv.

I didn't use the pool facilities as if they can't keep a small bathroom clean they've got no hope with a pool and all that it entails.

The receptionist had a stinking attitude and just couldn't be assed with anything.

The only upside is the local (approx 1mile away) restaurant called 'the farm' which serves amazing food.

If you need to stay in Solihull avoid the Corus at all costs, I certainly will from now on. Premierinn may not seem the best but i'd stay in one anytime over this hotel, at least you know they will be clean and hygienic.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bentholyptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorusSolihull, Operations Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our single rooms are smaller than our standard doubles or twins and we do charge accordingly. However, it is unacceptable that your room wasn't clean. Normally if reception are made aware of this we would instantly change your room and make amends. Sorry that we let you down on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Property: The Regency Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
The Regency Hotel Solihull Shirley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing