We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regency Hotel Solihull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here overnight to attend a dinner at a nearby hotel with a group of friends. The hotel was being refurbished and smelled strongly of paint. We stayed on the ground floor in a room with double doors out onto a lovely central garden. The room was adequate, a bit tired but clean. Tea making facilities in the room and a few toiletries. The communal areas and bar are fine. It was cheap and clean and what we expected, nothing amazing. We did not stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    216
    156
    119
    114
See reviews for
174
162
35
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Very tired generally, room was adequate but in need of decoration. Gym was very poor rusty machines and not much equipment. Pool facility and changing rooms also very tired. Reception areas were good, corridors under refurb as we speak. Staff did all they could. All in all if you consider the cost it did the job and in a good location for NEC and Birmingham and will be good one day. Perhaps not one for a luxury surprise stay..

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfa-NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at the Regency, (don't be fooled by the name!), for 3 nights while judging at "The Skills Show" in Birmingham. As far as the accommodation is concerned, this is a poor 3 stars hotel, even allowing for the refurbishing in progress; although, not a working-man on sight over 4 days!)

Breakfast in the morning and the food for Dinner in the Restaurant are quite good and at reasonable value. The saving grace for this hotel are the staff, both at Reception and in the Restaurant, they are Excellent!!! Even where their English is not very good, their approach and customer service is Brilliant!!!

Can't comment on the Management, never saw one over 4 days!...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here last night as my company had a 'special rate' so I didn't have much choice.To sum up my stay:

- Renovations happening throughout but with little activity, resulting in wallpaper hanging off walls in corridor and strong smell of paint although difficult to see what had been painted?
- My room I presume was un-refurbished although the carpet seemed new which was odd.....curtains hanging off walls, manky vinyl on bathroom floor, peeling paint, filthy skirtingboard etc etc
-Heating blazing out with no way of controlling it - the dial just turned with no effect! Spent the night baking (and I like warm rooms!)
-Everytime the person in the room upstairs moved it sounded like he /she was about to fall through the ceiling
-Terrible sound travel from other rooms and corridor (woken at 2am and 4am by loud conversations in corridor and by upstairs getting up to go to toilet - which I could hear in full technicolour!
- Wifi didn't work for me
-Didn't brave it to the 'health centre' based on previous reviews, it looked like the entrance to a horror film
- Didn't brave the food for obvious reasons
- Wasn't asked upon check out how my stay was - presume they know the answer so don't want to enter into this type of conversation!

I can forgive refurbishments of course, but this seemed unplanned and poorly managed and didn't give a positive reflection of the hotel. For the £100something this cost to stay I would have rather driven 3 hours home and back again in the morning. A totally unpleasant experience!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shirley hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Ok so the hotel is going through a major refurb which means it's not looking it's best at the moment but see past that and the food is great, the staff are friendly and professional. I had also booked a 2 day conference and again the facilities are looking a little tired but these are part of the refurbishment program so that will all change next year.

The rooms are clean and serviced well if you are staying more than one night.

I didn't use the spa facilities so can't comment on those but I did make good use of the bar which again is good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1night before flying to Alicante from Birmingham airport room was very clean staff helpful arranged for taxi to take us to airport company called A2B came on time lovely chatty cabbie even though it was 3.15 am .Bar prices very expensive had food in the Harverster .would stay again .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My friend and I recently stayed at the regency overnight as we were flying from Birmingham airport. Our room was spacious and clean, the food was good and the staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. They are currently undergoing a refurb but this did not affect our stay in any way.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirley
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Property: The Regency Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham
The Regency Hotel Solihull Shirley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing